Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Storage arrow ADATA XPG SX900 Solid State Drive
ADATA XPG SX900 Solid State Drive E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Olin Coles   
Wednesday, 05 September 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
ADATA XPG SX900 Solid State Drive
Closer Look: ADATA XPG SX900 SSD
Features and Specifications
SSD Testing Methodology
AS-SSD Benchmark
ATTO Disk Benchmark
CrystalDiskMark 3.0 Tests
Iometer IOPS Performance
EVEREST Disk Benchmark
PCMark Vantage HDD Tests
ADATA XPG SX900 SSD Conclusion

AS-SSD Benchmark

Alex Schepeljanski of Alex Intelligent Software develops the free AS SSD Benchmark utility for testing storage devices. The AS SSD Benchmark tests sequential read and write speeds, input/output operational performance, and response times. Because this software receives frequent updates, Benchmark Reviews recommends that you compare results only within the same version family.

Beginning with sequential transfer performance, the ADATA XPG SX900 solid state drive produced speeds up to 507.71 MB/s for reads and 317.53 MB/s writes. Because this benchmark uses compressed data, sequential file transfer speeds are reported lower than with other tools using uncompressed data. For this reason, we will concentrate on the operational IOPS performance for this section. Single-threaded 4K IOPS performance tests deliver 19.66 MB/s read and 62.85 MB/s write, while the 64-thread 4K reads recorded 186.50 MB/s and write performance was 236.46 MB/s.

as-ssd-bench-ADATA-SX900.png

AS-SSD 64-thread 4KB IOPS performance results are displayed in the chart below, which compares several enthusiast-level storage products currently on the market. In these 64-thread 4KB IOPS performance tests the ADATA XPG SX900-series did not outperformed many other SSDs, but did surpass the older Indilinx Barefoot and SandForce models. The chart below is sorted by total combined performance, which helps illustrate which products offer the best operational input/output under load:

AS-SSD-Benchmark_Results.png

In the next section, Benchmark Reviews tests transfer rates using ATTO Disk Benchmark.



 

Comments 

 
# RE: ADATA XPG SX900 Solid State DriveServando Silva 2012-09-06 22:30
I'm using a pair of SX900 on RAID 0 mode with my P8Z77-I Deluxe and it's a total pleasure.
Maximum Read for seq. files is around 1,100 MB. I couldn't be happier. Before those, I had an Agility 2, and before Intel X-25M, G Skill Phoenix Pro and OCZ Agility 1.

Thank you for the review, Olin.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ADATA XPG SX900 Solid State DriveDavid Ramsey 2012-09-10 12:24
Holy crap! Newegg's selling the 512G version for $339!
Report Comment
 
 
# Eggzactly!RealNeil 2012-09-11 07:01
They do have some outstanding sales at the Egg, but that's usually ~after~ I've spent all of my monthly mad money.
I have an ADATA 120GB SATA-II SSD on my old i7-870 Lynnfield system that is still damn fast. I've had no problems with it and have been using it for a long time. The price was good when I bought it too.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ADATA XPG SX900 Solid State Drivev1ewr 2012-09-12 01:43
Why doesn't anybody test the Mushkin Chronos 240GB SSD [MKNSSDCR240GB] to compare the others with?
Maybe because it rates as high or higher than most SSDs of same capacity? ;-) And it's also cheaper than most:
##newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226237
I got 2 of these, and I'm very happy with their performance.
CrystalDiskMark: 508, 238, 463, 223, 35, 17, 128, 57
AS SSD Benchmark: 516, 236, 22, 17, 125, 41, score 380
Testbed PC [relevant parts]:
CPU: Intel i7-3960X @ 4.2GHz
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3 liquid cooled
RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 CMZ16GX3M4X1866C9R XMP Profile 1
AHCI enabled in BIOS.

HTH [hope this helps]
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: ADATA XPG SX900 Solid State DriveDavid Ramsey 2012-09-12 07:41
Probably because Mushkin hasn't sent out any review samples.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: ADATA XPG SX900 Solid State DriveOlin Coles 2012-09-12 07:42
Good to hear you found a bargain on SSDs in the Mushkin Chronos series. Unfortunately, Mushkin's marketing team is given very few product samples, and they only ship them to sites that give favorable reviews. We're not on the top of their list.
Report Comment
 
 
# Raid 6mikeinnyc 2012-09-12 20:23
Read - 791 mb/s Write - 813.2 mb/s in Raid 6 Configuration(Don't use 0)

I have a SuperComputer(micro) Intel E7-8860 with 4 CPUS. I needed faster speeds for my VMs. In the VM world spindles are garbarge even in raid 0. Multitasking and opening up 10 in a row is now no problem. Easily detected in BIOS and configured 123 with external backup.

I use 10 VMs for algo development and replication of results in D:\ drive.

Smoked my OCZ Vertex 3 Badly which is fast and is my C drive... for now.

Note: install SSD with proper harddrive casing (if Raid)otherwise the 3 1/2" casing won't fit. Holes are off by 2cm. It will work in regular computer not in enterprise. The SSD were an exact fit of my Raptors so I was able to install it in hdcasing no problem. So far so good. All 5 drives tested ok. Also this is my first Adata purchase... never heard of them but I guess you all will. Fastttttttt.
Report Comment
 
 
# I need this!!!Anthony Moore 2012-09-18 14:48
Starcraft 2, Diablo 3, Borderlands 3...They take up a lot of space. I need one of these badly!
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter