Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Storage arrow Intel SSD 520 Series Solid State Drive
Intel SSD 520 Series Solid State Drive E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Olin Coles   
Monday, 06 February 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
Intel SSD 520 Series Solid State Drive
Closer Look: Intel SSD 520 Series
Features and Specifications
SSD Testing Methodology
AS-SSD Benchmark
ATTO Disk Benchmark
CrystalDiskMark 3.0 Tests
Iometer IOPS Performance
EVEREST Disk Benchmark
PCMark Vantage HDD Tests
Intel SSD 520 Series Conclusion

Intel SSD 520 Series Features

Source: Intel Corporation

New Level of Performance

Built with compute-quality Intel 25 nanometer (nm) NAND Flash Memory, the Intel SSD 520 Series accelerates PC performance where it matters most. With random read performance up to 50,000 input/output operations per second (IOPS)1 and sequential read performance of up to 550 megabytes per second (MB/s)2, your PC will blaze through the most demanding applications and will handle intense multi-tasking needs. Couple that read performance with random writes up to 80,000 IOPS3 and sequential writes of 520 MB/s2 to unleash your applications. With the Intel SSD 520 Series, Intel continues to deliver solutions designed to satisfy the most demanding gamers, media creators and technology enthusiasts.4

Superior Data Protection Features

The new Intel SSD 520 Series offers the best security features of any Intel® Solid-State Drive to date and comes pre-configured with Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) 256 bit encryption capabilities. In the event of theft or loss of your computer, you have the peace of mind that your personal data is secured by an advanced encryption technology. Additionally, the Intel SSD 520 Series contains "End to End Data Protection" ensuring integrity of stored data from the computer to the SSD and back.

Proven Reliability with Lower Operating Costs

With no moving parts, the Intel SSD 520 Series reduces your risk of data loss due to laptop bumps or drop, all while consuming less power than a traditional hard drive-so you can stay mobile longer. Now that your work is safe, use the world-class performance of the Intel SSD 520 Series to dominate your gaming competition or to reach new levels of creativity and productivity. The choice is yours!

Feature

Intel SSD 320 Series

Intel SSD 510 Series

Intel SSD 520 Series

Capacities

MLC:

40/80/120/160/300/600

MLC:

120/ 250

MLC:

60/120/180/240/480

NAND Litho

25nm

34nm

25nm

Interface

SATA 3Gbps

SATA 6Gbps

SATA 6Gbps

Sequential Performance*1 (MB/sec)

Up to 260 / 210

Up to 500/315

Up to 550 / 520

Random performance*1

R/W (IOPS)

Up to 39.5K / 23K

Up to 20K / 8K

Up to 40K / 70K

(max 80k write IOPS)

Power (W)*2

(active / idle)

150 mW /100 mW

380 mW /100 mW

850 mW /600 mW

Form Factors

2.5"

2.5"

2.5"

Security

AES-128 encryption

NA

AES-256 encryption

Data Reliability - Surplus Array

Yes

No

Yes

Data Path Protection

LBA Tag Checking

NA

E2E Data Protection

Low Halogen

Yes

Yes

Yes

Warranty

5 Year

3 Year

5 Year

Intel SSDSC2CW240A3 Specification

  • Capacity: 60/120/180/240/480 GB
  • Components: Intel 25nm Multi-Level Cell (MLC) NAND Flash Memory
  • Form Factor: 2.5-inch
  • Thickness:
    • 7 mm: 120/180/240 GB
    • 9.5 mm: 60/120/180/240/480 GB
  • Weight: Up to 78 grams
  • SATA 6Gb/s Bandwidth Performance1 (Iometer* Queue Depth 32)
    • Sustained Sequential Read: Up to 550 MB/s
    • Sustained Sequential Write: Up to 520 MB/s
    • Read and Write IOPS1 (Iometer Queue Depth 32)
    • Random 4 KB Reads: Up to 50,000 IOPS
    • Random 4 KB Writes: Up to 80,000 IOPS2
  • Latency (average sequential)
    • Read: 80 μs (TYP)
    • Write: 85 μs (TYP)
  • Data Compression
  • AES 256-bit Encryption
  • End-to-End Data Protection
  • Compatibility:
    • Intel SSD Toolbox with Intel® SSD Optimizer
    • Intel® Data Migration Software
    • Intel® Rapid Storage Technology
    • Intel® 6 Series Express Chipsets (with SATA 6Gb/s)
    • SATA Revision 3.0
    • ACS-2
    • SSD-enhanced SMART ATA feature set
    • Native Command Queuing (NCQ) command set
    • Data Set Management Command
    • Trim attribute
  • Power Management
    • 5 V SATA Supply Rail
    • SATA Link Power Management (LPM)
  • Power
    • Active (MobileMark* 2007 Workload):
    • 850 mW (TYP)
    • Idle: 600 mW (TYP)
  • Temperature
    • Operating: 0o C to 70o C
    • Non-Operating: -55o C to 95o C
  • Reliability
    • Uncorrectable Bit Error Rate (UBER): < 1 sector per 1016 bits read
    • Mean Time Between Failures (MTBF): 1,200,000 hours
    • Shock (operating and non-operating): 1,500 G/0.5 msec
  • Vibration
    • Operating: 2.17 GRMS (5-700 Hz)
    • Non-operating: 3.13 GRMS (5-800 Hz)
  • Certifications and Declarations:
    • UL*
    • CE*
    • C-Tick*
    • BSMI*
    • KCC*
    • Microsoft* WHQL
    • VCCI*
    • SATA-IO*
  • Product Ecological Compliance
    • RoHS*

1. Performance values vary by capacity.
2. Random 4 KB writes measured using out-of-box SSD.



 

Comments 

 
# "As of 06 February 201, the Intel SSD 520 Series launches..."Dan 2012-02-06 08:35
Wow, so long ago. The age when Caracalla ruled. Did they have SSDs back then?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: "As of 06 February 201, the Intel SSD 520 Series launches..."Olin Coles 2012-02-06 08:41
There's always got to be at least one person... the typo's been fixed smartass. :)
Report Comment
 
 
# LOL!realneil 2012-02-06 10:42
Good review Olin. Now I want one of these too. As a matter of fact, it's on the top of the list.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: LOL!Olin Coles 2012-02-06 10:45
Thanks! This is a VERY FAST drive that costs the same as SandForce SSDs, and with a five year Intel warranty you really can't go wrong.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Intel SSD 520 Series Solid State DriveJerry Record 2012-02-06 15:42
Thanks for the review. I have been looking at these for some time, but still straddling the fence. My concerns are longevity of the drive. The Intel 520 & 320 series have the best reviews with the fewest number of DOA's & BSOD's with in a short time period after installation. I also understand Intel has a 5 yr waranty. But, when it holds you OS and all you software and dies. It is a hassle. Just thought I would check and see if you had any insight into the real world life expectancy of the SSD today.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Intel SSD 520 Series Solid State DriveEndocine 2012-02-07 02:38
Unfortunately your question can not be easily answered. But my anecdotal observation from running intel SSD's for a couple years now, in laptops and desktops - I have never seen a failure personally. I wouldn't rely on SSDs for long term data storage, and regardless of their failure rate or life expectancy, always do data backups, if you do not then you are asking for a hassle. Don't put anything critical on a consumer SSD and always do backups.

While these drives are appreciably more expensive than equally performing models from other companies, one would hope that a lot more testing and quality controls went into making them, and there's no way to test for reliability between brands in a review like this, you need to run tests for a long period of time using large numbers of drives and the expense and time of such an undertaking would be beyond the capabilities of a review site.
Report Comment
 
 
# AES 256-bit EncryptionBill McGovern 2012-04-23 07:36
I currently use a 'standard' hard drive. I keep all data on a partition other than the OS partition. I use TrueCrypt to encrypt the data partition.
I am concerned with the 520's reliance on the bios password for encryption. Isn't the bios password fairly easy to hack? If my laptop 'walks off' is my data really 100% secure or is it readily available to anyone who can garner the bios password?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: AES 256-bit EncryptionOlin Coles 2012-04-23 07:42
Hello Bill:
Although I do not use it personally, it is my understanding that TrueCrypt works perfectly on an SSD.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: AES 256-bit EncryptionBill McGovern 2012-04-23 07:48
Sorry if I wasn't clear....I'm interested in utilizing the 520's native encryption, not TrueCrypt. My understanding is that using a software encryption program will cause additional performance and wear issues. My concern is with the 520's native, hardware encryption reliance on the bios password.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: AES 256-bit EncryptionOlin Coles 2012-04-23 07:57
Because SSDs feature automatic data encryption from the moment they initialize, there's an inherit problem giving users password-controlled access to data. There are several articles around the web (search: SandForce SSD Encryption Demystified) that explain how this happens, but in summary it's a problem that has existed as long as self-encrypting drives. Intel offers an SSD toolkit to work with the encryption key on their drives: downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=18455
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: AES 256-bit EncryptionBill McGovern 2012-04-23 08:51
Olin, many thanks for the response(s). Not sure I still have a definitive answer. I'm not a security expert, nor do I want to be one. I'm simply someone who has enough computer smarts (barely) to realize the need for encryption and be able to install and utilize TrueCrypt. I am hoping that the Intel 520 eliminates the need for me to be concerned about encryption. I don't require DOD level security. I store my financial info on my laptop. If it is stolen, is my data at risk by anyone who can google for "bios password recovery"? Or would it take some very high tech hacking to get access to my SSD data? Thanks for your patience.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: RE: AES 256-bit EncryptionOlin Coles 2012-04-23 09:01
The short answer is to use a third party software or tool, because if your drive is stolen it can be plugged into any other computer and read.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: RE: RE: AES 256-bit EncryptionBill McGovern 2012-04-23 09:30
Thanks again for your time and patience. I've been doing some web searching in addition to the links / strings you suggested. I ran across #dfarq.homeip.net/2011/05/more-on-the-new-intel-320-ssd/ which talks about Intel 320 SSD encryption. If the same applies to the 520, their opinion is that the encryption is sufficient for personal or corporate use. Does their explanation negate the ability to bypass security by "plugging it into any other computer and read", or using the widely available bios password obtaining schemes?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: RE: RE: RE: AES 256-bit EncryptionOlin Coles 2012-04-23 10:01
I don't share their opinion, and believe a drive should have more than a BIOS password to protect it.
Report Comment
 
 
# Missunderstanding - ATA HD encryption is sufficient for personal or corporate useBjoern 2012-05-22 02:37
Sorry, but you mix up BIOS password protection and the ATA HD security command. This seems to be a very common mistake since you can read it all over the net.

I think the origin for this mixup is comming from the first sandforce controlled SSDs - they encrypted the data on the memory chips, but users had no way to enter a password since ATA HD security was not supported. back then it was no security enhancement at all. encryption was just used as a cheap way to randomly scatter data over the NAND as a wear leveling tool.

Setting up a ATA HD password with a selfencrypting ssd like the intel 520 series will securly encrypt all data and you wont be able to read or write to the drive without the password. the drive cannot be pluged into another computer and be accessed there. It will show up as a locked drive until you enter the correct ATA master- or user password. you wont even be able to secure erase the drive without a password - better don't loose it or you have to dump your drive. However, your mainburd has to support ATA HD security. That is a still little hard to find...

this is also not what the article you reffere to (SandForce SSD Encryption - Demystified) is stating. the articel you reffered to was mainly questioning the security of such a "black box" solution in spite of an open source solution like truecrypt. The article is also quite old.

to get a clearer view of how it actually works see the document:
##hgst.com/tech/techlib.nsf/techdocs/F08FCD6C41A7A3FF8625735400620E6A/$file/HowToGuide_BulkDataE ncryption_final.pdf

It seems to be just a logical step to use ondisk encryption whenever possible with a SSD since SSDs loose up to 80% performance if you use truecrypt.

@Bill: Yes, ATA HD encryption is sufficient for personal or corporate use.

Best
Bjoern
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Missunderstanding - ATA HD encryption is sufficient for personal or corporate useBill McGovern 2012-05-22 09:51
Bjoern, thanks so much for your time.

From your comments, my understanding is that if my motherboard supports ATA Security, I can set a password that is unrelated to the BiOS password and is not stored in the BIOS. Correct?

One other question, if my motherboard does NOT support ATA Security, can the Intel toolkit be used to set the SSD ATA password? Do I then continue to use the toolkit to provide the password and enable access?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Missunderstanding - ATA HD encryption is sufficient for personal or corporate useBjoern 2012-05-22 10:09
Dear Bill,

1.) Yes. The PW will be hashed and the hash will be saved in the drive. the PW can then be used to decrypted the key used for the encryption of the data on the drive itself. You can also use the drive in another computer supporting ATA security - at least if it is the same mainboard and therefore BIOS implementation of ATA security.

2.) If your BIOS does not support ATA security there is no way to use a password protected disk. the disk would be locked - without a supporting BIOS you cannot enter the password. Most systems would not even boot with a locked drive on any SATA channel. that is also the reason why you cannot set the password using the intel toolkit. imagin you would set a password in windows and then be unable to access your system anymore, because your bios actualy does not support it.

Therefore, the entire handling of the password is quite uncomfortable and you have a risk of loosing your hardware. allways remember - if you loose the password you loose not only the data but also the drive itself. It would be bricked forever.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter