Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600
Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by David Ramsey   
Monday, 12 December 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600
Closer Look: Vengeance LP DDR3-1600
Testing and Results
Synthetic Tests
Application Tests
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Corsair Vengeance Low-Profile 16GB Quad-Channel Memory Kit Review

Manufacturer: Corsair
Product Name: Vengeance LP 16GB Quad-Channel
Model Number: CML16GX3M4X1600C8
Price As Tested: $149.99 at Newegg

Full Disclosure: The product sample used in this article has been provided by Corsair.

The introduction of Intel's X79 chipset with its quad-channel memory controller coincides nicely with historic lows in memory prices. Corsair's recently introduced "Vengeance" line of peripherals includes products as diverse as headphones, mice, and even memory. Representing a lower-cost alternative to their "Dominator" memory line, Vengeance memory is offered with both high and low profile heat spreaders and several different speeds and timings. Benchmark Reviews tests the 1600MHz C8 16GB quad-channel low profile Vengeance kit against an assortment of other memory in this test.

High performance memory is one facet of a high performance system; a balanced approach to system performance considers processor speed, the amount of memory (as well as the speed), the GPU (for gamers), and the storage device (hard disk or SSD). Enthusiasts commonly concentrate on one or two of these items to the exclusion of others, which leads to systems that produce great benchmarks scores in some instances but drag in others.

corsair_vengeance_lp_trailer.jpg

Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 Specifications

  • Warranty: Lifetime
  • Size: 16GB (4x4GB)
  • Performance Profile: XMP
  • Heat Spreader: Vengeance
  • Memory Configuration: Quad Channel
  • Memory Type: DDR3
  • Package - Memory Pin: 240
  • Package - Memory Format: DIMM
  • Tested Voltage: 1.5
  • SPD Voltage: 1.5
  • Speed Rating: PC3-12800 (1600MHz)
  • SPD Speed: 1333MHz
  • Tested Speed: 1600MHz
  • SPD Latency: 9-9-9-24
  • Tested Latency: 8-8-8-24

The main differences between Corsair's "Dominator" and "Vengeance" memory products are that the Dominator memory gets fancier, machined aluminum heat spreaders and some guaranteed degree of overclockability, while the Vengeance line makes do with sheet aluminum heat spreaders and no guaranteed overclockability. All Corsair memory comes with a lifetime warranty. So how does this kit perform? Let's find out...



 

Comments 

 
# Works in X58 TooDr_b_ 2011-12-22 00:23
Bought this exact four pack, and because they were so cheap, used three of them in an X58 (gigabyte X58A-UD5 board to be precise). In one of the systems, set the xmp profile (profile1) and changed nothing else, and system works flawlessly. Put another set of three in an similarly specd system, and it wouldn't reliably run at 1600Mhz. Attempted some voltage tweaks but got impatient and just set it back to 1333Mhz and kept the xmp profile latency timings and it runs great.

Importantly, as the reviewer notes, you do not really see a perceptible difference between high speeds and lower latencies. It is good RAM, and the low profile heatsinks (which is all you need if you are going to run at 1600Mhz, these do not get hot at all, they are warm to the touch) enable them to fit even under large heatsink overhangs. Perfect.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600Squall Leonhart 2011-12-22 00:54
Hi, your benchmark results are lower then they should be for the write tests

enable C state tech and rebench please, the memory performance suffers greatly on Core i processors when C state tech is disabled.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600David Ramsey 2011-12-22 07:58
Someone will need to explain to me how keeping CPU's cores running at full spec (disabling C state) makes memory bandwidth _worse_. Until then I'm inclined to regard the test results as an idiosyncrasy in AIDA64. In the forum post quoted below, the AIDA64 administrators seemed unaware of this as well; in any case, they certainly didn't recommend one setting or the other.

In benchmarking tests the most important thing is consistency, so that users can judge the relative performance of the products being tested. All the memory in these benchmarks was tested on the same system with the same settings, so even if the C state thing is legitimate (and I will do more research on this), the results are comparable.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600Squall Leonhart 2011-12-22 08:08
its not isolated to AIDA64. Performance is reproducibly worse in applications that like to swap data back and forth such as manipulating a texture currently live in video memory (requires copying back to system memory and writing it back)

these write results are also a good deal less than what i've seen from other benchmarks using the C9 vengeance kit on lesser hardware (the C8 sticks should obviously be a little faster)

see
##pureoverclock.com/review.php?id=1216&page=5
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600David Ramsey 2011-12-22 08:39
"its not isolated to AIDA64. Performance is reproducibly worse in applications that like to swap data back and forth such as manipulating a texture currently live in video memory (requires copying back to system memory and writing it back)"

Can you provide an example of a reproducible benchmark I can use to test this? If so I can incorporate it into future memory reviews.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600Squall Leonhart 2011-12-22 19:14
i was using the emulator dolphin for performance comparisons, i don't know if they would be willing to turn the "Copy to Ram" function into a benchmark
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600David Ramsey 2011-12-26 08:50
Now that I'm back from vacation, I decided to look into this. In my original tests, C states were enabled, since the test bed machine was run with the default BIOS settings. I re-ran the AIDA64 tests on the same motherboard and CPU used in this review, but with Kingston HyperX Genesis DDR3-2133 memory.

C states enabled: read 18924,, write 14995, copy 16914, latency 48.8ns
C states disabled: read 18897, write 15082, copy 17101, latency 48.9ns

The difference in write performance is a fraction over 1%, well within the margin of error of these tests. I conclude that at least with this motherboard and CPU, whether or not C states are enabled makes no difference in memory performance as measured by AIDA64's tests.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600Olin Coles 2011-12-26 09:16
I'm adding this into the article, to prevent future confusion for anyone in disbelief of the results.
Report Comment
 
 
# Bogus Appearance scoreRobert Johnson 2011-12-22 07:13
The appearance score by the reviewer is completely bogus and he obviously didn't do his homework. He fails to mention the fact that the LP memory comes in three different colors so that enthusiasts who build there own PCs can try to color match their mod. In addition the white Corsair LP memory although at CAS9 runs at a very low 1.35 volts. I've been reading benchmark reviews for some time but might stop reading them after this lackluster review effort. As mentioned by Squall Leonhart above you didn't even bench it properly for the write tests.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Bogus Appearance scoreDavid Ramsey 2011-12-22 08:01
Your complaint is totally bogus since you obviously didn't read the review. Look at the VERY FIRST SENTENCE on the second page. Since you missed it the first time, I'll quote it here for you:

"You can choose red, blue, or black heat spreaders (there's also a special white, low-voltage version)."

In any case I can only review what a vendors sends me. Corsair sent me a black memory kit, so that's what the appearance score was judged on.

Sigh.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600Squall Leonhart 2011-12-22 07:22
the bandwidth should be closer to thus in the following forum post

#forums.aida64.com/index.php?/topic/292-c-state-tech-disabled-negatively-affects-memory-bandwidth-tests/page__p__1712#entry1712
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600matt 2011-12-22 08:36
tried the 8GB LP Vengeance kit on my x48 blackops and it wont post, no matter what i change in the bios.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB DDR3-1600David Ramsey 2011-12-22 09:12
If other memory kits work and this one doesn't, sounds as if it's time to take advantage of Corsair's lifetime warranty.
Report Comment
 
 
# Of InterestTman1 2011-12-22 16:59
Might of been nice to touch on these running under XMP 1.3 which is not backward compatible to XMP 1.2, so while enabling XMP settings might work on older mobos, i.e. 1156, 1155, 1366 it would be best to use manual settings on those mobos with these sticks
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Of InterestSquall Leonhart 2011-12-22 19:11
the xmp profile on the vengeance and vengeance LP sticks works fine on 115x and 1366
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter