Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory Kit
Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory Kit E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Austin Downing   
Sunday, 19 June 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory Kit
Closer Look: Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz
Corsair Vengeance Specifications
RAM Testing and Results
Synthetic Benchmarks
Application Benchmark
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

RAM Testing & Results

Testing Methodology

When testing RAM the preferred method is to remove as many bottlenecks as possible. This ensures that any changes in the benchmarks are dependent on the RAM that is being tested as much as possible. For this reason no games have been included because at the moment games are far more dependent on computers GPU's and CPU's, rather than their memory subsystems. Instead the tests used will be focused on being more memory intensive tasks such as fluid dynamics simulations, compression, and real-time rendering. These benchmarks will be run alongside traditional benchmarking tests that will scale more effectively with speed but will be an unrealistic indication of real world performance.

In order to test each RAM kit in the most effective fashion a multistep process was required. First in order to verify the advertised speed each set of RAM they will be initially run the Memtest86+ for one run. Once no errors are found, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit with all of the need tools will be loaded. In order to make sure that fluctuations in other subsystem do not influence the scores, each test will be run a total of three times. At the end of the benchmark the lowest score will be dropped and the final two tests scores will be averaged. The test being used for benchmarking will be as follows.

  • MaxxMEM2
  • SiSoft Sandra Light 64-bit
  • AIDA64
  • PCMARK Vantage
  • WinRAR
  • CINEBENCH R11.5
  • Euler 3D
CPU-Z_Speed.jpg

Test System

Memory Test

Also because each IC produced is slightly different and will have different overclocking characteristics any overclocking results obtained may vary from user's actual experience. In the end this means that spending the time to overclock our system memory will be unbeneficial to our readers and therefore will be omitted from the results except for in special cases, such as when a product is advertised as having a great amount of headroom.

We have recently introduced the Euler3D Computational Fluid Dynamics benchmark into our memory test suite and so I would like to give a small explanation as to what is being used. Our newest test simulates the fluid dynamics of a wing and therefore is very memory and CPU intensive. Each test is run and the final result is given in Hertz(Hz). For our purposes the final Hertz score is what will be used for comparing each set of memory to its competitors. It has been found that this benchmark is particularly sensitive to both memory speed and timing and therefore makes a perfect benchmark to add to Benchmark Reviews memory suite.



 

Comments 

 
# interestinganikhtos 2011-06-20 10:54
I always go for the tight timings instead of the higher freguensies.
it seems that synthetic benchmark love the frenguanse.
but normal aplication prefer the timings.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: interestingAustin Downing 2011-06-20 12:31
I am starting to see that, unfortunately fast RAM with tight timings costs a fortune.
Report Comment
 
 
# interestinganikhtos 2011-06-21 05:38
well the frequency show the maximum transfer rate available. when the timings how fast the memory can communicate with the rest components.
so higher timings means longer time to access memory. higher frequency means better transfer rate. so this 2 work the opposite. you need a lot of transfer rate increase to overcome the loss of the timing. so if applications like winrar that theoretical go faster with a faster transfer rate memory (all needed data loaded to memory compressed and sent to hard drive again, so faster ram better the time) love timings we can imagine what will happen to applications that are not that data dependent. like games that there can not be predicted the data needed to continue. thus loving timing.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory Kitcampdude 2011-06-21 17:17
I dont think i would get CL9 1866 mhz. You can easily find CL9 2000+ now no problem.
You cana lso get CL7 1600 mhz. 8 gig modules. Probably even cheaper than this stuff.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory KitAustin Downing 2011-06-21 17:18
The CL7 1600Mhz we have here is priced at around $130 on newegg.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory KitBryz 2011-06-21 21:28
CL9 2133 is also at newegg too its too easy to find yeah , However the value goes up if u can oc it some 2133 kits can go even higher again it depends on what you do if your just gaming ( AND NOTHING ELSE ) then get s 4 gig 1600 777 kit and dont waste your $$

If you do alot at once and are one of those ppl with 3d programs or your always downloading moving multitasking 50 tabs ect and doing allot more there is a difference i can tell u in quantity and stable (yet speedy times) 1866 999 is all around good. Nothing like taking a quick gaming break while keeping everything open and still seeing good frame rates at high settings.

The 1866 sniper BenchmarkReviews just reviewed a week ago is down to 94 USD at newegg 2 X 4 gigs (8 gigs) at 9-10-9 (and will run at 999) just ordered 2

good review
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory KitAustin Downing 2011-06-21 22:40
With a P67 board though 2133 is the highest you can go. Due to the inability to overclock the base clock anything faster is unfeasible. It is better to get kits that are dividable by 266.66Mhz then to try to overclock.

I have honestly never seen a see a usable gain from faster memory in gaming. And in my system the only noticeable difference came when I bought a SSD.

Glad you liked the review though, and glad to see you bought memory based off my previous article. Keep checking here our next 2 memory reviews which will be the 1600Mhz 7-8-7-24 Mushkin Redline Enhanced with the Ridgeback heat spreader and the 2133Mhz 9-10-11-28 Mushkin Redline with the FrostByte heat spreader will be published in the next couple of weeks.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory KitBryz 2011-06-22 18:18
yeah i know that redline ridgeback is really good from other reviews i read they knockoff doms Im on 990FX at the moment voltage wise.

And yeah 9's at anything 18 and above does me right especially when I have so much @ that speed, I can still move fast solidly. I hate purpose built over all around, that way I don't have to close anything or go into a "mode" to game or work or play.

Good review, glad i skipped these.I always thought it was weird Corsair suddenly needed a 3rd brand for value purposes... Something else they had more power over to limit via "ability -to- price" wise. Since they refuse to go HIGHER with dominator simply because they need something to sell later we all know 8,8,8 at 2000 or even 7,10,something has been possible at stock for a long time we just need someone to be bold and watch all the others follow "all a sudden"

The dominators are great also they just released a 2133 at 999 (which may be a revamped version of the last kit just factory timed higher.) that can go down to 2000 at 8's I believe it because my last kit from them could do allot that was not endorsed and confidently. Problem when shopping for them a second time now is price for 4 2X2 gigs... id rather go g.skill at 9 2 x 4 and be limited for that price 99 bux im in.
Report Comment
 
 
# Senior -Network Support, Engineering & Network OperationsRick Revis 2011-08-17 13:27
Is is possible that the memory benchmarking results would be exactly the same for two different memory companies and models.
i.e. Reviews for the G.Skill Sniper 1866Mhz DDR3 F3-14900CL9D and Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Senior -Network Support, Engineering & Network OperationsOlin Coles 2011-08-17 13:34
Is it possible? Absolutely! It's just not entirely likely.

You must understand that the memory benchmarks we use measure performance with such minute precision, that the difference could be less than .0001% and it would still stand out in a memory review.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory KitMort 2013-12-27 12:23
Hey! Thank your for the review!
How would two sets of this dual-channel kit work with an i5-4670K on an MSI Z87 MPOWER?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz DDR3 Memory KitOlin Coles 2013-12-27 13:14
They should work fine with that setup. If you're planning to overclock, they'll give you plenty of headroom.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter