Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cases arrow SilverStone SST-PS07B mATX Computer Case
SilverStone SST-PS07B mATX Computer Case E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cases
Written by Doug Dallam   
Thursday, 29 December 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
SilverStone SST-PS07B mATX Computer Case
Detailed Exterior Features
Closer Look: Interior
Detailed Interior Features
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Detailed Exterior Features

You may have noticed that we skipped right to the "Detailed Exterior" section and jumped over the "Closer Look" section. Once in a while cases don't warrant a section, usually this section (the "Detailed Exterior Section") but today the SilverStone PS07 doesn't warrant the "Closer Exterior Look" section, except for a few items we can quickly cover here.

The front: Basic soup here with the basic I/O offering and two USB 3.0 ports. The USB cables have true motherboard plugs, and SilverStone includes a USB 2.0 converter. What is not basic is that on the side there is a release for each of the two front bay covers. Push the release inward and the front bay pops open, allowing you to remove it from the front. This is a nice addition if you have a recessed card reader and want to keep the bay cover on, or some other similar function where you need to remove and install the bay covers often, but other than that, it's arguably an over sophisticated but elegant bay release mechanism.

SilverStonel_PS07_Review046FrontClosed.jpg

A few people have mentioned they wish case manufacturers would give them easy to clean filters, and many of us concur. There's nothing more frustrating than finding a case that fits your needs, only to find its filters are nearly impossible to clean without, in some degree, disassembling your case. Well, SilverStone must be listening because they absolutely got it right. Swing the door open, pop off the filter, and your done. All cases should have this option.

SilverStonel_PS07_Review045FrontFilter.jpg

Except for a plain black top, we have a PSU intake filter--with another easy to clean filter. This filter mounts magnetically. Each corner has two magnets that keep the filter in place, and the filter frame is recessed.

SilverStonel_PS07_Review029Top.jpg

A very screwy bottom and screws are something I will talk about later because this case has screws, and many of them. The bottom feet are made of soft rubber, no plastic, and are mounted with adhesive instead of pull through tabs. I tried pulling one off and you'd have to give it a fairly hard, sustained pull to remove it. On the left, you can see the bottom, front air intake. Image: (1) four screws to remove the hard drive cage; (2) adjustment screws for the cooling tower support; (3) set screw for the support that is yet different from the drive cage screws and the adjustment screws. Here we have a total of three different types of screws, with a total screw count of seven.

SilverStonel_PS07_Review025Bottom.jpg

On the back we have four expansion slots and a back fan mount that will be almost impossible to use should you go with a fat tower cooler and more than one 3.5” and one 2.5” drive. There aren't any water holes back here, either, but there is a solution for those wishing to water cool.

SilverStonel_PS07_Review015Back.jpg

Here's the solution to the lack of water holes. The PS07 manual says this is for an optional cover for a CMOS reset button. However, if you don't need or want that, you can take the cover off and run hoses out of the back.

SilverStonel_PS07_Review120CMOSHole.jpg

Last for the exterior section, we have a comparison between the Raidmax Seiran Midtower Chassis and the SilverStone PS07 Micro Chassis. You won't save tons of space, but in person, the size difference between the two cases is quite noticeable. You can also see one of the PS07's side air intakes.

SilverStonel_PS07_Review145MidtowerComp.jpg



 

Comments 

 
# well thats differentRed1776 2011-12-30 15:18
Nice review of an odd case joo-joo. It looks like they took a Level 10 and cut it off just below the interesting part :)
Report Comment
 
 
# Timely ReviewDAM 2011-12-31 22:44
This review couldn't have come at a better time for me. I was selecting parts to replace my aging socket 939 system, and was looking to downsize from my 7 year old Chenbro server case. The Silverstone case will provide increased storage options over the Chenbro (albeit without the quick-swap drive cage) in a much more liveable size.

Thanks!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SST-PS07B mATX Computer CaseDoug Dallam 2012-01-02 01:51
Glad you liked it. I could see myself building a system in this case. As mentioned, I didn't like all of the screws, but after all, how many times do I need to swap out 5.1/4s and PSUs anyway?

DAM--The drive cage is kinda quick. Only two screws gets you the top 2/3s. If Silverstone could figure out how to assemble this case without all of the screws, it would be gold for sure. I'd like to see the same design but with a 230mm fan in front.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: SilverStone SST-PS07B mATX Computer CaseJambe 2012-01-05 23:20
On page two a block of text was accidentally duplicated:

"On the back we have four expansion slots and a back fan mount that will be almost impossible to use should you go with a fat tower cooler and more than one 3.5? and one 2.5? drive. There aren't any water holes back here, either, but there is a solution for those wishing to water cool. On the back we have four expansion slots and a back fan mount that will be almost impossible to use, should you go with a fat tower cooler and more than one 3.5? and one 2.5? drive. There aren't any water holes back here, either, but there is a solution for those wishing to water cool."

A nice, helpful review! The measurement of the room for optical drives and PSUs was especially useful.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: SilverStone SST-PS07B mATX Computer CaseOlin Coles 2012-01-06 08:47
Fixed. I'm not sure how that happened, but thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report Comment
 
 
# Toolless is badChris 2012-01-17 06:06
Hey now, not having tool-less devices in a case is NOT a con. IMHO, most of the tool-less stuff out there is garbage. Even my 700D didn't even do it right. It's never really secure. Hell, I ripped out my tool-less # out of my 700D because it did not work.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Toolless is badDoug Dallam 2012-01-17 15:37
True, the tool-less 5 1/4" mechanisms are usually crap. I always bolt my optical. But hard drives are a different story. Remember too that "tool-less" also means a drive bay that you bolt the drive into with a screw driver, and then slide the carriage into the drive bay. Same for disassembly/reassembly. It can also refer to thumb screws, which are fine.
Report Comment
 
 
# Screw ain't bad news!realneil 2012-01-17 11:58
I must one of the few that prefer screwing things together. I usually defeat screw-less designs and use screws anyways.
This is a nice little case though. I like the design and the airflow is probably very good too.

I have been looking for a small case for a planned build and had settled on a BitFenix Survivor ATX Mid-Tower case for $80.00,....but now I'm not sure. I like this one too.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Screw ain't bad news!Doug Dallam 2012-01-17 15:20
It's not necessarily screws, but so many of them, and several different sizes too. The case could definitely be designed to use not only less screws, but also use the same type throughout. If SS does that. I look forward to reviewing the updated model and giving them a Gold award, all things being equal.
Report Comment
 
 
# lousy servicebarry 2012-01-17 12:57
Problem is, Siverstone service sicks!! I have a Grandia GD06 case since Octber 2011, as part of an HTPC build. The 2 front hotswap bays don't work properly at all. I've notified Silverstone, actually a Joel who works there who offered to replace the drive cage upon receipt of my invoice. That was done a day later and he insists they sent it out by post. Well, I never received the 2 parcels he said he sent me. I doubt the postal service would want to steal a drive cage, and I've received packages through the postal service from Hong Kong since then with no problems, so I doubt that Silverstone even bothered to send anything at all. Next case, it will be something else. I guess Siversotne doesn't need my money, so screw them!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: lousy serviceDoug Dallam 2012-01-17 15:00
Good for you to chime in. I feel the same way you do about any group, person, or corporation/business that treats me like that. One thing we can't check is a manufacturer's customer service. I wonder if anyone else has had a good experience with SS service?
Report Comment
 
 
# enthusiast casegodrilla 2012-04-13 11:38
I was wondering if this or any other mATX cases can fit a h100 corsair cooler 2x 120mm radiator and fans?
Report Comment
 
 
# It might....Bruce 2012-04-13 11:48
It's a stretch, but if the hoses are long enough, you could mount the radiator to the twin front fans on the Lian Li PC-AO4 Aluminum Mini-Tower PC Case. The revies is here: benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=731&Itemid=61

You don't see many uATX cases with dual front fans....

I know that several packaged water cooling makers recommend pushing outside air through the radiator 'INTO' the case, for best performance. That's the way most front fans work anyway.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: It might....godrilla 2012-04-13 12:52
thanks i just found a better one too, the arc mini
dual 140 or 120 mm mounts on top

##newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811352008
Report Comment
 
 
# Looks niceBruce 2012-04-13 13:15
It's going to be a bit heavier, as it's steel - Lian Li is all aluminum.
Good, modern design, though.

Let us know how it works out, if you go that way.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter