Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-Core
EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-Core E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Hank Tolman   
Tuesday, 29 November 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-Core
Closer Look: EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores FTW
Features and Specifications
Video Card Testing Methodology
DX10: 3DMark Vantage
DX9 SSAO: Mafia II
DX11: Aliens vs. Predator
DX11: Battlefield: Bad Company 2
DX11: DiRT-2 Demo
DX11: Lost Planet 2
DX11: Unigine Heaven 2.5
Conclusion

EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-Cores Review

Manufacturer: EVGA
Product Name: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores FTW
Model Number: 012-P3-2066
Price As Tested: $289.99 (Newegg)

Full Disclosure: The product sample used in this article has been provided by EVGA.

This holiday season is gearing up to be a big one for computer gamers. A lot of big titles have been or will soon be released. Battlefield 3, Batman: Arkham City, Star Wars: The Old Republic, Modern Warfare 3, and Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim are a few. Diablo 3 is expected early in 2012 as well. While this is great news for gamers, we don't have any expected releases of new GPU platforms. That's not terribly disheartening, as the current top-of-the-line GPUs will play even the most demanding of these titles. The problem is, those top end GPUs also cost an arm and a leg. NVIDIA is setting out to combat this problem for the holiday season 2011 by releasing a new and improved version of the GTX 560 Ti, the GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores. In this article, Benchmark Reviews is bringing you details on the EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores FTW.

When the GTX 560 Ti Video Card was released in January 2011, it improved upon the existing architecture of the GF104 GPU. The GTX 460 was the first video card that sported the GF104, but it only used 7 Streaming Multiprocessors and sported only 336 CUDA Cores. Still, in its day, the GTX 460 was quite formidable. When the GTX 560 Ti came out, it used the GF114 GPU, identical to the GF104 but with the full 8 streaming processors enabled and an upped CUDA Core count of 384. The GTX 560 Ti boosted graphics performance significantly, beating out the AMD HD 6870 and coming extremely close to the performance of the Radeon HD 5870, even edging it out in some benchmarks. With no new architecture arriving for the 2011 Holiday Season, NVIDIA is revamping the GTX 560 Ti by boosting the number of CUDA Cores.

EVGA_GTX560Ti_448_Flat.jpg

In the current NVIDIA GPU structure, the GTX 560 Ti takes the place of the GTX 470 and fits nicely between the GTX 460 and GTX 570. That being said, there is still quite a gap between the GTX 560 Ti and the GTX 570. Bumping up the CUDA Cores to 448 as opposed to 384 should improve performance to the point where the GTX 560 Ti 448 sits in that gap. In fact, a lot of the specifications of the GTX 560 Ti start to look a little more like the GTX 570. The Streaming Multiprocessor count, of course, remains the same at 8 since the GTX 560 Ti 448 is still built off the GF114 GPU. As I mentioned before, the CUDA Core count is increased on the GTX 560 Ti 448 from 384 to, obviously, 448. This number matches the number of CUDA Cores found on the GTX 470. The GTX 470, however, has 14 Streaming Multiprocessors from which the Cores come, for 32 Cores per SM.

With only 8 Streaming Multiprocessors, the GTX 560 Ti 448 touts 56 Cores per SM. Video RAM size is increased on the GTX 560 Ti 448 as well, up to 1280MB from 1024MB. With the increase in memory and CUDA Core amounts, however, comes a decrease in clock speed that now matches the GTX 570. The Graphics clock speed on the GTX 560 Ti 448 is 732MHz and the Processor clock speed is double that at 1464MHz. This is down a little from the 822/1644MHz speeds on the original GTX 560 Ti. The Memory clock on the GTX 560 Ti 448 is knocked down to a 950MHz clock rate and 3800MHz data rate from the 1001/4008MHz speeds on the original GTX 560 Ti.

With the current specifications of the GTX 560 Ti 448 sitting right between the GTX 560 Ti and the GTX 570, it only makes sense that the price would as well. The GTX 560 Ti 448 is set to be released with an MSRP of $289. GTX 560 Ti Video Cards are averaging around $249 right now and GTX 570 cards are around $329. This puts the GTX 560 Ti 448 right in the middle. The real question is, will its performance occupy that same slot? Let's move along and take a closer look at the GTX 560 Ti 448.



 

Comments 

 
# What, no HD 6950?Jeff 2011-11-29 08:38
I guess I can extrapolate from other reviews over the past six months that its a hair faster than the HD 6950. Would have been nice to have its natural competition in the review (which is excellent otherwise).
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: What, no HD 6950?Hank 2011-11-29 12:09
Sorry about that Jeff. I literally had one day to test the GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores FTW before release and no HD 6950 on hand. Otherwise, it would have been in there.

-Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreChris 2011-11-29 09:38
Hank - any idea how well Nvidia will support this product? The problem is that this new 448 core product has a limited production run. That means that only a few people are going to have it, which means that good drivers for this product may not be the priority that it is for the more popular cards ... like the 560Ti 384 core edition. Even with a marginally better performance the the 384 core version, it seems like a risk.

It may be better to just swallow the $30 or so dollars and pay up for a 570. On the plus side, this will probably force retailers to offer people a reason to buy a 570, so it may actually bring the 570 and AMD's 6950 down in price a bit.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreOlin Coles 2011-11-29 09:45
So far as I can tell, this is a permanent change and going forward 448 cores will be the standard 560Ti. Driver support will be identical to other products of the 5xx family, so no worries there. The only risk is price, which I think is competitive to other models.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreHank 2011-11-29 12:14
NVIDIA did say that this is a limited release, but since all NVIDIA 500 series card use the same drivers, I think it's a safe bet that this card will receive as much driver support as any other. Most of the changes to drivers are for the benefit of many cards rather than just one anyway. Also, NVIDIA recommended using a newer version than what is currently available for the GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores. As you can see on the testing page, the most recent drivers are 285.62, while the GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores came with 285.88. Looks like the are already updating in support of this card.


-Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreChris 2011-11-29 15:57
Okay - thanks.

The reason why I asked was because a friend of mine is looking for a replacement GPU for his old HD 4870. I'm at a bit of a conflict on what advice to give him. A 580 or 6970 is probably out of his budget, barring a major Christmas discount.

I myself own the 560TI Hawk, and if I were to get a card today, it'd be another one.

The other variable is that the new generation of cards is around the corner, which makes things a bit more debatable. I told him to see if he could get a good Christmas deal - else, wait it out if he could.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: RE: EVGA GeForce GTX560Ti FTW 448-CoreHelping dude whose too bored 2011-11-29 17:44
Well... bit-tech did release a review so I am going to refer to that. Essentially what they are saying that you will get a similar performance to a stock clocked GTX 570. So i guess it is better buying for now. Since mid-range nVidia cards will take at least 6 months for them to come out. So, there is not much point in waiting for those.

Link for bit-tech review:
##bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2011/11/29/zotac-geforce-gtx-560-ti-448-cores-review/1
Image of nVidia roadmap:
#assets.vr-zone.net/14067/005.jpg
Report Comment
 
 
# 560 TI 448 classifiednate dogg 2012-02-08 08:51
wanted to hop on here since there was no classified benchmark review and say that although this card and the classified are close to the same, the extra fan and better cooling of the classified is well worth the extra $15 plus there is an awesome light on the side that says EVGA that really adds to the look of your PC.

This card freakin ROCKS!! i put it in a kinda old system that was getting a best score of 7706 from 3DMark06 to a 10110 score with only one of these cards compared to my old SLi set up!

mine currently OCs to a very stable 950 core 1900 shader and 2010 memory speed and stayed below 55 deg Cel with fans @ 60% durring 3DMark06 benchmark.

Cant wait to see my score once i get a 2nd card in SLi and my new Asus MoBo and i5 2500k CPU in a couple weeks! i will post on here and give an update once i do.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter