Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Processors arrow AMD A8-5600K APU Trinity Desktop Processor
AMD A8-5600K APU Trinity Desktop Processor E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Processors
Written by Hank Tolman   
Wednesday, 03 October 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
AMD A8-5600K APU Trinity Desktop Processor
AMD FM2 Chipsets - A85X, A75, A55
Processor Testing Methodology
AIDA64 Extreme Edition v1.1 Benchmark Tests
Passmark PerformanceTest
PCMark Vantage Benchmark Tests
Cinebench R11.5 Benchmarks
DX10 Gaming Benchmarks
DX11 Gaming Benchmarks
Video Transcoding Tests
A8-5600K Power and Temperature
AMD A8-5600K APU Final Thoughts
AMD A-Series A8-5600K Conclusion

Processor Testing Methodology

Because the Trinity is the second generation of AMD APUs, it makes sense to compare it to the first generation in addition to Intel's competing Ivy Bridge platform. Trinity comes with an entirely new series of processors, the A10 series, that looks to have a distinct performance advantage over of the Llano A8 processors. For this review, I will be comparing the A10-5800K and the A8-5600K FM2 APUs with the A8-3850 Lynx APU as well as the Intel i3-3220, the closest Ivy Bridge CPU in price. I'll also be using a few other processors to round out the tests and give you a good idea of where the new Trinity APUs fall in the lineup. I'll be using the i5-2500K, the Phenom-II X4-980BE, and the i7-3820 for the top end. In CPU performance, I don't expect the Trinity APUs to match those top end CPUs, but it will do well to show where they stand.

AMD_Trinity_Preview_Logo.jpg

For this review, I didn't run any of the processors overclocked. I don't want to rush my overclocking efforts, so I'll be releasing another article specifically talking about overclocking the A8-5600K and the A8-5600K since both are Black Edition unlocked processors.

Since the real question behind the second generation of APUs is how well can they game, I've used a robust grouping of GPUs to test against the on-die capabilities of the A10-5800K and the A8-5600K. Those processors come equipped with the Radeon HD 7660D and the Radeon HD 7560D respectively. I've compared those to the Intel HD 2500 GPU on the i3-3220 as well as the HD 3000 GPU on the i5-2500K. I would have liked to test against the HD 4000 graphics, but I just don't have any on hand. Besides, based on the results, I think it is pretty obvious that the Trinity APUs would smoke the HD 4000 graphics anyway, and in processors that cost less than half what an Ivy Bridge with HD 4000 would cost. Finally, I've paired the i3-3220 with a GT 630 to see where that stands. I also paired the GT 630 with the APUs and I threw in a few higher level discrete cards from this and the last generations just to show the full spectrum.

Intel Z77 Express Test Platform

  • Motherboard: Biostar Hi-Fi Z77X
  • Processor: 3.3GHz Intel Core i5-2500K and 3.3GHz Intel Core i3-3220
  • System Memory: 16GB DDR3-1866 (two 8GB DIMMs) GSkill Aries at 9-9-9-27
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD SATA II
  • Graphics Adapter: AMD Radeon HD5770; AMD Radeon HD6870; AMD Radeon HD6850; AMD Radeon HD7870; NVIDIA GT 630; NVIDIA GT430

Intel X79 Express Test Platform

  • Motherboard: ASUS Rampage IV Formula X79
  • Processor: 3.6GHz Intel Core i7-3820
  • System Memory: 16GB DDR3-1866 (two 8GB DIMMs) GSkill Aries at 9-9-9-27
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD SATA II
  • Graphics Adapter: AMD Radeon HD5770; AMD Radeon HD6870; AMD Radeon HD6850; AMD Radeon HD7870; NVIDIA GT 630; NVIDIA GT430

AMD FM1 A-Series Platform

  • Motherboard: ASUS F1A75-M PRO
  • Processor: 2.9GHz AMD A-Series A8-3850 APU
  • System Memory: 16GB DDR3-1866 (two 8GB DIMMs) GSkill Aries at 9-9-9-27
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD SATA II
  • Power Supply Unit: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Graphics Adapter: AMD Radeon HD5770; AMD Radeon HD6870; AMD Radeon HD6850; AMD Radeon HD7870; NVIDIA GT 630; NVIDIA GT430

AMD FM2 A-Series Platform

  • Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-UP4
  • Processor: 3.8GHz AMD A-Series A10-5800K APU; 3.6GHz AMD A-Series A8-5600K APU
  • System Memory: 16GB DDR3-1866 (two 8GB DIMMs) GSkill Aries at 9-9-9-27
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD SATA II
  • Power Supply Unit: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Graphics Adapter: AMD Radeon HD5770; AMD Radeon HD6870; AMD Radeon HD6850; AMD Radeon HD7870; NVIDIA GT 630; NVIDIA GT430

Benchmark Applications

  • Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
  • AIDA64 Extreme Edition v2.30.1900
  • Futuremark PCMark 7
  • Futuremark 3DMark 11 (for DX11 testing)
  • Futuremark 3DMark Vantage (for DX10 testing)
  • Aliens vs. Predator benchmark (for DX11 testing)
  • Unigine Heaven 3.0
  • Maxon CINEBENCH R11.5 64-Bit
  • PassMark PerformanceTest 7.0b1021
  • x264Bench HD 3.0
  • Handbrake 0.96 video transcoding
Let's start the benchmarking with an AIDA64 run in the next section.



 

Comments 

 
# RE: AMD A8-5600K APU Trinity Desktop ProcessorLinus 2012-10-04 05:34
Happy to see some processor and videocard combinations in the benchmarks. Most other sites just used processors with the integrated graphics. This review actually shows the difference between the new Trinity processors and an Intel chip with a discrete video card. Great review!

(I think you might have a typo in the page index; the second DirectX link should be DX11?)
Report Comment
 
 
# Raid 5?David Simpson 2012-10-08 09:48
Has anyone seen any reviews using the raid 5 of the A85X chip? I'd really like to know how well it works
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Raid 5?pantau 2012-11-22 11:23
BUMP! bumpity BUMP! BUMP BUMP
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Raid 5?David Simpson 2012-11-24 16:55
Well, I went ahead and built a 3 drive RAID with the new 2TB WD RED drives. Seems OK to me, but I'm not sure how to make a good test of the array.

It was a pain to get my SSD boot drive to work though, still not sure it's set correctly.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: AMD A8-5600K APU Trinity Desktop Processorstupidfuckingrequirement 2013-03-13 09:08
Would be very nice if there were some A85X mini ITX motherboards that had integrated WIFI and Bluetooth since there are no expansion slots and I am not interested in sacrificing two USB ports to get these basic wireless connectivity radios.
Report Comment
 
 
# runs kool ???????????george 2013-06-21 09:32
dont know where u get your info from but this chip runs hot idle 40-45
playing games round 80 so where do u get the 53 when running apps or games
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: runs kool ???????????David Simpson 2013-06-21 10:50
Max temp would depend on the cooling system. My Core i7-3930K has never gone over 45C (12x prime95), as I know how to cool a CPU. On the other hand, with no cooler, a 2GHz "cool" chip will overheat. I don't think any of my A10-xxxx's have ever gone over 50C, even at 100% CPU/GPU.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: AMD A8-5600K APU Trinity Desktop Processorgeorge 2013-06-21 11:09
we r talking about the a8 5600k right ??? i have i7 2600k and it never reaches 54 during game play via bf3 and at idle im 24 but this amd a8 5600k hits 80-85 during gameplay idle is round 40-44 so looking at ther numbers its safe to say idle temp doubles during intence gameplay
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: AMD A8-5600K APU Trinity Desktop ProcessorDavid Simpson 2013-06-21 11:33
I currently only have A10-5800K, but since it's just a faster and there for hotter version, but I'm not seeing those temps. What cooler are you using. I haven't used a factory cooler in 20 years.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter