Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-Core
EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-Core E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Hank Tolman   
Tuesday, 29 November 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-Core
Closer Look: EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores FTW
Features and Specifications
Video Card Testing Methodology
DX10: 3DMark Vantage
DX9 SSAO: Mafia II
DX11: Aliens vs. Predator
DX11: Battlefield: Bad Company 2
DX11: DiRT-2 Demo
DX11: Lost Planet 2
DX11: Unigine Heaven 2.5
Conclusion

DX10: 3DMark Vantage

3DMark Vantage is a PC benchmark suite designed to test the DirectX10 graphics card performance. FutureMark 3DMark Vantage is the latest addition the 3DMark benchmark series built by FutureMark corporation. Although 3DMark Vantage requires NVIDIA PhysX to be installed for program operation, only the CPU/Physics test relies on this technology.

3DMark Vantage offers benchmark tests focusing on GPU, CPU, and Physics performance. Benchmark Reviews uses the two GPU-specific tests for grading video card performance: Jane Nash and New Calico. These tests isolate graphical performance, and remove processor dependence from the benchmark results.

  • 3DMark Vantage v1.02
    • Extreme Settings: (Extreme Quality, 8x Multisample Anti-Aliasing, 16x Anisotropic Filtering, 1:2 Scale)

3DMark Vantage GPU Test: Jane Nash

Of the two GPU tests 3DMark Vantage offers, the Jane Nash performance benchmark is slightly less demanding. In a short video scene the special agent escapes a secret lair by water, nearly losing her shirt in the process. Benchmark Reviews tests this DirectX-10 scene at 1680x1050 and 1920x1200 resolutions, and uses Extreme quality settings with 8x anti-aliasing and 16x anisotropic filtering. The 1:2 scale is utilized, and is the highest this test allows. By maximizing the processing levels of this test, the scene creates the highest level of graphical demand possible and sorts the strong from the weak.

EVGA_GTX560Ti_448_Nash.jpg

3DMark Vantage GPU Test: New Calico

New Calico is the second GPU test in the 3DMark Vantage test suite. Of the two GPU tests, New Calico is the most demanding. In a short video scene featuring a galactic battleground, there is a massive display of busy objects across the screen. Benchmark Reviews tests this DirectX-10 scene at 1680x1050 and 1920x1200 resolutions, and uses Extreme quality settings with 8x anti-aliasing and 16x anisotropic filtering. The 1:2 scale is utilized, and is the highest this test allows. Using the highest graphics processing level available allows our test products to separate themselves and stand out (if possible).

EVGA_GTX560Ti_448_Calico.jpg



 

Comments 

 
# What, no HD 6950?Jeff 2011-11-29 08:38
I guess I can extrapolate from other reviews over the past six months that its a hair faster than the HD 6950. Would have been nice to have its natural competition in the review (which is excellent otherwise).
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: What, no HD 6950?Hank 2011-11-29 12:09
Sorry about that Jeff. I literally had one day to test the GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores FTW before release and no HD 6950 on hand. Otherwise, it would have been in there.

-Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreChris 2011-11-29 09:38
Hank - any idea how well Nvidia will support this product? The problem is that this new 448 core product has a limited production run. That means that only a few people are going to have it, which means that good drivers for this product may not be the priority that it is for the more popular cards ... like the 560Ti 384 core edition. Even with a marginally better performance the the 384 core version, it seems like a risk.

It may be better to just swallow the $30 or so dollars and pay up for a 570. On the plus side, this will probably force retailers to offer people a reason to buy a 570, so it may actually bring the 570 and AMD's 6950 down in price a bit.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreOlin Coles 2011-11-29 09:45
So far as I can tell, this is a permanent change and going forward 448 cores will be the standard 560Ti. Driver support will be identical to other products of the 5xx family, so no worries there. The only risk is price, which I think is competitive to other models.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreHank 2011-11-29 12:14
NVIDIA did say that this is a limited release, but since all NVIDIA 500 series card use the same drivers, I think it's a safe bet that this card will receive as much driver support as any other. Most of the changes to drivers are for the benefit of many cards rather than just one anyway. Also, NVIDIA recommended using a newer version than what is currently available for the GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores. As you can see on the testing page, the most recent drivers are 285.62, while the GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores came with 285.88. Looks like the are already updating in support of this card.


-Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreChris 2011-11-29 15:57
Okay - thanks.

The reason why I asked was because a friend of mine is looking for a replacement GPU for his old HD 4870. I'm at a bit of a conflict on what advice to give him. A 580 or 6970 is probably out of his budget, barring a major Christmas discount.

I myself own the 560TI Hawk, and if I were to get a card today, it'd be another one.

The other variable is that the new generation of cards is around the corner, which makes things a bit more debatable. I told him to see if he could get a good Christmas deal - else, wait it out if he could.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreHelping dude whose too bored 2011-11-29 17:44
Well... bit-tech did release a review so I am going to refer to that. Essentially what they are saying that you will get a similar performance to a stock clocked GTX 570. So i guess it is better buying for now. Since mid-range nVidia cards will take at least 6 months for them to come out. So, there is not much point in waiting for those.

Link for bit-tech review:
##bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2011/11/29/zotac-geforce-gtx-560-ti-448-cores-review/1
Image of nVidia roadmap:
#assets.vr-zone.net/14067/005.jpg
Report Comment
 
 
# 560 TI 448 classifiednate dogg 2012-02-08 08:51
wanted to hop on here since there was no classified benchmark review and say that although this card and the classified are close to the same, the extra fan and better cooling of the classified is well worth the extra $15 plus there is an awesome light on the side that says EVGA that really adds to the look of your PC.

This card freakin ROCKS!! i put it in a kinda old system that was getting a best score of 7706 from 3DMark06 to a 10110 score with only one of these cards compared to my old SLi set up!

mine currently OCs to a very stable 950 core 1900 shader and 2010 memory speed and stayed below 55 deg Cel with fans @ 60% durring 3DMark06 benchmark.

Cant wait to see my score once i get a 2nd card in SLi and my new Asus MoBo and i5 2500k CPU in a couple weeks! i will post on here and give an update once i do.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter