Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow G.SKILL Ripjaws-Z 16GB DDR3-1600 Memory
G.SKILL Ripjaws-Z 16GB DDR3-1600 Memory E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by David Ramsey   
Wednesday, 11 January 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
G.SKILL Ripjaws-Z 16GB DDR3-1600 Memory
Closer Look: G.SKILL Ripjaws
Testing and Results
Synthetic Tests
Application Tests
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Testing & Results

Testing Methodology

For comparison against the G.SKILL DDR3-1600MHz memory kit, I rounded up several other new quad-channel memory kits. All kits comprised four 4GB DIMMs for a total of 16GB of memory. There was one DDR3-1333 kit, a high-performance Corsair DDR3-1600 memory kit with tighter 8-8-8-24 timings, a (very expensive) Kingston HyperX Genesis DDR3-2133 kit, and the Ripjaws 1600MHz kit that's the subject of this review. I ran all the memory kits at their XMP profile speeds on an Intel X79 Express system using an ASUS X79 Sabertooth motherboard and an Intel Core i7 3960X processor running at its stock clock speeds.

For this test I used three synthetic benchmarks to measure memory performance, and three application-based benchmarks to assess real-world performance.

GSKILL-Ripjaws.jpg

Test System

  • Motherboard: ASUS X79 Sabertooth
  • System Memory
    • Generic DDR3-1333 9-9-9-25
    • Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24
    • G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
    • Kingston HyperX DDR3-2133 (XMP Profile 2) 11-12-11-30
  • Processor: Intel Core i7-3960X
  • Video: AMD Radeon HD6850
  • Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Test Software

  • AIDA64 1.85.1600
  • SiSoft Sandra Lite 2011.10.17.79
  • Euler 3D 2.2
  • CINEBENCH R11.5
  • Blender 3D Rendering
  • Handbrake 0.95

Let's start with the synthetic testing...



 

Comments 

 
# compatibilityrealneil 2012-01-19 07:47
I've found GSKill brand RAM to be compatible with just about any motherboard out there. This is not always so with other brands either.
I have it in 2133 and 1600 speeds and do not see any real world difference between them.
So the compatibility and low price that GSKill brings to the table have me sold.
Report Comment
 
 
# Oops?Mergatroid 2012-01-19 16:55
Is this right on your second page?

"The label shows the XMP profile settings of 9-9-9-234"

Typo I think.

Great review. I used G-Skil 1600 for the first time in my most recent personal build, and they just worked. They drew no attention to themselves which is really all I ask of RAM. I got the black ones and they look pretty sweet, but they're even taller than the quad kit units.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Oops?David Ramsey 2012-01-19 17:36
Yep, that was a type, and it's fixed now. Thanks!
Report Comment
 
 
# Newb question re: XMP vcoreAlex 2012-02-22 03:28
Nice, very informative review! I'm currently in the process of putting an X79 build and was wondering whether the 1.32 vcore indicated in the screenshot above is the specified Intel XMP value or whether the value is determined by the motherboard manufacturers.

I'm thinking maybe of going Gigabyte for my mobo. If I use G.SKILL DDR3-1600MHz on it, will it automatically give me the same 1.32 vcore value, as well? Must run pretty hot on 1.32v core voltage at idle. (I'm assuming that's the 24/7 voltage.)
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter