Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Accessories arrow Silverstone FP37 SDXC USB 3.0 Front Bay Card Reader
Silverstone FP37 SDXC USB 3.0 Front Bay Card Reader E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Accessories
Written by Aidan Moore   
Thursday, 25 October 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
Silverstone FP37 SDXC USB 3.0 Front Bay Card Reader
Closer Look: SilverStone FP37
SilverStone FP37 Detailed Features
Testing and Results
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Testing & Results

Testing Methodology

The SilverStone FP37 was benchmarked using CrystalDiskMark 3.0.1 to obtain the average read and write speed to the device. The FP37's performance was also compared against a USB 2.0 media card reader on the same computer platform.

Test System

  • Motherboard:ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
  • System Memory:G.Skill F3-12800CL10D 32GB
  • Processor:Intel Core i7 3930K
  • Audio:Creative SB X-fi
  • Video:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590
  • Disk Drive 1:SilverStone FP37 USB 3.0 Front Card Reader
  • Disk Drive 2:Ultra ULT40366 USB 2.0 Front Card Reader
  • Optical Drive:N/A
  • Enclosure:CoolerMaster HAF932
  • PSU:Corsair 800W
  • Monitor: NEC 3090WQXi
  • Operating System:Windows 7 Professional

Results

The table below shows the results of the testing for three different media card types.

Media Card Type

Ultra ULT40366

USB 2.0

SilverStone FP37

USB 3.0

(Read/Write MB/s)

(Read/Write MB/s)

Wintec x10 32GB SDHC

20.0/14.0

25.2/15.9

Kingston x10 32GB SDHC

20.0/12.7

39.8/12.8

Trancend 400X 64GB CF

34.9/28.8

120.8/62.83

It can be clearly seen that a USB 3.0 devices generally faster for all media types, but there is a dramatic increase in speed when accessing high-speed CompactFlash devices.

The benefit of using a USB 3.0 media card reader becomes apparent when high-speed CompactFlash devices are the primary means of storing and transferring data. A nearly 4 times increase in transfer speed can result in real time savings.



 

Comments 

 
# Slow transfer speeds with FP37ACC3D 2012-11-12 22:06
I'm only getting about 30MB/sec using USB3 port on my FP37. It's connected to the USB3 header on my MSI P67A-C43 motherboard. I verified that the drivers for the USB3 controllers are working properly by plugging the same external hard drive into the motherboard's rear USB3 ports. I am seeing about 110MB/sec here.

I'm already running the latest firmware on the FP37 (DP04).

Any ideas?
Report Comment
 
 
# usb3alfresc0 2012-12-04 06:10
According to the specs for your m/board it has 2 x USB 3.0 ports by NECŪ uPD720200F1 which are both on the back panel. The internal USB looks to be listed as USB2.

##msi.com/product/mb/P67A-C43.html#/?div=Detail
Report Comment
 
 
# Slow speed with FP37Aidan Moore 2012-12-04 07:26
It appears alfresc0 is onto the source of the slow speed. From the MSI P67A-C43 specification, the board has the following internal I/O connectors:

- ATX 24-Pin power connector
- 8-pin ATX 12V power connector
- CPU x 1 / System x 4 FAN connectors
- CD-in connector
- Front panel audio connector
- Front panel connector
- 1 x chasis intrusion connector
- 2 x USB 2.0 connectors
Report Comment
 
 
# Yup.ACC3D 2012-12-04 20:44
You're right...looks like MSI cheaped out and didnt include 3.0 header on the board. CURSES! Guess I'll just run an extension cable from the rear ports.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Silverstone FP37 SDXC USB 3.0 Front Bay Card ReaderBoggle Smith 2013-02-05 10:30
My last card reader read a Samsung microSD card at 70MB/s and wrote at > 20MB/s. This reader in contrast doesn't support UHS-1, and reads at 20MB/s and writes 17MB/s...
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter