Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Motherboards arrow X79 Express Motherboard Performance Comparison
X79 Express Motherboard Performance Comparison E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Motherboards
Written by David Ramsey   
Tuesday, 22 November 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
X79 Express Motherboard Performance Comparison
X79 Express Chipset
Motherboard Feature Comparison
Motherboard Testing Methodology
Overclocking Results
SiSoft Sandra Memory Bandwidth
AIDA64 Extreme Edition Tests
PCMark Vantage Tests
CINEBENCH R11.5 Benchmarks
CPU-Dependent 3D Gaming
PassMark PerformanceTest
Media Encoding Benchmarks
SPECviewperf 11 Tests
SPECapc Lightwave
Blender and POV-Ray
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Motherboard Testing Methodology

For this comparison, I used the Intel Core i7-3960X at stock and overclocked speeds on each motherboard. The same video card, hard drive, and memory were used in all cases. For overclock testing I ran the benchmarks at the highest stable overclock I was able to achieve on each motherboard.

Intel X79 Express Test Platforms

  • Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79 BIOS 0707
  • Motherboard: Intel DX79SI Extreme BIOS 0280 (Beta)
  • Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 Deluxe BIOS 0707
  • Processor: 3.3GHz Intel Core i7-3960X
  • System Memory: 16GB (4 4GB DIMMs) Corsair Vengeance CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24)
  • Primary Drive: Western Digital VelociRaptor 300G
  • Graphics Adapter: AMD Radeon 6850
  • CPU cooler: Intel High Performance Liquid Cooling System RTS2011LC

Benchmark Applications

  • Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
  • SiSoft Sandra Lite 2011.SPS (1780)
  • AIDA64 Extreme Edition v1.85.1600
  • Futuremark PCMark Vantage v1.0.2.0 64-Bit
    • TV and Movies
    • Gaming
    • Music
  • Maxon CINEBENCH R11.5 64-Bit
  • Street Fighter IV benchmark
  • PassMark PerformanceTest 7.0b1021
  • x264Bench HD 3.0, including AMD-supplied variants using new FX instructions
  • SPECviewperf-11:
    • Lightwave 9.6
    • Autodesk Maya 2009
    • Siemens Teamcenter Visualization Mockup
  • SPECapc LightWave 3D v9.6
  • Handbrake 0.95 video transcoding
  • Blender 3D rendering
  • POV-Ray 3D rendering

Since I'm using the same video card, hard disk, memory, processor, and even CPU cooler in all platforms, the motherboards are the only things that can affect the performance. Keep this in mind as you review the benchmark results in the following sections.



 

Comments 

 
# light and confortableCHARLEYAM 2011-11-23 08:58
SWEET WHAT YOU GOING TO DO WITH THE ONES YOUR BENCH TESTING WHEN YOUR DONE??? I WOULD LIKE TO RIDE THIS MACHINE TO ITS LIMITS AND BACK. REALLY GREAT CHIPSET AND SECOND GENERATION PROCESSORS ARE OUT OF THIS WORLD INTEL GREAT JOB GUYS AND MOTHERBOARD COMPANIES KEEP THE X79 CHIPSET ON THE MBS SO WE CAN TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THESE NEW CHIPS
HAPPY HOLIDAYS DUDES DUDETTES AND ALL OTHER LIFE FORMS ON THIS PLANET...PEACE OUT BYE BYE
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: light and confortableDavid Ramsey 2011-11-23 09:01
I'll probably use the X79 Sabertooth for upgrading my personal Intel machine, and keep the Intel board for future testing (if they ever release a new BIOS, anyway!)
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: X79 Express Motherboard Performance Comparisonodiebugs 2011-11-30 23:10
I see Asus still using the FAILED garbage Marvell 9128. Can't wait to see if they lie about the pci-e 3.0 like they did with the TRUE Sata 3, which is Sata 2. Good idea blowing heat onto the usb and sata port.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: X79 Express Motherboard Performance ComparisonDavid Ramsey 2011-12-01 09:03
Well, bear in mind that the PCI-E 3.0 is a function of the Intel X79 Express chipset. The actual status of this feature seems a little fuzzy right now: it hasn't been "officially" certified and nobody can test it yet since there are no PCI-E 3.0 cards to test it against.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter