Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3
VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Austin Downing   
Wednesday, 28 September 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3
Closer Look: VisionTek 1866MHz DDR3
RAM Testing and Results
Synthetic Benchmarks
Application Benchmark
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Synthetic Benchmarks

Benchmark Reviews users synthetic benchmarks to more effectively show difference between the hardware being tested. These tests are very sensitive to the most minor changes and therefore can highlight the performance difference that exist between different sets of RAM.

AIDA64.png

AIDA64 provides a benchmarking tool that scales well with speed but unfortunately does not respond nearly as well to tightening timings. Due to this the Ultimate Performance 1866MHz 10-10-10-24 kit performs 5.3% better than the more expensive Mushkin 1600MHz 7-9-8-24 kit in the Read benchmark at 21383MB/s.

MaxxMEM.png

One of our newest benchmarking applications MaxxMEM2 provides results that are more responsive to speed changes rather than tightening of timings. Compared to the Mushkin 1600MHz 7-9-8-24 kit the Ultimate Performance kit has 5.7% more read bandwidth at 22084MB/s and a 5.3% better memory score at 22350MB/s.

SiSandra.png

Using STREAM SiSoft's Sandra provides a near linear performance increase as the speed of RAM increases. Due to this the VisionTek 1866MHz 10-10-10-24 kit scores show an increase of 12.2% compared to our stock 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 kit.



 

Comments 

 
# RAMRealNeil 2011-10-07 08:05
RAM comes in so many variations that it can be confusing. I bought some Patriot DDR3-1600 RAM a few weeks ago, but I had to send it back because it was crashing the AMD A8-3850 system that I installed it into. The replacement RAM came and it did the same thing. By disabling "Load Line Calibration" I was able to make the system run on stock settings only. When I decided to try some GSKill RipJaws DDR3-1600 in the same system, it worked perfectly and I was able to get a 600MHz OC out of it with full stability.
The Patriot RAM worked just as well in an Intel box that I had. It can be a real crap-shoot picking out RAM to use.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: VisionTek Ultimate Performance 1866Mhz DDR3Adrian 2011-11-14 09:43
Sorry to complain but the charts on this review are most unclear. It is very difficult to determine which memory is which because the color coding is not referenced back to the memory brands and speeds so having three at 1866Mhz doesn't tell you much - can you update and clarify it would really help.

Thanks
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter