Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3
VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Austin Downing   
Wednesday, 28 September 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3
Closer Look: VisionTek 1866MHz DDR3
RAM Testing and Results
Synthetic Benchmarks
Application Benchmark
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

VisionTek DDR3 Final Thoughts

RAM is a vital component in any system and although VisionTek has created a fine looking set of RAM with its Ultimate Performance line it is ultimately let down by its inability to keep up with our less expensive 1866MHz kits with tighter 9-10-9-28 timings. It is nice the VisionTek provides a lifetime warranty on this kit of memory sadly the final nail in the coffin is the 2" tall heat spreader which drastically limits what CPU heat sinks can be used the VisionTek Ultimate Performance kit of memory.

VisionTek_Ultimate_Performance_5.jpg

Ultimate Performance Conclusion

Performance in RAM is about being able to complete real world benchmarks faster the competition. Sadly although the VisionTek Ultimate Performance surpasses our stock 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 kit it is repeatedly passed up by its 1866MHz brethren with tighter timings.

Appearance is one area where the VisionTek Ultimate Performance kit excels with its beautiful black heat spreader that gives the Ultimate Performance kit a nice look without being overly flashy.

The VisionTek Ultimate Performance is well made with no flexing in the PCB or heat spreader. At the same time each stick also has a nice heft to it helping the Ultimate Performance feel like it is built to last.

Functionality in RAM is all about being able to perform at its specified speed and timings without any errors. To its credit the Visiontek Ultimate Performance kit is able to perform at 1866MHz 10-10-10-24 @1.65v without any error in Memtest86+. Even better VisionTek is standing behind the Ultimate Performance kit by providing a limited lifetime warranty to users who buy it.

Priced for $80.31 at Amazon, the VisionTek 1866MHz 10-10-10-24 is a bit more expensive than the other 1866MHz 9-10-9-28 kits that perform better in the real world benchmarks.

For their first outing into the memory market in many years VisionTeks Ultimate Performance 1866MHz kit is out for a strong start. If VisionTek where to give the next iteration of the Ultimate Performance some tighter timings and a shorter heatspreader then they could have a real winner on their hands. Even with these problems I have no problem recommending the VisionTek Ultimate Performance to any of our readers and therefore award it the Benchmark Reviews Recommended Product badge.

Pros:Benchmark Reviews Seal of Approval

+ Great looking all black heatspreader
+ Lifetime Warrenty
+ XMP profile works out of box with no errors in Memtest86+
+ Does great on synthetic benchmarks

Cons:

- More expensive than other 1866MHz kit
- Looser timings comprimise performance
- 2" tall heat spreader may get in way of larger heatsinks
- Is let down on real world applications by its looser timings when compared to other 1866MHz kits

Ratings:

  • Performance: 8.00
  • Appearance: 9.50
  • Construction: 9.00
  • Functionality: 9.00
  • Value: 8.00

Final Score: 8.7 out of 10.

Questions? Comments? Benchmark Reviews really wants your feedback. We invite you to leave your remarks in our Discussion Forum.


Related Articles:


 

Comments 

 
# RAMRealNeil 2011-10-07 08:05
RAM comes in so many variations that it can be confusing. I bought some Patriot DDR3-1600 RAM a few weeks ago, but I had to send it back because it was crashing the AMD A8-3850 system that I installed it into. The replacement RAM came and it did the same thing. By disabling "Load Line Calibration" I was able to make the system run on stock settings only. When I decided to try some GSKill RipJaws DDR3-1600 in the same system, it worked perfectly and I was able to get a 600MHz OC out of it with full stability.
The Patriot RAM worked just as well in an Intel box that I had. It can be a real crap-shoot picking out RAM to use.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3Adrian 2011-11-14 09:43
Sorry to complain but the charts on this review are most unclear. It is very difficult to determine which memory is which because the color coding is not referenced back to the memory brands and speeds so having three at 1866Mhz doesn't tell you much - can you update and clarify it would really help.

Thanks
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter