Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cases arrow Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer Case
Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer Case E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cases
Written by Marc Fruchtman - Edited by Olin Coles   
Tuesday, 28 June 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer Case
Closer Look: Burton Exterior
Detailed Exterior Features
Closer Look: GS-6500 Interior
Detailed Interior Features
Sentey Burton Final Thoughts
Burton GS-6500 Conclusion

Detailed Exterior Features

The GS-6500 is manufactured using SECC steel, meaning that it is protected from rust and corrosion by an electro-galvanizing process. The molded plastic parts felt solid and had a very nice finish.

Sentey_Burton_Case_R_A_003.jpg

All of the steel was painted black with an extremely glossy finish. The case covers can be a little bit tight when trying to close them, especially from this right side as shown here, but the latching mechanism gives a solid lock in place feel.

Sentey_Burton_Case_Top_Jacks_002.jpg

The top tray houses the card reader, shown here with a much better view. This top tray really looks great in the dark with the LEDs, and Sentey deserves praise for this. However, a couple of USB 3.0 ports would have been nice here.

Sentey_Burton_Case_L_Vent_001.jpg

This is the decorative left vent cover. A screwdriver is required to remove this from the left case cover so that you can reach the filter. Also, the large outer slits, though attractive, will allow air to bypass the filter completely.

Sentey_Burton_Case_Bezel_DVD_002.jpg

Here's the DVD/CD cover exposed to show the spring and internal mechanism. So, essentially, your DVD player mounts in the usual way, and the door cover attached to the bezel overlays the DVD player. Pressing the button at the bottom right of the cover, mechanically presses the DVD button, and opens the cover. The spring mounted to the door allows it to automatically close once the tray is retracted. The push button covers can be removed, for those users who dislike the idea of a messing with an added door mechanism.

Sentey_Burton_Case_R_Bottom_Int_002.jpg

Here we see the bottom of the case at an angle. The underside of the Sentey Burton is completely painted. The mounting feet are sufficiently tall enough to leave space to allow the PSU fan to vent properly on an even surface, but might not be tall enough for shag carpet.



 

Comments 

 
# never heard of this company beforeendocine 2011-06-29 02:40
What a strange name for a company, and the case seems more like a budget oriented box. I probably would have given it a 2.5 for appearance.
Report Comment
 
 
# Sentey is kinda newRobert17 2011-06-29 04:45
Nice review Marc. I think Sentey is a newer player in the case market as I haven't heard of them before late last year; their web site doesn't offer much history either. But from what I've seen in the way of reviews of their products they are serious about their work.

Kudos for your "fan theory" as well. Most folks aren't overly math conscience and this is appreciated.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Sentey is kinda newDoug Dallam 2011-07-13 23:47
Yeah the fan area compared to single large or smaller multiple is a good call.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer Casedlb 2011-06-29 20:11
Sentey is indeed a newer player in case market; they've been around for about 12-18 months, maybe more.... nice review here! Not my taste in PC cases, but a good review none-the-less... one question:

What's the CPU cooler used in the build? It kind of looks like a Scythe cooler of some type... if I missed it somewhere in the review, I apologize ;)
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer CaseMononymous 2011-06-29 22:44
how is this beautiful?... it's like HAF but not as chunky
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer CaseMACK 2011-06-30 11:54
Its a Scythe Mugen 3. No formal testing was done using that cooler. The CPU is an Intel Xeon E3-1235 Sandy Bridge @ 3.2GHz
I actually ran it idle for most of the pics without the fan because one of the brackets that holds the fan on the Mugen broke. Later, I had to rig a mounting bracket.

Re: the exterior of the case, man, that is really subjective... All I can say is it looks great for me especially in the dark, so you can see the blue lights. But, it looks best with the left case cover off.

I gave it a high score for looks, but if you say... drop the looks score down to 8.25, then that drops the whole case down a notch.

That's why I always recommend your weighing your own personal values, into the score...
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer CaseDoug Dallam 2011-07-13 23:45
Nice, complete, clear review. This case has some nice innovations, like that top bay cover. The plastic pins for the HD suck. What were they thinking? Now if they were made of nylon, they'd probably last forever and it would have been fine. But plastic? Also confusing is the 80mm fans that you point out. Huh? What were they thinking, indeed. No USB 3.0 port. Go figure. It's a nice case though, except the outside looks like an "Alien" of the "Alien" series movies that got his balls cut off and a buzz cut. lol
Report Comment
 
 
# Need to knowticonic 2011-08-03 14:03
Will the asus gforce gtx 580 rog matrix graphics card fit into the sentey gs 6500 burton full tower case.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer CaseMack 2011-08-03 18:32
"space for expansion cards which measured 13 5/8? (346.08mm) with a simple measuring tape from the backplate to the drive cage."

Dimension per ASUS: 11.5 " x 5 " Inch

Should be more than enough for it.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Sentey Burton GS-6500 Computer Casemaria 2013-05-02 16:17
First time I seen of this computer I'll consider buying one
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter