Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3
VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Austin Downing   
Wednesday, 28 September 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3
Closer Look: VisionTek 1866MHz DDR3
RAM Testing and Results
Synthetic Benchmarks
Application Benchmark
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Application Benchmark

Application benchmarks are a look at real world performance of the memory being tested. During this review we will be employing a combination of rendering, compression, and simulation to see how timing and speed of memory affects their performance.

CINEBENCH.png

Much like games that use DirectX or OpenGL to render their scenes CINIBENCH sees very little in gain by using higher performance RAM. This means that between our baseline 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 kit and our VisionTek 1866MHz 10-10-10-24 kit we see less than 1% of a difference well within our margin of error.

WinRAR.png

Using the benchmarking tool that was built into WinRAR 4.00 we were able to effectively gauge how many kilobytes per second our test bed was able to compress. WinRAR is responsive to speed and timings and as such our VisionTek 1866MHz 10-10-10-24 has to give up some of its lead to the other 1866MHz 9-10-9-28 kits still compared to our 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 kit we look at a 3.2% boost in performance.

Euler 3D.png

The speed of Euler 3D simulation is obviously sensitive to both speed and timings. Unfortunately, for this VisionTek kit that means that it performs 1.4% worse than the comparable 1866MHz kits that we have tested due to its looser 10-10-10-28 timings.



 

Comments 

 
# RAMRealNeil 2011-10-07 08:05
RAM comes in so many variations that it can be confusing. I bought some Patriot DDR3-1600 RAM a few weeks ago, but I had to send it back because it was crashing the AMD A8-3850 system that I installed it into. The replacement RAM came and it did the same thing. By disabling "Load Line Calibration" I was able to make the system run on stock settings only. When I decided to try some GSKill RipJaws DDR3-1600 in the same system, it worked perfectly and I was able to get a 600MHz OC out of it with full stability.
The Patriot RAM worked just as well in an Intel box that I had. It can be a real crap-shoot picking out RAM to use.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3Adrian 2011-11-14 09:43
Sorry to complain but the charts on this review are most unclear. It is very difficult to determine which memory is which because the color coding is not referenced back to the memory brands and speeds so having three at 1866Mhz doesn't tell you much - can you update and clarify it would really help.

Thanks
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter