Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cases arrow SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis
SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cases
Written by David Ramsey   
Monday, 29 October 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis
Closer Look: Exterior
Closer Look: Interior
Building a System
SilverStone SUGO Pack
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

SilverStone SUGO Pack

One of the reasons you might want a small form factor system is that they're easier to move that a large tower system. Well, "easier" to move the computer part, anyway. There's still all the stuff you have to plug into the system: keyboard, mouse, various cables...you get the idea. SilverStone has their own solution, which they sent along with the SG09 review case, the SST-PA01B SUGO Pack.

The SUGO Pack is a nylon duffel-bag like carrying case designed specifically for toting small form factor systems around. The main compartment has a rigid bottom and Velcro straps to secure your CPU. The SG09 fills the front-to-back space in the case, but there's enough extra side to side clearance to fit a SilverStone FT03 mATX case.

silverstone_sugo_pack2.jpg

The bag is festooned with various Velcro and zipper-secured compartments; there's plenty of room for your rig, keyboard, mouse, mouse pad, cables, and whatever other accessories you need, with space left over for several cans of Jolt or Monster Energy Drink. With the case zippered shut, and a 104-key keyboard held in place under the top flaps, I am ready to travel! The bag's a little weighty with the 25-pound system in it, but not to worry: SilverStone includes a shoulder strap that clips to metal latches on either side of the bag.

silverstone_sugo_pack1.jpg

If you have to move your system around, using the SUGO pack means that the only extra item you'd need to carry is your monitor. The SUGO Pack SST-PA01B can be had for $42.00 at Amazon.

Join me in the next section as I give my final thoughts and conclusion about the SilverStone SUGO SG09 case.



 

Comments 

 
# How well does it workJeff 2012-10-30 07:45
Just wondering if you actually started up the system, ran some tests. I am very interested in how your setup worked in terms of cooling.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: How well does it workDavid Ramsey 2012-10-30 07:56
Jeff, as I mentioned in the review:

"After hours of gaming the temps and fan speeds on the GTX580s were only slightly higher than they were in a giant ultra tower case I'd been using previously, and there the full ATX motherboard allowed me to separate the video cards for better airflow. But the 120mm Air Penetrator blowing right onto the cards almost made up the difference."
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: How well does it workJeff 2012-10-30 13:10
Sorry I was more referring to how well the water cooler on the cpu worked in this box. Trying to decide whether to go air or water for a build in this box. I imagine that using water left the air from the 180mm unblocked by a tower cooler and keeps the entire box pretty cool.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: How well does it workDavid Ramsey 2012-10-30 13:19
That's how it seems to work. The water cooler gets a shot of cool air from the outside, and if I switch the fan to "High", the temps on the upper graphics card drop by 3 degrees C under load.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisSSR 2012-11-15 18:09
Like man SFF aficionados, I've been waiting for a Micro ATX case like this for a long time. In addition to the "cons" listed in the article, I'd also like to point out (1) The "Air Penetrator" fan is voltage controlled rather than PWM, and (2) sadly the front of the case is major-league fugly. I'm hoping Silverstone releases an SG10 that fixes some of these issues sooner rather than later!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisPaul Blakeley 2012-11-24 15:38
Looking to build a new SFF system(daughter broke a couple USB ports and my
power button is defunct on my Thermaltake LanBox, I will miss the handle,
but the bag SilverStone makes looks nice) and was trying to find a new
case/chassis to use. Came across your SST-SG09 review and really like the
design here. Also thanks for the thorough review! Very helpful.

If you were building this today would you use the same parts?
I am only planning on using 1 video card for now.

I also have never used water cooling before. Am I using thermal paste as I
would with a standard CPU fan? Also the link listed to Amazon does not
include the Asestek mounting parts you described, correct? Will this be
difficult/not able to install with out these? If so where can I get them, or
am I better off using a standard CPU fan or different wc system?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisDavid Ramsey 2012-11-24 22:44
If you are not planning to overclock and only need one video card, you could easily get by with a mini ITX case like the SG08 or Cooler Master Elite 120, both of which I've reviewed here. The closed loop water coolers are very easy to use and install, and any one you buy new today will come with the mounting components you need, so that won't be a problem. All the water coolers come with pre applied thermal paste.

I like water coolers for these small cases since ventilation is frequently constrained.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE RE REPaul B 2012-11-25 14:04
Thanks for the reply David,

I am currently not planning to OC and am just using one two slot GPU, but like the idea that I can upgrade whenever I want to something more powerful.

Do you currently recommend the same closed loop cooler? The link to the one currently on this review has no stock images on the Amazon website, so I just wanted to make sure it is current.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisDavid Ramsey 2012-12-06 21:46
Sorry, Paul, I somehow missed your follow up question.

The Intel cooler was simply what I had laying around at the time I did the review. Its performance is not that great compared to some of the current closed loop coolers available now; I'd recommend one of the Corsair coolers if you're going to buy one.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thank you for a splendid reviewJohan Sundberg 2012-12-29 06:45
This is one of the best reviews and pictures I have seen.

Thank you and happy new year.

Sincerely
Johan Sundberg
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thank you for a splendid reviewDavid Ramsey 2012-12-29 06:55
You're welcome, Johan!
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter