Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Motherboards arrow ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe Motherboard Components
ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe Motherboard Components E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Motherboards
Written by David Ramsey   
Monday, 23 April 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe Motherboard Components
Closer Look: ASUS Z77 Motherboard
P8Z77-V Deluxe Components
Z77 Express Motherboard Features
P8Z77-V Deluxe Final Thoughts

P8Z77-V Deluxe Final Thoughts

With Intel having moved most so much support circuitry into the CPU in recent years, basic motherboard functions require just two main chips: the CPU itself and what we used to call the "south bridge", in this case the Z77 Express chipset. What this means is that any Z77 motherboard will have a defined set of base features and offer similar performance at stock clock speeds.

Vendors must then work to distinguish their products. They can do this in a number of ways, but for the P8Z77-V Deluxe ASUS has chosen to add tons of extra features. These features come with a hefty price tag, though: for $274.99 at Newegg, this is the second-most expensive Z77 motherboard Newegg currently offers, beaten only by ASUS' own P8Z77 WS workstation motherboard at $339.99.

asus_p8z77v_deluxe_rot3.jpg

But that high price buys you the most feature-laden Z77 board I've seen yet. If some of the features are of dubious utility (I don't personally know anyone who uses DLNA), many enthusiasts will definitely appreciate things like eight USB 3.0 ports and the ability to run more than two graphics cards. Toss in features like USB 3.0 Boost, prioritizable network traffic control, and Fan Xpert 2, and you've a board you'll be able to fine-tune to your exact needs.

Benchmark Reviews invites you to leave constructive feedback below, or ask questions in our Discussion Forum.


Related Articles:


 

Comments 

 
# RE: ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe LGA1155 MotherboardMACK 2012-04-23 11:50
Thanks for the review.
Dividing the reviews up into 3 separate pieces seems fraught with problems. One problem will be that the author seemingly has to make conclusions simply based on an "apparent" list of features, which has not been thoroughly tested. Eventually this will devolve into not being able to make many conclusions at all.
It seems it would be better to have a list of "required" tests that most reviewers would complete, in order to reduce the time it takes to review a board.
Perhaps some of the benchmarks are superfluous?

Additionally, by dividing the review up into 3 pieces, the reader will often feel the review was incomplete.
The Author will have to take the time to back track and forward link and backward link the old articles to and from the new articles on the same topic.

Overall, I think splitting up the review does a disservice to the reader as well as to the author.

It is agreed that reviewing a motherboard takes more time now. In that case the alternatives would be reduce the number of benchmarks to the ones that REALLY have something unique to offer. Possibly send out 2 motherboards to 2 reviewers and have them co-author the review.

(Just an opinion).
Report Comment
 
 
# Look Mom! No Specs!Michael 2012-04-25 14:06
I agree with Mack. David, reading a good technical review is much different than a standard marketing review. You know this, and you and the Benchmark crew are good at what you do. Don't change a formula that works. I could derived the information in your article from many sources and frankly it did not tell me anything I could not learn from the ASUS website and a trip to Fry's Electronics. You all are better than this. Performance first and foremost is a Benchmark. You all set one that others strive to match. Don't blow it.
All the best, M
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Look Mom! No Specs!Olin Coles 2012-04-25 14:45
Did you see the benchmark article linked in the introduction?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe LGA1155 MotherboardDavid Ramsey 2012-04-23 13:45
We're still experimenting with the format, so we'll see how it works out.

We are dependent on review samples from vendors, and I doubt we could get them to send us two of everything!
Report Comment
 
 
# DB ConsultantDavid Lean 2012-04-25 00:44
I agree with MACK. I'd prefer a review to be in 1 spot. If I'm interested in buying a product then I'll read the lot. And probably other reviews as well. If I'm a casual reader then you offer an index &/or a dropdown list to make it easy to jump to the pieces I'm interested in.
As for feature reviews it would be lovely if you could provide more insight than what is provided on the ASUS web site. ie: Whay it is good &/or does it really make a difference. ie: IS the USB 3.0 really faster, or does it only work with with specific devices.
Your Comparison reviews are even more valuable. Having a Table showing the distinguishing features between models / vendors is a real time saver. ie: These cards have 2 netcards, these only have 1. These do 64GB, those only have 32Gb. etc
Thanks for the reviews
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: DB ConsultantDavid Ramsey 2012-04-25 07:24
Yes, the USB 3.0 really is faster. Much, much, faster. Check out my performance review of this motherboard for the details.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: DB ConsultantDavid Lean 2012-04-25 16:23
Sorry my attempt to save a few characters made me unclear. I was using your USB3.0 article as an example of the type of expansion I like in a feature review. It is nice to get that sort of expansion on all their 'unique' features. especially in comparisons. say when comparing the Thermal Power features in the Sabertooth boards vs the equivalent in its sibling motherboards.
Keep up the good work. But keep it in one big review.
Report Comment
 
 
# Not a fan of Intel...JustComputers 2012-04-25 01:40
Sorry to say never have been, however Asus on the other hand, have to be for me, the best component manufacture in the world, love Asus, most of my current build is Asus...
Report Comment
 
 
# Thanks for the supportASUSTechMKT 2012-05-01 10:39
Appreciate the support and thanks for the kudos we worked really hard this generation to push board design further.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe LGA1155 MotherboardWade Eilrich 2012-04-25 11:03
I've been using DLNA for about 2 years now with my LG TV and phone. My daughter and her fiancee also use DLNA. We have been trying to get my mom on board, but although she loves it when she sees it working, she does not feel up to the challenge of maintaining her own setup and I'm just too far away to do more than get it set up and running.

This motherboard is one of the best I've seen from ASUS and they are my favorite mobo manufacturer. I would love to see a review and comparison with the WS product.

Good luck with the new review format, David - it will be a challenge to keep all the results correlated and easily available. I look forward to your next writeup.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thanks!ASUSTechMKT 2012-05-01 10:38
Glad to read you appreciate the new DLNA function while David noted he does not use it we ran extensive feedback tests asking users about features/functions they would like to see. While DLNA is something that most may not know they use the more important fact is what it enables which is easy media streaming.
Report Comment
 
 
# People, one review , slpit in 3 partsJamie 2012-04-30 14:24
I understand the need to keep the article short so readers will not be overwhelmed by too much information. I think it is great idea.
But I think the author does not not mean that he/she will not complete his/her assessment of new tech all at once. Just putting access to it in 3 parts in 3 different, consecutive sessions.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter