Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cases arrow Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer Case
Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer Case E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cases
Written by Doug Dallam   
Sunday, 04 December 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer Case
Closer Look: Exterior
Detailed Exterior Features
Closer Look: Interior
Detailed Interior Features
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Raidmax Seiran Computer Case Review

Manufacturer: Raidmax
Product Name: Seiran
Price As Tested: $99.00

Full Disclosure: The product sample used in this article has been provided by Raidmax.

In October, I wrote a review of the Raidmax Blade mid tower ultra budget case. Although it was a functional case and quite inexpensive, there were things left to desire, which is just the nature of ultra budget cases. Today at Benchmark Reviews, we have another offering in the Raidmax mid tower line-up, the Seiran. The Seiran is Raidmax's newest mid tower entry, and pricewise, clearly not a budget case. I'm interested in seeing what Raidmax's higher end mid tower case has to offer that budget mid tower's don't, and how it stacks up against other mid towers in its price range. So with that short intro, let's get started!

The Raidmax Seiran is the newest in a line-up of Raidmax mid tower cases that seemingly grows monthly. Since the Seiran is a higher end offering, I'm curious to see what an additional $50 gets us. At the nearly $100.00 USD price range, there is a huge amount of hardcore competition for mid tower cases. To be fair, the MSR price always falls 10-20% rather quickly, so let's say this case is in the $80 price range. At that price point, I'd still consider this case a solid mid tower price offering, where the competition is not only fierce, but predatory.

Raidmax_Seiran_Main600.jpg

When I was presented with an opportunity to review the Seiran, I requested a red or white model, but as you most likely don't know, requested and getting are two different animals. I got the trusty black version (AGAIN!). Thanks guys! The Seiran comes in red, white, and black, and as you can see here, it's looks put it squarely in the zoo of gaming cases. Let's see what sort of animal the Raidmax Seiran really is!

Raidmax Seiran Features

Ventilated Side Panel
Water Cooling Ports
Bottom Mounted Power Supply
Tool-Free Design
Novel Meshed Bay Covers
Top I/O Ports

Raidmax Seiran Specifications

External drive bays: 9 x 5.25"
Internal drive bays: 4 x 3.5" h.d./2.5" ssd racks
System board: 10” x 12” max size atx form factor / micro atx
Expansion slots: standard atx 7 slots
i/o ports: 2 x usb2.0 / 2 x audio / 1 x usb3.0
Dimensions: 480(l) x 185(w) x 480(h)mm
Cooling System:
Front:1 x 120mm led fan side:1 x 120mm led fan or 1 x 180mm led fan (optional)
Back: (black) 1 x 120mm black frame with red leaves fan, (white & red) 1 x 120mm black fan
Top: none
Colors: Black,White, Red



 

Comments 

 
# RE: Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer CaseDoug Dallam 2011-12-04 20:59
Subscribing. Comments appreciated.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer CaseChris 2011-12-05 04:46
Too Ghetto looking for me. I'm tired of metal boxes with plastic bit screwed on. Great review like always though!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer CaseDoug Dallam 2011-12-05 05:29
I like the completely open front accessibility. I hope to see that design in other cases. Other things were less desire able, however, one being the price.
Report Comment
 
 
# Tesla1776Greg 2011-12-08 03:04
Hi Doug, I enjoy your reviews and I think you did a great job of giving us readers the next best thing to being able to put hands on the thing. it appears that it's a bit 'thin' in some of the construction.
"plasticware, or "steel-astic." good god man! I think you just Shakespeare'd all over yourself LOL.
On page one , I think you probably meant 'beveled' as opposed to "cantilevered"
anyway, nice review. I am looking for a gaming case for my nephew, and I think you have ruled this one out for me :)
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer CaseDoug Dallam 2011-12-08 03:13
Hey tanks. I'm glad someone is reading them and seeing the subtle interjections that are my attempt to prevent "reader bore-fatigue."

And yes, I will have it changed to "beveled" as "cantilever" has a completely different meaning. Thanks.

I have another review due out in the next couple of days. It's of the Rosewill Ranger mid tower. It's not a bad case and if you need cooling, it's a wind tunnel. I actually gave it a recommendation.
Report Comment
 
 
# Tesla1776Greg 2011-12-08 03:44
"reader bore-fatigue." hehe
well I will keep an eye out for that review. and keep up the colorful expansion of the language no matter what they say. You can take it, you are after all..."old flat top' :)
Report Comment
 
 
# when it will come?Min 2011-12-09 21:03
i have been waiting for this case almost 2months-_-;

i'm really looking forward to it released..
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer CaseDoug Dallam 2011-12-09 21:15
I think they had it released but sold out. What do you like about this case?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer CaseRichard 2011-12-13 04:38
Super review. I really appreciated all the pictures and text. What I don't like about the case is the rear facing disk drives. I want the drives facing toward the side. If you make drive changes, the rear facing drives generally require you to remove the graphics card.
Report Comment
 
 
# What the......Enigma8750 2011-12-13 08:00
Did RaidMax actually come out with a decent box. Good Job.. Not bad. Its not the best out but it is marketable.. Great job guys.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Raidmax Seiran Mid-Tower Computer CaseAdrian 2011-12-13 11:06
This case shows us that the techs from Raidmax know how to create a decent PC case too. Good job.
Report Comment
 
 
# Xigmatek fan?Mergatroid 2011-12-13 16:44
That 180mm fan really reminds me of Xigmatek fans. Specifically the 200mm fans available from newegg.com. I believe those are the same fans used in the original Corsair 600T case. Many people (including myself) replaced them due to poor performance. They sure look similar.

Personally I don't see much to like about this case. I suppose it's pretty good for $100, but as you mentioned there are other cases in that price range that IMHO are better cases. Personally I couldn't do without removable drive cages any more. I also prefer sideways mounted cages over the front/back older style cages because you can completely hide the cables. I know looks are subjective, but personally I think this case doesn't look very good. I don't like the window design, nor the front bezel, nor the convex design on the right side panel (I realize it may be very functional for cable management, but I don't think it looks very good myself). I also don't like the big latches on the 5 1/4" drive bay covers (I think they could have found a better way to spend the development funds). Considering how seldom you have to remove them, I really don't mind interior plastic clips if it avoids big ugly latches on the exterior. I really don't like the big square front panel at all.
I suppose for $100 you could do worse, but there are better cases available for about the same price.

Here's a test fit I did of one of the Corsair 200mm fans on the optional (at the time) side panel mesh for the 600T. Looks pretty similar to me.

#img824.imageshack.us/img824/9102/p4270001.jpg
Report Comment
 
 
# No pics I guessMergatroid 2011-12-13 16:46
Guess I can't post pics, sorry...
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Xigmatek fan?Doug Dallam 2011-12-13 17:03
Megatriod. I think I'm pretty much with you on that. There are, in my opinion, better cases for less than 100.00, as I pointed out. This case, again, in my opinion, is simply out of its class at 100.00. We'll have to see what price they actually come in at when available. But the Rosewill Ranger, which is now published too, I think is a better case, functionally speaking, and it's intro price is 70 bucks! It has the side mount drives and can take up to seven fans, five of which can be 140s, with some limitations. You'll have to read the review for the rest :)
Report Comment
 
 
# That sounds more like itMergatroid 2011-12-14 17:47
That sounds like a better option to me. I'll have to check that review...
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter