Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow Kingston HyperX Genesis 16GB DDR3-1600
Kingston HyperX Genesis 16GB DDR3-1600 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by David Ramsey   
Thursday, 29 December 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Kingston HyperX Genesis 16GB DDR3-1600
Closer Look: Kingston HyperX Genesis
Testing and Results
Synthetic Tests
Application Tests
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Closer Look: Kingston HyperX Genesis

The Kingston KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX memory kit is delivered in a plastic tray with slots that hold the modules upright. I prefer this to the more standard practice of enclosing each module in an individual plastic shell. The Kingston tray has slots for 10 DIMMs and can be used to store memory you're not using.

kingston_ddr3_1600_box.jpg

The individual modules use blue-anodized low-profile aluminum heat spreaders. Kingston specs these at 30mm high, but I measure just under 32mm as shown below. I recommend low-profile memory for X79 Express systems since many CPU air coolers will extend over one or both sets of DIMM sockets.

kingston_ddr3_1600_height.jpg

Most of the information on the label is probably internal Kingston parts numbers and the like, but the DDR3 speed (XMP profile, anyway) and memory kit size can be determined from the "KHX" part number. The 1.65V voltage shown is for the XMP profile. If for some reason you want to run this memory at 1333Mhz, it'll work fine at 1.50V.

kingston_ddr3_1600_label.jpg

Overall, Kingston's blue anodized heat spreaders with bright accents make for an attractive package. Of course, they won't be very visible installed in your system; even a windowed case will only show the uninteresting tops of the memory modules.

kingston_ddr3_1600_box3.jpg

Although the SPD timings on these modules are for 1333MHz, anyone buying this memory would immediately set the XMP profile of DDR3-1600 at 9-9-9-27. These timings are fairly loose but help keep the cost of the kit low...and, as we'll see, don't hamper real-world performance.

Join me as I explain my test methodology in the next section.



 

Comments 

 
# Overclocking results?Anusha 2011-12-30 03:32
No overclocking results?
Report Comment
 
 
# DITTOkzinti1 2011-12-30 11:00
Where are the overclocking results? Without them this review does nothing more than say that the memory works.
If it cannot be OC'd then the memory is of very low quality, thus, that is how I will think of Kingston Memory from now on. Not overclockable according to Benchmark Reviews.com.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: DITTODavid Ramsey 2011-12-30 14:02
Since even large increases in memory frequency make virtually no real-world performance difference (look at the results for this memory compared to Kingston's own DDR3-2133 memory in the charts in this review), I normally don't bother to overclock memory unless it's specifically targeted at that market-- say, Corsair Dominator memory or Kingston's own HyperX T1 memory.

Memory overclockability was more important back in the days when raising the FSB was the only way to overclock the CPU. These days, Intel processors either have unlocked multipliers or locked-down BCLKs (like Sandy Bridge) and almost all AMD processors allow multiplier overclocking. Granted, X79 does bring back a limited BCLK adjustability, but again, it's just not going to make any real difference. Granted, some people just like to see how high their memory benchmark scores can be...

I also disagree that "if it cannot be OC'd then the memory is of very low quality." Overclocking is never guaranteed and is dependent on the motherboard as well as the memory; just because I could take (for example) this memory to 1800MHz at 9-8-9-22 is no guarantee at all that you could. High quality memory runs at its specs (XMP if so equipped) reliably; there's really no other criterion that makes sense.

If you're interested in real world performance improvements (as opposed to benchmark scores), concentrate on overclocking your CPU and video card.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: DITTOAnusha 2011-12-30 16:08
what if you are geting them for AMD APU based system? Memory frequency affects the GPU performance significantly.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: DITTODavid Ramsey 2011-12-30 17:46
Any cites? Unfortunately I don't have an AMD APU-based system to test with...
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: DITTOAnusha 2011-12-30 17:57
#pcper.com/reviews/Graphics-Cards/AMD-3850-Llano-Desktop-Processor-Review-Can-AMD-compete-Sandy-Bridge/Memory-S
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: RE: DITTODavid Ramsey 2011-12-31 13:27
Interesting...I'll keep that in mind, since it appears as though higher memory frequencies can indeed bump the graphics performance of AMD Fusion processors (although it didn't seem to do anything for the integrated GPU in Intel procs).

Note, though, that they were using Corsair Dominator memory, which will typically have more overclocking headroom than this stuff.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter