Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cases arrow SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis
SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cases
Written by David Ramsey   
Monday, 29 October 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis
Closer Look: Exterior
Closer Look: Interior
Building a System
SilverStone SUGO Pack
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Closer Look: Interior

SilverStone's done it again: just when you thought you'd seen every possible way to arrange components in a computer case, they come up with this. A standard ATX power supply occupies the upper front area, with its cooler fan facing out the front of the case. The motherboard area is behind that, and below the power supply area you can see, on the other side of the case, a mounting point for an 80mm fan. It might initially seem an odd place to put a fan since no components are there, but the purpose is to remove any hot air exhausted by your video card(s), should you have a card or cards that push some hot air back into the case. Annoyingly, SilverStone made the same design error here they made with the SG08 case: all the interior cables are far too long. Even the internal power cord that runs from the 90 degree power plug on the back of the case to the power supply area is a good 6"-8" longer than it needs to be to reach any part of a power supply...and since this was obviously a custom made cable, why?

silverstone_sg09_left_no_cover.jpg

The area behind the motherboard tray is where you'll install your hard drives. The horizontal bar behind the CPU cooler cutout can hold two 3.5" drives, while the pair of plastic brackets at the bottom can hold two 2.5" drives each, for a total of six drives mounted at once.

silverstone_sg09_right_no_cover.jpg

A top view shows the massive Air Penetrator fan that blows straight down across the motherboard. Even if you have a good CPU cooler, your VRMs and memory will appreciate the ventilation. Note that a tiny slice of the fan extends over the hard drive area, but I'm not sure how much air actually flows down here. Just in front of the fan is the mounting tray for the slim optical drive. In a welcome change, the SG09 does not require you to secure the drive with the watchmaker-sized micro-screws most other cases do: one edge of the drive is secured by the tabs at the lower part of the tray (as seen in this image), while a plastic bracket with pins that engage the screw holes on the other side of the drive snaps into place and is then secured to the drive tray with screws. A clever design that makes dealing with these drives much easier.

silverstone_sg09_top_no_cover.jpg

Your power supply screws into a framework that slides into the front of the case on nylon rails.

silverstone_sg09_ps_rails.jpg

Of course, to get inside the case, you have to remove the cover...or two covers. The main, asymmetrical cover is shown below, but you must also remove the cover that mounts the GPU fans. This requires you to remove a total of five thumb screws and two regular screws. The GPU cover folds around and forms part of the bottom of the case, and it's a part with rubber feet on it, so the case sits slightly tilted with the GPU cover off, and you can scratch your work surface with the bare metal case edges if you're not careful moving it.

silverstone_sg09_cover.jpg

Let's give this case a real test: building a system in it.



 

Comments 

 
# How well does it workJeff 2012-10-30 07:45
Just wondering if you actually started up the system, ran some tests. I am very interested in how your setup worked in terms of cooling.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: How well does it workDavid Ramsey 2012-10-30 07:56
Jeff, as I mentioned in the review:

"After hours of gaming the temps and fan speeds on the GTX580s were only slightly higher than they were in a giant ultra tower case I'd been using previously, and there the full ATX motherboard allowed me to separate the video cards for better airflow. But the 120mm Air Penetrator blowing right onto the cards almost made up the difference."
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: How well does it workJeff 2012-10-30 13:10
Sorry I was more referring to how well the water cooler on the cpu worked in this box. Trying to decide whether to go air or water for a build in this box. I imagine that using water left the air from the 180mm unblocked by a tower cooler and keeps the entire box pretty cool.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: How well does it workDavid Ramsey 2012-10-30 13:19
That's how it seems to work. The water cooler gets a shot of cool air from the outside, and if I switch the fan to "High", the temps on the upper graphics card drop by 3 degrees C under load.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisSSR 2012-11-15 18:09
Like man SFF aficionados, I've been waiting for a Micro ATX case like this for a long time. In addition to the "cons" listed in the article, I'd also like to point out (1) The "Air Penetrator" fan is voltage controlled rather than PWM, and (2) sadly the front of the case is major-league fugly. I'm hoping Silverstone releases an SG10 that fixes some of these issues sooner rather than later!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisPaul Blakeley 2012-11-24 15:38
Looking to build a new SFF system(daughter broke a couple USB ports and my
power button is defunct on my Thermaltake LanBox, I will miss the handle,
but the bag SilverStone makes looks nice) and was trying to find a new
case/chassis to use. Came across your SST-SG09 review and really like the
design here. Also thanks for the thorough review! Very helpful.

If you were building this today would you use the same parts?
I am only planning on using 1 video card for now.

I also have never used water cooling before. Am I using thermal paste as I
would with a standard CPU fan? Also the link listed to Amazon does not
include the Asestek mounting parts you described, correct? Will this be
difficult/not able to install with out these? If so where can I get them, or
am I better off using a standard CPU fan or different wc system?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisDavid Ramsey 2012-11-24 22:44
If you are not planning to overclock and only need one video card, you could easily get by with a mini ITX case like the SG08 or Cooler Master Elite 120, both of which I've reviewed here. The closed loop water coolers are very easy to use and install, and any one you buy new today will come with the mounting components you need, so that won't be a problem. All the water coolers come with pre applied thermal paste.

I like water coolers for these small cases since ventilation is frequently constrained.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE RE REPaul B 2012-11-25 14:04
Thanks for the reply David,

I am currently not planning to OC and am just using one two slot GPU, but like the idea that I can upgrade whenever I want to something more powerful.

Do you currently recommend the same closed loop cooler? The link to the one currently on this review has no stock images on the Amazon website, so I just wanted to make sure it is current.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisDavid Ramsey 2012-12-06 21:46
Sorry, Paul, I somehow missed your follow up question.

The Intel cooler was simply what I had laying around at the time I did the review. Its performance is not that great compared to some of the current closed loop coolers available now; I'd recommend one of the Corsair coolers if you're going to buy one.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thank you for a splendid reviewJohan Sundberg 2012-12-29 06:45
This is one of the best reviews and pictures I have seen.

Thank you and happy new year.

Sincerely
Johan Sundberg
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thank you for a splendid reviewDavid Ramsey 2012-12-29 06:55
You're welcome, Johan!
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter