Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cases arrow SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis
SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cases
Written by David Ramsey   
Monday, 29 October 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis
Closer Look: Exterior
Closer Look: Interior
Building a System
SilverStone SUGO Pack
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Closer Look: Exterior

The accessories pack includes a multi-lingual manual, an adapter to allow motherboards with only USB 2.0 headers to be connected to the case's front panel, a bag of screws for mounting drives, several cable ties, a foam square for mounting an 80mm fan, a Molex to three fan leads connector, and four tiny rubber feet to raise a 9.5mm optical drive to the 12.5mm height the case is designed for. The two large black brackets are designed to let you mount a 140mm fan in place of the top-mounted 180mm Air Penetrator fan, although I can't see why you'd ever want to do this.

silverstone_sg09_accessories.jpg

The front of the SST-SG09B case looks like sleek brushed aluminum, but it's really cleverly textured plastic. At the top is the slot for the slot-loading optical drive, below which appears to be an opening for a front-mounted ventilation fan, but it's really for your power supply's intake fan. Yes, the power supply mounts sideways at the front of the case! Below that is the front panel, with the barely-visible power button and light at the left, followed by two USB 3.0 and the audio I/O ports, and last the similarly hard to see reset button.

silverstone_sg09_front.jpg

The left side has a grille for the power supply exhaust, as well as three fan intakes for blowing cool air onto your graphics cards. The largest intake has a 120mm Air Penetrator fan pre-installed. The panel containing the three GPU fans is a separate piece; note the split where it joins the main cover, as well as the screw that secures them.

silverstone_sg09_left.jpg

The back of the case reveals the 120mm exhaust fan, the 90-degree angled A/C plug, and the small low/high speed switch for the top-mounted fan. You can see the cutout for the motherboard I/O panel and the four slot covers, as well as the five thumbscrews that secure the main case cover and GPU fan cover.

silverstone_sg09_back.jpg

The right side of the case has a small (2-3mm) indentation to give you a little extra room for power supply cables. Below that is a grill for an 80mm fan, which is optional but you'd want to use in some cases, which I'll describe later.

silverstone_sg09_right.jpg

The top of the case is featureless except for the air intake for the top-mounted fan.

silverstone_sg09_top.jpg

All of the air intakes on this case-- the top-mounted fan, the side GPU fans, and the power supply air intake-- are covered with snap-on filters.

silverstone_sg09_filters.jpg

Let's take a look inside this mATX case in the next section.



 

Comments 

 
# How well does it workJeff 2012-10-30 07:45
Just wondering if you actually started up the system, ran some tests. I am very interested in how your setup worked in terms of cooling.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: How well does it workDavid Ramsey 2012-10-30 07:56
Jeff, as I mentioned in the review:

"After hours of gaming the temps and fan speeds on the GTX580s were only slightly higher than they were in a giant ultra tower case I'd been using previously, and there the full ATX motherboard allowed me to separate the video cards for better airflow. But the 120mm Air Penetrator blowing right onto the cards almost made up the difference."
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: How well does it workJeff 2012-10-30 13:10
Sorry I was more referring to how well the water cooler on the cpu worked in this box. Trying to decide whether to go air or water for a build in this box. I imagine that using water left the air from the 180mm unblocked by a tower cooler and keeps the entire box pretty cool.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: How well does it workDavid Ramsey 2012-10-30 13:19
That's how it seems to work. The water cooler gets a shot of cool air from the outside, and if I switch the fan to "High", the temps on the upper graphics card drop by 3 degrees C under load.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisSSR 2012-11-15 18:09
Like man SFF aficionados, I've been waiting for a Micro ATX case like this for a long time. In addition to the "cons" listed in the article, I'd also like to point out (1) The "Air Penetrator" fan is voltage controlled rather than PWM, and (2) sadly the front of the case is major-league fugly. I'm hoping Silverstone releases an SG10 that fixes some of these issues sooner rather than later!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisPaul Blakeley 2012-11-24 15:38
Looking to build a new SFF system(daughter broke a couple USB ports and my
power button is defunct on my Thermaltake LanBox, I will miss the handle,
but the bag SilverStone makes looks nice) and was trying to find a new
case/chassis to use. Came across your SST-SG09 review and really like the
design here. Also thanks for the thorough review! Very helpful.

If you were building this today would you use the same parts?
I am only planning on using 1 video card for now.

I also have never used water cooling before. Am I using thermal paste as I
would with a standard CPU fan? Also the link listed to Amazon does not
include the Asestek mounting parts you described, correct? Will this be
difficult/not able to install with out these? If so where can I get them, or
am I better off using a standard CPU fan or different wc system?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisDavid Ramsey 2012-11-24 22:44
If you are not planning to overclock and only need one video card, you could easily get by with a mini ITX case like the SG08 or Cooler Master Elite 120, both of which I've reviewed here. The closed loop water coolers are very easy to use and install, and any one you buy new today will come with the mounting components you need, so that won't be a problem. All the water coolers come with pre applied thermal paste.

I like water coolers for these small cases since ventilation is frequently constrained.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE RE REPaul B 2012-11-25 14:04
Thanks for the reply David,

I am currently not planning to OC and am just using one two slot GPU, but like the idea that I can upgrade whenever I want to something more powerful.

Do you currently recommend the same closed loop cooler? The link to the one currently on this review has no stock images on the Amazon website, so I just wanted to make sure it is current.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisDavid Ramsey 2012-12-06 21:46
Sorry, Paul, I somehow missed your follow up question.

The Intel cooler was simply what I had laying around at the time I did the review. Its performance is not that great compared to some of the current closed loop coolers available now; I'd recommend one of the Corsair coolers if you're going to buy one.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thank you for a splendid reviewJohan Sundberg 2012-12-29 06:45
This is one of the best reviews and pictures I have seen.

Thank you and happy new year.

Sincerely
Johan Sundberg
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thank you for a splendid reviewDavid Ramsey 2012-12-29 06:55
You're welcome, Johan!
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter