Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cooling arrow NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU Cooler
NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU Cooler E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cooling
Written by David Ramsey   
Tuesday, 16 August 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU Cooler
Closer Look: NZXT HAVIK 140
HAVIK 140 Detailed Features
Heat Sink Test Methodology
Testing and Results
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

HAVIK 140 Detailed Features

The NZXT HAVIK 140's fans are attached with unique rubber bands. The bands are designed so the part that inserts into the fan also serves as padding between the fan and the heat sink fins for noise reduction. The push-through connectors at the ends of the rubber bands are too thick to push through standard fan mounting holes, so if you want to use other fans, you'll have to come up with your own mounting solution. The tension of the rubber fan mounts bends the bottom fins of the heat sink in slightly.

nzxt_havik_140_fan_attach.jpg

This view shows the HAVIK's unusual staggered heat pipe arrangement.

nzxt_havik_140_side_bottom.jpg

The HAVIK's backplate fits all Intel and AMD sockets the heat sink supports. You push mounting screws through the plastic friction plates which hold them in place. The black plastic friction plates are removed for AMD installations.

nzxt_havik_140_intel_backplate.jpg

Friction-fit black plastic spacers push over the backplate screws as they protrude through the motherboard. Most other coolers would use screws here, but it's not necessary and the push-on spacers make it quick and easy to secure the backplate for the next step. The protruding screws locate two mounting brackets (helpfully stamped with arrows that point towards the processor), which are in turn secured with knurled nuts. Note the screw post in the center of the bracket: this is that the heat sink's mounting crossbar will be secured to.

nzxt_havik_140_mounting1.jpg

A separate crossbar fits over the base of the heat sink and screws down to the posts on the mounting brackets. A rather strong spring under the crossbar's mounting screw (not visible in this image) provides the clamping pressure, and although NZXT doesn't specify this pressure, it seems like quite a lot. This mounting mechanism is mechanically very similar to the ones used by other high-end heat sinks such as the Prolimatech Megahalems.

nzxt_havik_140_mounted.jpg

Installed and ready for testing, the HAVIK in this orientation does cover the first RAM slot in my ASUS Sabertooth X58 motherboard. It covers the first RAM slot when mounted with the fans blowing front-to-back, too.

nzxt_havik_140_installed.jpg

OK, let's see how NZXT's first CPU cooler performs.



 

Comments 

 
# RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerRobert17 2011-08-16 18:01
Nice review David. It parallels other reviews I've read; I'm shopping.

Since you follow the cooling market well, is there anything on the horizon from the cooler manufacturers you're aware of that I may want to hold out for? I've got some fairly ambitious plans for the next 6-9 months involving a new build/upgrade, however it best works out. The future of coolers isn't as well reported as the future of CPUs and MBs.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerOlin Coles 2011-08-16 18:33
Since David gets his projects from me, I'll chime in: nothing new to has been offered to us. So that you know, most projects get a 2-3 week lead before they're published. About the only time we here of new projects that we're not reviewing is through press release or trade show.
Report Comment
 
 
# Heat Sinked!Derek 2011-08-25 00:23
Hi Guys,

What setting did you use to overclock and overvolted your Core i7-950 I used in your heat sink test machine? As I have the same!!

Derek
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Heat Sinked!David Ramsey 2011-08-25 08:58
Derek, the settings I used for the overclocks in my tests are in each heat sink review, on the page titled "Heat Sink Test Methodology". In this case I set the BCLK to 175mHz and the voltage to 1.35V. YMMV.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerDoug Dallam 2011-08-25 00:55
David, nice clear review. Thanks for your efforts.

I almost didn't read this, one, becasue I'm not on the market for a cooler, and two, I know about how these fans in this area will fall out. I wasn't surprised here, except that how poorly the NZXT fan really performed compared to its cost and its fugliness.

As far as temperature goes, it performed great, since all of the temps you recorded were very low, and so all of the coolers you tested are doing a good job of heat dissipation. So where does this leave a buyer? Looking at cost and design. This thing looks like something out of a Steam Punk photo contest at Deviant Art.

On the subject a little, I'm wondering why my 3.8Ghz clocked 920 only uses 1.264 volts under load? My last mother board was the Gigabyte UD5 Extreme rev 1 and I had to run the core voltage w here you have yours, maybe even 1.38 if, I remember correctly. With the new Extreme UD 5 rev2, I'm only using 1.264v and just as stable. That equates to about a 10C drop in heat for me too. Why do you think that is?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerDavid Ramsey 2011-08-25 09:01
Good question re your different voltage settings. The Gigabyte board might have better voltage regulation, so that there's less VDROOP under load. But bear in mind that my heat sink test machine settings are designed to produce about as much heat as possible; I might be able to run the 950 at that speed at a lower voltage than I'm using.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerDoug Dallam 2011-08-25 14:48
That would be interesting to see what voltage you could run stable at. Instead of messing with the voltage manually, when I switched boards, I just left it on auto (I think). And, it worked. I was pretty amazed.
Report Comment
 
 
# mrsSNOWHITE 2011-09-20 11:22
I returned this unit after less than a wek as it had a concave base.
Checked this using a steel straight edge and seen light through it in both directions.
Need i say that my temperatures increased using this.
The rubber band fan mounts were terrible to fit in my very large case.
Glad to get rid of if and would Not recommend
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerSteve 2012-04-22 22:03
The thing I find most troubling about reading reviews is that several seemingly unbiased sites get such radically different results from their testing. Several other testers got much better results out of this cooler than you did.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter