Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow Mushkin Ridgeback Redline Enhanced DDR3
Mushkin Ridgeback Redline Enhanced DDR3 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Austin Downing   
Saturday, 09 July 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Mushkin Ridgeback Redline Enhanced DDR3
Closer Look: Mushkin Enhanced Redline 1600Mhz
RAM Testing and Results
Synthetic Benchmarks
Application Benchmarks
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Mushkin Redline Final Thoughts

RAM is one of the basic components of any computer and Mushkin Enhanced's Redline 1600Mhz 7-8-7-24 kit will gladly fill that role in any enthusiast computer. This kit provides a boost in performance in compression and simulation where the tighter 7-8-7-24 timings shine. This allows this 1600Mhz kit to keep up and even surpass its faster 1866Mhz brothers. All of this is wrapped up in a beautiful, well-constructed, matte red heat spreader that will look great in the Plexiglas side of a enthusiast system. All of these benefits are backed by Mushkin Enhanced's lifetime warranty.

Unfortunately this kit is not perfect. The price of this kit is around 22% more expensive than the similarly performing 1866Mhz kits while the performance gap between the two is at most 2.2%. Secondly although nice looking and only 1.75" tall the heat spreader used may still get in the way of larger tower heatsinks on the market something that potential buyers should be aware of.

Mushkin_Enhanced_Redline_1600Mhz_Ridgeback_6.jpg

Redline 1600Mhz DDR3 Conclusion

Mushkin Enhanced Redline 1600Mhz 7-8-7-24 kit performs admirably in real world test keeping up with and even surpassing the faster 1866Mhz kits in certain circumstances, and when it comes to our Euler3D benchmark it adds 10% performance increase compared to our 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24 kit.

The Ridgeback heat spreader used looks stunning and along with the matte red paint that Mushkin elected to use makes for a beautiful kit of RAM. Of the RAM I have benchmarked I would have to put the Redline Ridgeback at one of my top five designs.

The Redline 1600Mhz kit is very well constructed weighing more than any RAM kit I have tested before. It feels extremely sturdy and well made. Even more importantly Mushkin Enhanced stands behind their memory and provides a lifetime warranty to all users.

Functionality is all about a memory kit's ability to perform as advertised. I was able to easily run Mushkin Enhanced's 1600Mhz 7-8-7-24 kit at the rated XMP profile with no errors within Memtest86+.

Priced at $133.99 on Newegg this kit is around $30 more expensive than a similarly performing 1866Mhz kit from many other manufactures. While this is definitely a tough pill to swallow it is made easier as this a low latency kit, with a very nice heat spreader on it, and a lifetime warranty to boot.

The Mushkin Enhanced 1600Mhz 7-8-7-24 performs superbly keeping up with and surpassing its fasters 1866Mhz brothers. At the same time it looks great, and has a lifetime warranty. Therefore Benchmark Reviews awards this kit our Golden Tachometer award.

Pros:Benchmark Reviews Golden Tachometer Award

+ Looks Great
+ Performs well even surpassing 1866Mhz kits in some real world tests
+ Short enough to fit under many different heatsinks
+ Well made with very sturdy feeling construction
+ Lifetime warrenty

Cons:

- More expensive then similarly performancing 1866Mhz kits
- Although nice looking large heat spreaders are unnecessary

Ratings:

  • Performance: 9.00
  • Appearance: 10.00
  • Construction: 9.50
  • Functionality: 9.00
  • Value: 8.50

Final Score: 9.2 out of 10.

Questions? Comments? Benchmark Reviews really wants your feedback. We invite you to leave your remarks in our Discussion Forum.


Related Articles:


 

Comments 

 
# Low CAS ImpactsJackNaylorPE 2011-07-14 09:06
There's an ole Anandtech article which shows some significant performance increases with low CAS RAM, even in games.....but it's minimum frame rates that shows the biggest impact, not average frame rates. My interest in RAM is for AutoDesk and other demanding apps but do manage to get some game time in.....minimum frame rates however is rarely a part of RAM tests ....

##anandtech.com/show/2792/12

22.3 % (SLI) increase in minimum frame rates w/ C6 instead of C8 in Far Cry 2
18% (single card) / 5% (SLI) increase in minimum frame rates w/ C6 instead of C8 in Dawn of War
15% (single card) / 5% (SLI) increase in minimum frame rates w/ C6 instead of C8 in World in Conflict

Also see ##bit-tech.net/hardware/memory/2011/01/11/the-best-memory-for-sandy-bridge/1

I would love to see how / if this carries over to today's systems .... Minimum frame rate impacts also also seems to be ignored in testing x8 x8 versus x16 x16
Report Comment
 
 
# @ JackNaylorPEGanjaSMK 2011-07-15 23:20
Real world performance differs greatly from generic and game benchmarking.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: @ JackNaylorPEAustin Downing 2011-07-16 12:52
That is very true, and something I try to show off in each of my reviews.
Report Comment
 
 
# Love mynGlamdring 2011-07-25 14:19
I love my Mushkin Redline series, except I got the set with the frostbyte cooler to save room for CPU cooler. I would recommend their products over and over again based on past experience.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter