Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Motherboards arrow MSI A75MA-G55 AMD FM1 Llano Motherboard
MSI A75MA-G55 AMD FM1 Llano Motherboard E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Motherboards
Written by Hank Tolman   
Sunday, 11 September 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
MSI A75MA-G55 AMD FM1 Llano Motherboard
Closer Look: MSI A75MA-G55
MSI A75MA-G55 Detailed Features
AMD A-Series A75 Fusion Chipset
MSI A75MA-G55 Specifications
Testing and Results
AIDA64 Extreme Edition v1.1 Benchmarks
Passmark PerformanceTest
3DMark Vantage DX10 Benchmark Tests
3DMark Vantage DX10 Benchmark Tests
PCMark Vantage Benchmark Tests
SiSoftware Sandra
Cinebench R11.5 Benchmarks
DX10 and DX11 Gaming Benchmarks
Video Transcoding Tests
A8-3850 Overclocking, Power, and Temperature
MSI A75MA-G55 Motherboard Conclusion

Testing and Results

Before I begin any benchmarking or overclocking, I thoroughly stress the CPU and memory by running Prime95 on all available cores, normally for 12 hours. In this review I stressed them for 6 hours. If no errors are found, I move on to a gaming stress test. To do this, I use Prime95 again to stress the processor, while running an instance of FurMark's stability test on top of this. If the computer survives this test for 2 hours without lockup or corruption, I consider it to be stable and ready for overclocking. After achieving what I feel is stable overclock, I run to these tests again for certainty. The goal of this stress testing is to ensure the clock speeds and settings are stable before performing any benchmarks. I adopted this method from another writer here at Benchmark Reviews and it seems to do a great job of flushing out what only seem to be stable overclocks.

MSI_A75MA_G55_Angle1.jpg

Once the hardware is prepared, we begin our testing. Each benchmark test program begins after a system restart, and the very first result for every test will be ignored since it often only caches the test. This process proves extremely important in many gaming benchmarks, as the first run serves to cache maps allowing subsequent tests to perform much better than the first. Each test is completed five times, with the average results displayed in our article.

AMD FM1 A-Series Platform

  • Motherboard: MSI A75MA-G55
  • Motherboard: ASUS F1A75-M PRO
  • Processor: 2.9GHz AMD A-Series A8-3850 APU ($135 MSRP)
  • CPU Cooler: Scythe Mugen II
  • System Memory: 2x2GB Patriot Gamer Series DDR3
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD
  • Power Supply Unit: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Graphics Adapter: APU Radeon HD 6650D; ASUS GT430 (Forceware 275.50)

Intel H67 Test Platforms

  • Motherboard: Intel DH67BL with BIOS 1596
  • Processor: 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo) Intel Core i5-2500K ($225)
  • CPU Cooler: Scythe Yasya
  • System Memory: 2x2GB Patriot Gamer Series DDR3 (1333MHz@7-7-7-21)
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD
  • Power Supply Unit: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Graphics Adapter: MSI NVIDIA GTS450 Cyclone (Forceware 260.99)

Intel P67 Test Platform

  • Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3
  • Processor: 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo) Intel Core i5-2500K
  • CPU Cooler: Scythe Yasya
  • System Memory: 2x2GB Patriot Gamer Series DDR3
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD
  • Power Supply Unit: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Graphics Adapter: MSI Radeon HD 6870 Twin Frozr III (Catalyst Control Center 11.5)

Intel X58 Test Platform

  • Motherboard: MSI X58 Pro LGA1366 Intel X58 ATX
  • Processor: 2.66GHz Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield/Nehalem BX80601920 ($280)
  • CPU Cooler: Scythe Mugen II
  • System Memory: Kingston 6GB (3 x 2GB) KVR1333D3K3/6GR DDR3 1333MHz (PC3 10666) (CL7-7-7-20)
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD
  • Power Supply Unit: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Graphics Adapter: MSI NVIDIA GTS450 Cyclone (Forceware 260.99)

AMD 890GX Test Platform

  • Motherboard: Biostar TA890GXB-HD (890GX/SB850)
  • Processor: 3.6GHz AMD Phenom-II X4-980BE HDZ980FBK4DGM (MSRP $195)
  • Processor: 3.6GHz AMD Phenom-II X4-975BE HDZ980FBK4DGM (MSRP $175)
  • Processor: 3.2GHZ AMD Phenom-II X4-840 HDX840WFK42GM (MSRP $105)
  • Processor: 3.3GHz AMD Phenom-II X2-560BE HDZ560WFK2DGM ($110)
  • Processor: 3.1GHz AMD Athlon-II X4-645 ADX645WFGMBOX ($110)
  • Processor: 3.1GHz AMD Athlon-II X3-445 ADX445WFK32GM (~$79)
  • Processor: 3.2GHz AMD Athlon-II X2-260 ADX260OCK23GM ($70)
  • CPU Cooler: Scythe Mugen II
  • System Memory: 2x2GB Patriot Gamer Series DDR3 (1333MHz@7-7-7-21)
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD
  • Power Supply Unit: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Graphics Adapter: MSI NVIDIA GTS450 Cyclone (Forceware 260.99)

AMD 990FX Test Platform

  • Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula (990FX/SB950)
  • Processor: 3.7GHz AMD Phenom-II X4-980BE HDZ980FBK4DGM
  • System Memory: 2x2GB Patriot Gamer Series DDR3
  • Primary Drive: Filemate Solid GO 60GB SSD
  • Power Supply Unit: Corsair CMPSU-850TX 850W 80-Plus Certified
  • Graphics Adapter: MSI Radeon HD 6870 Twin Frozr III (Catalyst Control Center 11.5)

Benchmark Applications

  • Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
  • AIDA64 Extreme Edition v1.1
  • PassMark PerformanceTest 7.0b1019
  • Futuremark 3DMark Vantage v1.0.1.0 64-Bit
  • Futuremark 3DMark 11 v
  • Futuremark PCMark Vantage v1.0.2.0 64-Bit
    • TV and Movies
    • Gaming
    • Music
  • SiSoftware Sandra 2010.1.16.92 CPU Test
  • Maxon CINEBENCH R11.5 64-Bit
  • Resident Evil 5 Benchmark
  • Lost Planet 2 Benchmark
  • ArcSoft MediaConverter 7 transcoding
  • Handbrake 0.94 video transcoding



 

Comments 

 
# RE: MSI A75MA-G55 AMD FM1 Llano MotherboardClaydough 2011-09-13 04:42
Per the ps2 not needed argument...
I thought 5 simultaneous button keyboard presses ( w + a movement + shift run with a spacebar jump fer instance ) were still only possible using a ps2 cable or adapter?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: MSI A75MA-G55 AMD FM1 Llano MotherboardClaydough 2011-09-13 04:43
-edit

oops meant 4 presses..
Report Comment
 
 
# I don't know.Hank 2011-09-13 07:09
If that is true, I will have to re-think my opinion. I do play games, after all, and that would certainly come in handy. I'll look into it and get back with you.
Report Comment
 
 
# 6KROHank 2011-09-13 15:13
Sooo.. It is true that USB Keyboards are limited to 6 simultaneous key presses. They are known as 6KRO (Key Roll Over). PS/2 Keyboards are known as NKRO because there is no limit to the amount of keys that can be pressed at the same time and still register. Also, 6KRO USB Keyboards are limited to 4 modifier keys out of the 6 that can be pressed simultaneously. Modifier keys are alt, ctrl, shift, etc. They modify what the next key press does.

So, in that case, my opinion still stands. Even gaming, I'm not sure when I would push more than 6 keys at a time and I'm relatively sure I've never used more than 3 modifier keys at once.

Also, PS/2 keyboards have other limitations. Sure, you can press 188 keys at once, but you can't use a function key. Also, any of those specialty keys, mostly used for media functions, won't be found on a PS/2 keyboard. Oh, and those gaming keyboards? Forget about it.

-Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# ghostingclaydough 2011-09-14 19:24
Researching myself, besides an interesting debate with the mechanical keyboard-centric purist @ geekHack:
#geekhack.org/showthread.php?5572-USB-vs-Ps2-Keyboards/page3
Where the consensus seems to be that ps2 polling is less intrusive, potentially less cpu intensive and in the end more responsive...
The ghosting problems ( multi-button rollover fail ). Doesn't seem to be limited to USB anyway. My sidewinderx6 seems to behave with most all my important navigation combinations cept for ctrl failing with certain combinations. ( in which case the ability to map crouch to at least press on/off is greatly appreciated ) But then again I found A ps2 version of intellipoint Pro that I might try morrow. But again ghosting seems to be a problem anyway with any given keyboard whether it's Supposed to support at least 6 rollover keys or not. :-(
Neat geekHacks thread read either way.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: MSI A75MA-G55 AMD FM1 Llano MotherboardTino 2011-12-17 18:31
Great review.

I couldn't find if the DVI port is Single-link or Dual-link. It doesn't say in the MSI's page.
Ive got a Dell U2711 (2560x1440), and I need a mobo with DVI-DL or DisplayPort to use it in native resolution. HDMI or DVI-SL only shows 1920x1080.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: MSI A75MA-G55 AMD FM1 Llano MotherboardTino 2011-12-17 18:35
About the FIS Switching, is necessary for using eSATA docks like TT BlacX Duet. Without FIS, you can use one port only (unless you use the USB 2.0 interface).
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: MSI A75MA-G55 AMD FM1 Llano MotherboardFred 2012-10-08 18:10
regarding the FIS switching the review says that the A75 FCH can utilize FIS based switching but the A55 cannot.
anybody know what the best graphics card works with an A6-3550 soon to be upgraded to an A8-3870 and what the benifits are to do dual graphics?
Report Comment
 
 
# Apu `s and the a75 mbA6 6530d liano owner 2013-09-26 13:27
i am very happy i bought the buldozer Apu a6 its an monster al the new series Apus are stabalized core mine is still more powerfull then the current a 10 buldozer its powerfull but its stabalized and easyer to un lock if mine is fully unlocked then i need to sit on my system cuase it will fly away did an bench mark and came to my discovery tha it has cntrole mannidgeable self sutain system it means 12 core cluster of 5.8 ghz 8 for power 4 for distrubution controle to keep eth other 8 in check

i peaked over 72.0000 mhz an sec per core cluster not funny i can run 32x multyplyer and then its stable enough to do some bad as ripping it whas faster then the i7 pentuim and i9 had serious trouble its an awsomecombination this a75 chipset with the first gen a6 liano i can push it to 3.8 in optimalisation if i go water cooling i push 5.8 could go to 6.2 but thats dangerously risky just with the right tuning that system just uses his fins thill 3.8 and it wont get higher then 75 degrees i find that verry impressiv i down graded it to respectfull 3.2 thats perfect for gaming blew 3 gddr5 graphics cards in the last 2 years this year in doing it right shuff in 4 x 8 gb mem 2200 mhz heh and and decent expensive grahics card and am contend for the next 15 years
its has capabillaty of 64ggb memory insurtion

thats some bad as power and my mb has 2 x pci xpress 16x slots and 2 regular and the 6gb works like an charm no delays for some on that wants to buld an good pc for low costs this is it defently
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter