Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow MSI GTX N650Ti Power Edition Video Card
MSI GTX N650Ti Power Edition Video Card E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Hank Tolman   
Tuesday, 09 October 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
MSI GTX N650Ti Power Edition Video Card
Closer Look: MSI N650Ti Power Edition
N650Ti PE Detailed Features
Testing and Results
Aliens vs Predator
3DMark11
Lost Planet 2
Passion Leads Army
Unigine Heaven 3.0
A New Dawn
Temperature and Power Consumption
GTX 650 Ti Final Thoughts
MSI N650Ti PE Conclusion

Testing & Results

Testing Methodology

The Microsoft DirectX-11 graphics API is native to the Microsoft Windows 7 Operating System, and will be the primary OS for our test platform. DX11 is also available as a Microsoft Update for the Windows Vista OS, so our test results apply to both versions of the operating system. All of the tests in this review were run with DX11 graphics.MSI_GTX_650Ti_Power_GPUZ.png

According to the Steam hardware survey, as of December 2011 the most popular desktop resolution (for Steam users) is 1680x1050 pixels, with a 17.59% share, with 1920x1080 pixels coming in second with only 7.7%. I ran all of the tests except 3DMark 11 at 1920x1080 since that is the more demanding of the two preferred gaming resolutions. 3DMark 11 was used with the performance preset, which sets the resolution the 1280x720.

I used a combination of synthetic and video game benchmark tests in this article to illustrate relative performance among graphics solutions. Our benchmark frame rate results are not intended to represent real-world graphics performance, as this experience would change based on supporting hardware and the perception of individuals playing the video game.

Test System

  • Motherboard: Biostar Hi-Fi Z77X Motherboard
  • Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge CPU 3.3GHz
  • System Memory: 16GB (4 4GB DIMMs) Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24)
  • Disk Drive: OCZ Vertex4 128GB
  • PSU: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

DirectX-11 Benchmark Applications

  • Aliens vs Predator
    • Very high textures, high shadows, tesselation, SSAO, advanced shadow sampling, 4x AA, 16x AF
  • 3DMark11
    • "Performance" settings (1280x720)
  • Lost Planet 2
    • Tests A and B, 4xMSAA, all other settings "High"
  • Passion Leads Army
    • Performance Presets
  • Unigine Heaven Benchmark 3.0
    • Extreme tesselation, high shaders, 4xAF, 8xAA
  • A New Dawn
    • 1920x1080, Ultra On



 

Comments 

 
# RE: MSI GTX N650Ti Power Edition Video CardDavid Kirschbaum 2012-10-09 08:33
"... extra $50 or $60 it will take me to get a GTX 660 for the extra CUDA Cores, the 192-bit memory bus, and the GPU boost. " Sorry, but every price I see for the GTX 660 (Amazon, Tiger Direct, NewEgg) are all $310 to $330 .. TWICE the price of the GTX N650Ti. Hardly a trivial increase. I'll go with the N650Ti .. and thanks much for the good review.
Report Comment
 
 
# GTX 660 vs GTX 660TiHank Tolman 2012-10-09 08:49
Are you sure you aren't looking at the GTX 660Ti? I just looked up GTX 660 on Newegg.com and the first 6 are $229 whereas the GTX 650Ti's are going for anywhere from $159.99 to $179.99.

-Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# GTX 660 vs GTX 660TiGeorge Caldwell 2014-01-24 23:34
My 650Ti only cost me $104 dollars new with a nice warranty, So I have no idea were $159.99 to $179.99 came from. That is not enough performence increase at all to even justify paying $40-50 dollars more. Let alone a hundred dollars more.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: GTX 660 vs GTX 660TiOlin Coles 2014-01-25 07:10
The $159.99 price tag came from Tuesday, 09 October 2012. That's when this product launched and this article was published.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter