Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Input Devices arrow Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming Mouse
Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming Mouse E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Input Devices
Written by Tom Jaskulka   
Wednesday, 14 November 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming Mouse
Closer Look: Logitech G700
Logitech G700 Detailed Features
Testing and Results
Logitech G700 Conclusion

Testing & Results

So what is it like to use it? I brought it to work, where I could test out the all-day ergonomics and the productivity enhancing features like the micro-gear scroll wheel. I discovered the shape annoyed me less during productivity tasks (where I usually switch often from all keyboard to mouse and back – spending less time with my hand on the mouse), and in general the other productivity features such as the horizontal scrolling and lots of programmable buttons more than made up for the intermittent lack of comfort. Again, it’s tough to benchmark comfort, as everyone has a different experience. If you like the Logitech “grip” like the G500, G5, G400, etc., you’ll probably like this mouse as well. However, at the end of the day, switching back to my Razer Mamba felt…better. The rubberized texture Razer uses just felt smooth and comfortable, while being grippy at the same time. Little things, like the mouse pointer going exactly where I’m expecting it to with the Mamba, compared to the tiny adjustments I’d find myself making with the G700 (acceleration was turned off for both mice and in the OS). I know it isn’t very scientific and could be entirely a result of familiarity, but I just felt like I was constantly fighting to find reasons to choose the G700 over the Mamba at work (even after a full week of constant use). The scroll wheel is wonderful for productivity, but I have a wireless Logitech notebook mouse that will do the same thing for me (and cost about a third as much as the G700).

Well, it doesn’t say “G700 Wireless *Productivity* Mouse” on the package, so I figured it was time to fire up some Torchlight 2 and really test the mouse buttons on this thing. I was torn on my opinions with the G700 when it came to work, so maybe some play would change my mind.

G700_Destructor.jpg

After playing through to Act II, I can’t say my mind was changed. The buttons responded appropriately, the sensor tracked all of the movements accurately, the extra buttons did come in handy for assigning skills or other hotkeys… but the experience wasn’t game changing. Other than the ability to map extra abilities to the G buttons, I didn’t feel like my game experience was improved drastically over any other mouse. The wireless ability is nice, but the first act seemed to drain close to a third of the battery life (polling at 500 Hz). I don’t often use a mouse long enough in one sitting to require a recharge, so this isn’t that big of a deal, but something to think about if you really want the convenience of wireless and hate changing batteries or plugging in a cable – which to the G700’s credit, is a pretty seamless operation.



 

Comments 

 
# RE: Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming MouseArgos 2012-12-18 23:44
I have had one for a long time now.
I do not use it as a wireless mouse. As a gamer I hate wireless input peripherals. I love the fact that this mouse can be both: wireless or cabled.

I love the build quality of Logitech mice. After having used two other famous but flimsy gaming brands that broke down on me repeatedly it was a relief to come back to a brand that builds mice that last.
I perceive this as a very comfortable and versatile mouse. The software though is indeed somewhat of a disappointment.
The buttons on the side are extremely well designed. Although they are placed close together you will never accidentally push the wrong one.

The only thing that sometimes happens to me during intense gaming is that I accidentally push the button close to the mouse wheel that switches between click-scrolling and smooth scrolling.

This strong workhorse of a mouse and its multi-button versatility has really grown on me. Until today I have not seen a single gaming mouse I would switch for it (and I easily switch between peripherals and have a large collection of mice to show for it), certainly not for one of those oh so popular but badly constructed and easily breakable gaming brands.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming MouseSkidmarks 2012-12-19 05:41
Logitech was always my "go to" brand for mice because they were far superior to other brands in all regards. Nowadays with a million different choices out there & some very respectable mice the picture is not so clear anymore. Although they still seem like a decent alternative choice I'm yet to find any mouse that comes close to Roccat mice especially their new Pure mouse but as always it's a personal thing. I won't be switching brands in a hurry.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming Mousekzinti1 2012-12-19 07:53
I completely agree your conclusion of this mouse. A mouse is something that has to be held in your own hand to judge whether you like it or not. In a mouse review, only the basics can be mentioned because everybody's personal ergonomics are as disparate as their fingerprints.
My personal favorite was a Microsoft SideWinder X8. I found a MadCatz R.A.T. 7 "Contagion" on sale during Black Friday and finally realized how much dragging my pinkie across the mousepad was hurting my game. The software sucks, there isn't a single game on the long preset list that I ever have, or ever will play, but I can't see myself going back to the SideWinder. The simple pinkie rest is something that can be described, but it must actually be experienced in action to really understand its implications and its effect on your gaming.
I've always liked Logitech mice but they have always lacked something even if I didn't know exactly what it was.
Report Comment
 
 
# So, wait.Stamps 2012-12-23 06:31
Your review of this mouse is based on what? "I didn't use it at all, so it's bad?"

0/10.
Report Comment
 
 
# CAN YOU READ???ron 2013-02-05 11:22
@Stamps: There is a point in life that you need to make an effort not to be so sad and angry with life. He did receive the mouse and test it thoroughly. The review is excellent and leaves no point(excuse the pun) uncovered.

Read again before you rate, then say sorry and give him the rating he deserves for a job well done.

@Tom: I personally am a huge Logitech supporter. Their ViP store lets you buy all their products at a decent discount. I recently bought a G600 to (give a try) over my G9x which has served me well. I have found it to feel strange in my hand, it may be theat I am 2m tall and have LONGGGGG fingers but the G600 doesnt feel right to me. Very dissappointed. I am now considering the G700. Would you think that it would feel better in a bigger hand?? Does it have a similar feel to the Logitech MX518 which I love.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: CAN YOU READ???Tom Jaskulka 2013-02-05 11:23
Thanks for the feedback ron - it's always great to have a sensible discussion regarding my favorite computer peripheral :) If you like the MX518, I think you'd like the G700 grip style equally well. I found myself wishing the body was a little wider in the "thumb-rest" region, but considering you felt the G600 was strange (which I haven't used personally, but it *looks* wider) I think the G700 would probably be a good fit. It's a great mouse - just didn't fit me :) I should update this review as well - the new Logitech Gaming Software driver now includes the G9x and G700, which was about my only other complaint... Thanks for the heads-up on the VIP store, I'll have to look into that further!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Logitech G700 Wireless Gaming MouseTom J 2012-12-23 12:21
Appreciate the feedback everyone - it's nice to know that some of you search far and wide for "that perfect mouse" as well (and have the collection to prove it). Mice are so terribly subjective, and I fear my search is far from over. Hopefully the conclusion sums it up well for everyone - I think there's a reason Logitech has such a good reputation with peripherals, and at the same time I think there's a reason this mouse is rarely at full MSRP. I went back and forth with a coworker during an impromptu and "highly scientific" survey - opinions were pretty evenly split between the feel of a Mamba and the G700. It just goes to show one mouse doesn't fit everyone, and the best thing you can do is try one out for yourself. I'd invite my fellow mouse aficionados to provide whatever input they would have in the forums, I'd be interested to hear opinions on models I haven't tried. I'm convinced the perfect mouse is out there somewhere... :)
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter