Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cases arrow SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis
SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cases
Written by David Ramsey   
Monday, 29 October 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX Chassis
Closer Look: Exterior
Closer Look: Interior
Building a System
SilverStone SUGO Pack
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 Computer Case Review

Manufacturer: SilverStone Technology
Model Number: SST-SG09B MicroATX Mini Tower Computer Case
UPC: 4710713969520 EAN: 844761009526
Price As Tested: $99.99 (Newegg / Amazon)

Full Disclosure: SilverStone Technology provided the product sample used in this article.

SilverStone Technology is best known for their computer cases. Some of their older models, such as the Temjin SST-TJ07, are actual classics in the field. SilverStone isn't afraid to innovate, as their "rotated motherboard" cases like the Raven, Fortress FT-02, and Temjin TJ-11 show.

With the uptick in the popularity of small form factor (SFF) cases, SilverStone has introduced dramatic new products like the FT-03, FT-03 Mini, and SG08. All of these cases abandon conventional design tropes and implement innovative new interior layouts.

silverstone_sg09_front34.jpg

The SUGO SG09 follows this path. If you think its exterior appearance is a little unusual, wait until you see how it works on the inside.

SUGO SG09 Features

  • Dual speed 180MM Air Penetrator fan with removable filter for cooling
  • Quiet 120mm rear exhaust fan
  • Independent hard drive/SSD compartment behind motherboard tray
  • Supports full size CPU cooler up to 165mm tall
  • Supports Micro-ATX, Mini-DTX and Mini-ITX motherboards
  • One slim optical drive bay included
  • Accommodates two 3.5" hard drives and four 2.5" hard drives or SSDs
  • Accommodates full sized ATX PSU up to 180mm
  • Dedicated triple GPU fan bracket with removable filter

SST-SG09B Specifications

Model No.
SST-SG09B(black)
Material
Plastic front panel and steel body
Motherboard
DTX, Mini-ITX, Micro-ATX
Drive Bay
External Slim optical x 1
Internal 3.5” x 2 , 2.5”x 4
Cooling System
Front --
Rear 1 x 120mm 1200rpm 22dBA
Side Left:1 x 120mm 1200rpm 22dBA (backward compatible with 92mm) 2 x 80/92mm fan slot
Right:80mm fan slot
Top 180mm Air Penetrator 700/1200rpm, 18/34dBA (backward compatible with 140mm)
Bottom --
Internal --
Expansion Slots
4
Front I/O Port
USB 3.0 x 2
Audio x 1
MIC x 1
Power Supply
Custom 600W with 80 PLUS Bronze certification and single +12V rail
Power Supply Dimensions Optional standard PS2(ATX) up to 180mm (160mm recommended to to varying cable connectors)
Expansion Card
Compatible up to 13.3" long, width restriction-5.70"
Limitation of CPU cooler
165mm
Net Weight
5.3 kg
Dimensions
220 mm (W) x 295 mm (H) x 354 mm (D), 23 liters

Let's take a closer look at this case in the next section.



 

Comments 

 
# How well does it workJeff 2012-10-30 07:45
Just wondering if you actually started up the system, ran some tests. I am very interested in how your setup worked in terms of cooling.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: How well does it workDavid Ramsey 2012-10-30 07:56
Jeff, as I mentioned in the review:

"After hours of gaming the temps and fan speeds on the GTX580s were only slightly higher than they were in a giant ultra tower case I'd been using previously, and there the full ATX motherboard allowed me to separate the video cards for better airflow. But the 120mm Air Penetrator blowing right onto the cards almost made up the difference."
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: How well does it workJeff 2012-10-30 13:10
Sorry I was more referring to how well the water cooler on the cpu worked in this box. Trying to decide whether to go air or water for a build in this box. I imagine that using water left the air from the 180mm unblocked by a tower cooler and keeps the entire box pretty cool.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: How well does it workDavid Ramsey 2012-10-30 13:19
That's how it seems to work. The water cooler gets a shot of cool air from the outside, and if I switch the fan to "High", the temps on the upper graphics card drop by 3 degrees C under load.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisSSR 2012-11-15 18:09
Like man SFF aficionados, I've been waiting for a Micro ATX case like this for a long time. In addition to the "cons" listed in the article, I'd also like to point out (1) The "Air Penetrator" fan is voltage controlled rather than PWM, and (2) sadly the front of the case is major-league fugly. I'm hoping Silverstone releases an SG10 that fixes some of these issues sooner rather than later!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisPaul Blakeley 2012-11-24 15:38
Looking to build a new SFF system(daughter broke a couple USB ports and my
power button is defunct on my Thermaltake LanBox, I will miss the handle,
but the bag SilverStone makes looks nice) and was trying to find a new
case/chassis to use. Came across your SST-SG09 review and really like the
design here. Also thanks for the thorough review! Very helpful.

If you were building this today would you use the same parts?
I am only planning on using 1 video card for now.

I also have never used water cooling before. Am I using thermal paste as I
would with a standard CPU fan? Also the link listed to Amazon does not
include the Asestek mounting parts you described, correct? Will this be
difficult/not able to install with out these? If so where can I get them, or
am I better off using a standard CPU fan or different wc system?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisDavid Ramsey 2012-11-24 22:44
If you are not planning to overclock and only need one video card, you could easily get by with a mini ITX case like the SG08 or Cooler Master Elite 120, both of which I've reviewed here. The closed loop water coolers are very easy to use and install, and any one you buy new today will come with the mounting components you need, so that won't be a problem. All the water coolers come with pre applied thermal paste.

I like water coolers for these small cases since ventilation is frequently constrained.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE RE REPaul B 2012-11-25 14:04
Thanks for the reply David,

I am currently not planning to OC and am just using one two slot GPU, but like the idea that I can upgrade whenever I want to something more powerful.

Do you currently recommend the same closed loop cooler? The link to the one currently on this review has no stock images on the Amazon website, so I just wanted to make sure it is current.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SUGO SST-SG09 MicroATX ChassisDavid Ramsey 2012-12-06 21:46
Sorry, Paul, I somehow missed your follow up question.

The Intel cooler was simply what I had laying around at the time I did the review. Its performance is not that great compared to some of the current closed loop coolers available now; I'd recommend one of the Corsair coolers if you're going to buy one.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thank you for a splendid reviewJohan Sundberg 2012-12-29 06:45
This is one of the best reviews and pictures I have seen.

Thank you and happy new year.

Sincerely
Johan Sundberg
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thank you for a splendid reviewDavid Ramsey 2012-12-29 06:55
You're welcome, Johan!
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter