Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cooling arrow NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU Cooler
NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU Cooler E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cooling
Written by David Ramsey   
Tuesday, 16 August 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU Cooler
Closer Look: NZXT HAVIK 140
HAVIK 140 Detailed Features
Heat Sink Test Methodology
Testing and Results
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Closer Look: NZXT HAVIK 140

NZXT presents the HAVIK 140 in a plain white box that showcases the cooler's unusual fan blade design.

nzxt_havik_140_box.jpg

The box contains the bare heat sink, two 140mm fans, a Y-cable so that both fans can be powered from a single 3-pin header, and the mounting hardware for AMD and Intel sockets in resealable plastic bags. The fans are not PWM-controlled, which is disappointing, especially at this price level, but at least their power cables are sleeved.

nzxt_havik_140_accessories.jpg

The heat sink is comprised of 46 fins pierced by 6 nickel plated copper heat pipes. Two 140mm fans, each rated at just over 90CFM, provide a "push-pull" airflow through the heat sink.

nzxt_havik_140_side_bare.jpg

With the oversized 140mm fans attached, the HAVIK 140 is ready for action. NZXT claims the unusual design of the fan blades helps reduce noise and improve airflow.

nzxt_havik_140_front_fans.jpg

The top of the cooler is plain aluminum, without any embossed logos or plastic shrouds. For the price, it seems odd that NZXT didn't take the opportunity to brand the cooler in a way that would be visible in a windowed case.

nzxt_havik_140_top_fans3.jpg

The base of the HAVIK 140 isn't a mirror finish, but the surface graining is too fine to be felt with a fingernail.

nzxt_havik_140_base2.jpg

Let's take a closer look and then mount this cooler.



 

Comments 

 
# RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerRobert17 2011-08-16 18:01
Nice review David. It parallels other reviews I've read; I'm shopping.

Since you follow the cooling market well, is there anything on the horizon from the cooler manufacturers you're aware of that I may want to hold out for? I've got some fairly ambitious plans for the next 6-9 months involving a new build/upgrade, however it best works out. The future of coolers isn't as well reported as the future of CPUs and MBs.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerOlin Coles 2011-08-16 18:33
Since David gets his projects from me, I'll chime in: nothing new to has been offered to us. So that you know, most projects get a 2-3 week lead before they're published. About the only time we here of new projects that we're not reviewing is through press release or trade show.
Report Comment
 
 
# Heat Sinked!Derek 2011-08-25 00:23
Hi Guys,

What setting did you use to overclock and overvolted your Core i7-950 I used in your heat sink test machine? As I have the same!!

Derek
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Heat Sinked!David Ramsey 2011-08-25 08:58
Derek, the settings I used for the overclocks in my tests are in each heat sink review, on the page titled "Heat Sink Test Methodology". In this case I set the BCLK to 175mHz and the voltage to 1.35V. YMMV.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerDoug Dallam 2011-08-25 00:55
David, nice clear review. Thanks for your efforts.

I almost didn't read this, one, becasue I'm not on the market for a cooler, and two, I know about how these fans in this area will fall out. I wasn't surprised here, except that how poorly the NZXT fan really performed compared to its cost and its fugliness.

As far as temperature goes, it performed great, since all of the temps you recorded were very low, and so all of the coolers you tested are doing a good job of heat dissipation. So where does this leave a buyer? Looking at cost and design. This thing looks like something out of a Steam Punk photo contest at Deviant Art.

On the subject a little, I'm wondering why my 3.8Ghz clocked 920 only uses 1.264 volts under load? My last mother board was the Gigabyte UD5 Extreme rev 1 and I had to run the core voltage w here you have yours, maybe even 1.38 if, I remember correctly. With the new Extreme UD 5 rev2, I'm only using 1.264v and just as stable. That equates to about a 10C drop in heat for me too. Why do you think that is?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerDavid Ramsey 2011-08-25 09:01
Good question re your different voltage settings. The Gigabyte board might have better voltage regulation, so that there's less VDROOP under load. But bear in mind that my heat sink test machine settings are designed to produce about as much heat as possible; I might be able to run the 950 at that speed at a lower voltage than I'm using.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerDoug Dallam 2011-08-25 14:48
That would be interesting to see what voltage you could run stable at. Instead of messing with the voltage manually, when I switched boards, I just left it on auto (I think). And, it worked. I was pretty amazed.
Report Comment
 
 
# mrsSNOWHITE 2011-09-20 11:22
I returned this unit after less than a wek as it had a concave base.
Checked this using a steel straight edge and seen light through it in both directions.
Need i say that my temperatures increased using this.
The rubber band fan mounts were terrible to fit in my very large case.
Glad to get rid of if and would Not recommend
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: NZXT HAVIK 140 CPU CoolerSteve 2012-04-22 22:03
The thing I find most troubling about reading reviews is that several seemingly unbiased sites get such radically different results from their testing. Several other testers got much better results out of this cooler than you did.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter