Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow Mushkin Redline Enhanced 2133MHz DDR3 Memory
Mushkin Redline Enhanced 2133MHz DDR3 Memory E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Austin Downing   
Wednesday, 27 July 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Mushkin Redline Enhanced 2133MHz DDR3 Memory
Closer Look: Mushkin Enhanced Redline 2133Mhz
RAM Testing and Results
Synthetic Benchmarks
Application Benchmark
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Mushkin Enhanced Redline 2133Mhz Final Thoughts

For enthusiasts RAM is an important component in getting every sliver of performance out of their system. Fortunately for those users Mushkin Enhanced has just what they need with their Redline 2133Mhz 9-11-10-28 kit. It provides 24.5% more bandwidth in our SiSoft's Sandra memory benchmark compared to the 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24 kit. Real world this translates to an 11% boost in compression performance when compared to the same kit. At the same time utilizing the Frostbyte heat spreader this kit looks great in users system and will easily fit under even the largest of coolers with its 1.45" size. This all comes wrapped up in a beautiful red finish that looks great in a multitude of systems. Just adding to this is the fact that Mushkin Enhanced stands behind this kit enough to provide a lifetime warranty if things were to ever go belly up.

Unfortunately the Mushkin Enhanced Redline 2133Mhz kit is not perfect. While running our Memtest86+ against the memory at the speeds specified by the XMP profiles we ran into problems in the form of massive amounts of error. This was easily rectified by keeping the same timings but loosening the command rate from 1T to 2T. I understand that this kit is running right at the edge of what Intel's P67 chipset can handle so your mileage may vary, still it was disconcerting to see this.

Mushkin_Redline_Enhanced_2133MHz_6.jpg

Mushkin Enhaned Redline 2133Mhz Conclusion

Needless to say the Redline 2133Mhz 9-11-10-28 kit performs great. It easily stayed ahead of its competition in each of the benchmarks it was given both synthetic and real world. Although this will not be perceivable in gaming other applications such as photo editing, compression, and simulation will show benefit in using this very quick kit of memory.

The Redline 2133Mhz 9-11-10-28 kit with Mushkin Enhanced's proprietary Frostbyte heat spreader looks great. This heat spreader is then covered in great looking, well done, and perfectly finished coat of metallic red paint. It all comes together to make a very slick looking package that looks great in a enthusiests system.

The Redline 2133Mhz kit is well built with each stick of memory having a decent amount of heft to it. This ends up giving off the impression that this kit is designed to last, and apparently Mushkin Enhanced feels the same way providing a lifetime warranty to owners of this kit.

Functionality is all about being able to perform at the specified speed and timing set by the manufacture. Unfortunately the Redline 2133Mhz 9-11-10-28 kits falls slightly short of this because it is unable to perform at the specified XMP profile using a 1T command rate without being very unstable and throwing out all kind of errors within Memtest86+. This can be rectified by increasing the command rate to 2T. Still it should be on the mind of those buying this RAM that running at the edge of what the P67 chipset is designed to handle may require some manual settings in order to get system stability.

When compared to the sub $60 8GB kits on the market the Redline 2133Mhz 9-11-10-28 kit is expensive at $145.99 at Amazon. Still compared to days of old when prices of RAM where down right outrageous the fact that we are paying less than $200 for 8GB kit of memory that is rated at over 2133Mhz is acceptable. To top it off you get a lifetime warranty with it something that many people would be willing to pay for.

For users wanting to get every last bit of performance out of their P67 system I would easily recommend the Mushkin Enhanced Redline 2133Mhz 9-11-10-28 kit. It provides solid performance, while looking great, and users will be able to rest assured that they will be taken care of with the lifetime warranty that Mushkin Enhanced provides with this kit. In the end we award Mushkin Enhanced's Redline 2133Mhz 9-11-10-28 kit the Benchmark Reviews Golden Tachometer for outstanding performance.

Pros:Benchmark Reviews Golden Tachometer Award

+ Top our charts for performance on the P67 chipset
+ Great looking appearance
+ Short enough to fit under most heatsinks
+ Lifetime Warrrenty
+ Well priced for a 2133Mhz kit

Cons:

- Had to loosen command rate from 1T to 2T to pass Memtest 86+
- Gaming will not see a benefit from the extra bandwidth

Ratings:

  • Performance: 9.75
  • Appearance: 9.25
  • Construction: 9.50
  • Functionality: 8.00
  • Value: 9.00

Final Score: 9.1 out of 10.

Questions? Comments? Benchmark Reviews really wants your feedback. We invite you to leave your remarks in our Discussion Forum.


Related Articles:


 

Comments 

 
# WHY NOT USE NEW AMD SETUP?James Smith 2011-08-02 01:27
Why didn't You use the new AMD A8-3850 APU set up? It probably could have used the extra bandwidth in Gaming ,etc?
Report Comment
 
 
# Whyrealneil 2011-08-02 07:12
^~Why didn't you test it at 47MPH in a Bentley with Grey Poupon spread all over it?~^

I have 16GB of this RAM in my newest i7-2600K build. I'm not over clocking it all, (yet) but I find it to be quite stable for me using the XMP Profile.
But,.....my GSKill branded DDR3-1600 gives me the same experience (or 'feel') when gaming with my i7-870 system.
I bought this Mushkin because many people were crowing about it in reviews here and there, but I don't think it's necessary unless you're trying to break records.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: WhyAustin Downing 2011-08-02 07:54
Thank you Neil, I didn't test it in a new AMD system because I do not have a new AMD system. More importantly just as many people will be buying a new Intel system and perhaps they would have liked to see their performance differences. The world does not revolve around you.

All of my other kits have been very stable. I am even running a 16GB of 1866Mhz in my 4.7Ghz 2500k system. (my daily computer I might add) But once you start getting to the highest speed that SB is designed to take it is understandable to have some problems.
Report Comment
 
 
# Déjà Vurealneil 2011-08-03 07:32
I'm a mod on another hardware site and I see "Why didn't you" posts all of the time. People sometimes don't realize that it's hard to get a hold of samples for testing purposes. If you say something negative about a product, the manufacturer will sometimes lock you out, and stop sending you any samples to test, just to 'punish' you.
Unless you have very deep pockets, it's hard to test it all, every time.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: WhyOlin Coles 2011-08-02 08:04
@James: If we provide you with the shipping address for our staff, would you kindly donate the new AMD A8-3850 APU to them? I promise they'll use it in all of their testing.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Mushkin Redline Enhanced 2133MHz DDR3 MemoryJames Smith 2011-08-02 08:05
Hey Austin , If You are going to be a Reviewer on a REVIEW site ,Maybe You should get both an AMD and Intel system , Thanks for trying to make it a personal attack on me , I'll be unsubscribing to reward You for that! #GFY
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Mushkin Redline Enhanced 2133MHz DDR3 MemoryOlin Coles 2011-08-02 08:08
@James: since you've unsubscribed, I doubt you'll be reading this. However, in the event you're still curious, consider that perhaps your thankless comment was an attack on his work, and a rather selfish request on top of that. Hardly anyone has the latest platforms, so we test for the largest segment of the enthusiast population.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Mushkin Redline Enhanced 2133MHz DDR3 MemoryJames Smith 2011-08-02 08:13
Say Olin , Big Time REVIEW Sites (Apparently this isn't one of them) have Intel and AMD "lend" them a system to test components on OR they Buy One.For example, have You seen "Tom's Hardware" review website?, they are very professional ,they don't personally attack readers for offering constructive advice and they don't beg readers for computers to test on.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Mushkin Redline Enhanced 2133MHz DDR3 MemoryAustin Downing 2011-08-02 08:21
So you want to compare us to Tom's Hardware do you? Good thing I read most of the major tech sites out there so I can compare our articles.

First article from Tom's Hardware using only P67

##tomshardware.com/reviews/corsair-vengeance-crucial-ballistix-kingston-hyperX,2907.html

Second Article only using a P55 system.

##tomshardware.com/reviews/dual-channel-ram-ddr3-4gb,2618-6.html

Third Article only using a P55 System

##tomshardware.com/reviews/8gb-ddr3-ram,2542-7.html

What was that about using both systems on Tom's Hardware you where talking about?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Mushkin Redline Enhanced 2133MHz DDR3 MemoryJames Smith 2011-08-02 08:26
I'll bet Tom's Hardware will do a follow up with AMD hardware ,they are very good at that AND Again they don't personally attack readers for constructive advice. GOOD-BYE!
Report Comment
 
 
# don johnsondon jonson 2011-08-02 10:07
nerd rage........oh teh lolz
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: don johnsonOlin Coles 2011-08-02 10:12
Yep. I especially loved how James compared Benchmark Reviews with Tom's Hardware. Little does he know that BmR is about a dozen enthusiasts who work without manufacturer bias, and Tom's is an international corporation with a dozen offices across the globe and huge advertising contracts.
Report Comment
 
 
# details?Billy Beaker 2011-08-03 07:25
where are the SPD ratings?
where are the XMP ratings?
what about testing with 1.5v at lower speeds?

seems like this is seriously lacking
Report Comment
 
 
# Wrong datasalmanshah 2011-10-14 13:37
The image provided are of gskill Rams.

#benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=771&Itemid=23&limit=1&limitstart=4
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Wrong dataOlin Coles 2011-10-14 13:43
Huh? The link is ALSO from a G.Skill review. I'm not sure why you're posting on a different review.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter