Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Motherboards arrow ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF Motherboard E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Motherboards
Written by Hank Tolman   
Monday, 02 May 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF Motherboard
The Intel P67 Express Chipset
Closer Look: ASUS Sabertooth P67
Sabertooth P67 Detailed Features
ASUS UEFI (BIOS)
ASUS Sabertooth P67 Overclocking
Sabertooth P67 Specifications
Motherboard Testing Methodology
AIDA64 Extreme Edition v1.1 Benchmark Tests
Passmark Performance Test
PCMark Vantage Benchmarks
SiSoftware Sandra
Cinebench R11.5 Benchmarks
Video Transcoding Tests
Street Fighter IV Benchmark
ASUS Sabertooth P67 Conclusion

ASUS Sabertooth P67 Overclocking

The Intel P67 Express chipset brings major changes to the overclocking process. Here are the bullet points:

  • Overclocking by increasing the base clock is no longer an option.
  • Overclocking by increasing the CPU's base multiplier is no longer an option.
  • According to Intel, the P67 Express chipset is the only Cougar Point chipset that supports processor core overclocking at all.

Overclocking by raising the motherboard's base clock is now all but impossible. With the Sabertooth P67 motherboard, I was able to get the base clock up to 103MHz stably. This isn't a lot, and I have heard of attempts to get up to about 110MHz, although previous testing on other P67-Express motherboards here at Benchmark Reviews has netted only 102MHz. Because the base clock on the P67-Express chipset is the base for nearly every other clock, even the SATA and USB clocks, overclocking here is expected to be very limited. All this really means is that we need to find a new way to overclock.

Intel compensates for this by giving all Sandy Bridge processors unlocked multipliers: K-series processors get "fully unlocked" multipliers with no limits, while non-K series processors are "limited unlocked" CPUs that can only have their multipliers increased by a maximum of 4. All Sandy Bridge processors have fully unlocked video cores, RAM multipliers, and power settings. Notice, however, that you can only use and overclock the integrated graphics core on a motherboard with the H67 Express chipset, and only overclock CPU cores, power, and memory ratios on a motherboard based on the P67 Express chipset.

http://benchmarkreviews.com/images/reviews/motherboards/intel_dp67bg/intel_dp67bg_motherboard_overclocking.jpg

So, as it says above, the CPU base multiplier can't be increased at all. Technically, that means you can't overclock the base speed of the CPU at all. What you can increase is the Turbo Boost multiplier, thereby increasing the amount to which the CPU can be stressed when utilizing Turbo Boost. If you were to disable the Turbo Boost function, as many enthusiasts have been prone to do in the past while overclocking, you will be unable to overclock a Sandy Bridge CPU at all. When increasing the Turbo multiplier, you can set the multiplier that you want to be used when Turbo Boost is using any number of the 4 available cores.

This is the UEFI area where you can increase the base clock and the Turbo Boost multiplier. Right under the BCLK Frequency you choose on how many cores you want to apply the Turbo Ratio. You can set this to be tuned in Windows using the Turbo V utility available with the ASUS Sabertooth P67 software DVD.

ASUS_Sabertooth_P67_UEFI2.jpg

With the Sabertooth P67, I was able to get the base clock to a stable 103MHz. I then gradually increased the Turbo Clock on all four cores at the same time until I found the highest possible stable overclock with a multiplier of 46. This gave me a potential Turbo Boost speed of 4738MHz. I reached this same stable overclock using the auto function for regulating voltage and when I manually increased the voltage to 1.35v. It seems that the automatic voltage regulation on the Sabertooth P67 is much better than I have experienced with motherboards in the past, perhaps due to the DIGI+ VRM.

When I allowed the ASUS Sabertooth P67 to overclock itself, in Extreme mode, it decided that a base clock of 103MHz with a Turbo Boost multiplier of 42 was a good match, putting the max Turbo Boosted CPU speed at 4326MHz. That's actually a pretty decent overclock itself! So, if you are not familiar with overclocking, or comfortable enough overclocking the new Sandy Bridge CPUs, the auto OC Tuner will give you a good place to start. Mine gave me an overclock of nearly 17% on the Turbo Boost. Of course, I was able to pull out an overclock of 27% when I tuned the features myself.

Below are the average increases in performance throughout the tests used in this review when the maximum overclock was applied.

AIDA64 Average

20%
PCMark Vantage Average 18%
SiSoftware Sandra Average 13%
Cinebench Average 7%
Passmark Average 21%
Transcode Average 5%



 

Comments 

 
# Plastic plateChrisH 2011-05-06 17:30
Thanks for another strong review. As the board has a distinctive plastic compound plate dividing transistor and other components from the rest of the board and case, I was looking for not just a board review but also to see what this TUF divider did to heating / cooling. Just by looking at it many will think it works opposite to what is stated. That shielding may be one thing aye, GPU & CPU are main heat sources but is that only half the equation? The second half of the equation is transistor / component heat generation and what about facilitating airflow under the plate, how is this dissipated? Thirdly, is the 25% in rating really required because under the plastic it is hotter there? I like 25% better "quality" components and am dissapointed this standard isn't on their top boards anyhow. Fourthly, dependng on your case fans what effect do case fans have have this plastic plate. I guess because there hasn't been any substantial comment you think that it is no bigge what goes on below plate but if so why isn't it recommended for all boards then?
Report Comment
 
 
# Plastic plateChrisH 2011-05-06 17:34
Sorry * Fourthly, dependng on your case fans what effect do case fans have have this plastic plate. Should be Fourthly, dependng on your case fans what effect do case fans have below this plastic plate.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF MotherboardMACK 2011-05-07 02:18
Thanks for the review. Yea, I am not sure why they make such a big deal about the Thermal effect of the TUF armor.
It seems like they could have easily saved a good bit of money not adding it to the motherboard. Additionally, I agree with ChrisH, that the "plastic divider" will act more as a thermal insulator, and drive component temps up. Luckily Sandy Bridge has a low thermal load.
The one thing that I do like about TUF armor, is that it might serve to protect the motherboard against small objects that could accidentally fall on it.

The in-depth review was greatly appreciated.
Report Comment
 
 
# Under the TUF ArmorHank Tolman 2011-05-07 10:16
The heat from the components under the TUF armor will be extremely limited. Those components produce such a low amount of heat that any heat concern for them would actually be coming from the GPU or add-in components on regular boards without the shroud. So, in essence, the shroud also protects those components from the heat generated from add-in cards. Any components that do generate a significant enough amount of heat to be considered are covered by heatsinks; i.e. the MOSFETs.

As far as the Military Grade components, the reason they are limited to a few boards, I believe, is due to the cost inherent in using those components. ASUS still has to offer low-end motherboards and even higher-end motherboards at competitive prices. If they maintained all the features of those boards and used the higher grade components, the costs would be quite a bit higher.

Besides, even with the 25% better quality and longer life-span, nearly any motherboard made by the major manufacturers will long outlast it's usefulness to you.

-Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF MotherboardTARIKK 2011-05-07 13:13
I really suspecting that Asus is asking from everyone to not to test the Thermal Armour, as I have read couple of reviws of this board and no one has tested the temps to see if it works or not.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF Motherboardmoshpit 2011-05-07 20:35
I love the thermal shield. I have the older B2 revision since I'm only using the SATA3 ports, but I would really like to see the X79 version of this board come with the shield again.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF Motherboardmoshpit 2011-05-07 20:37
Oh, by the way, I've seen SEVERAL tests using the shield, it slightly reduces temps on it's own. Add the 50mm in the slot provided and it temps drop WAY below other boards without the shield. I have a higher speed 50mm in mine and Asus Thermal Radar shows incredibly low temps across the board.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF MotherboardOliver 2011-05-09 00:02
Great review! Thank you, Hank. I've bookmarked it for future overclock and benchmark reference.

However, before I can go playing with all the latest & greatest features, I am stuck with my Sabertooth's waking up from sleep problem. Which is a common problem among many users and there is an extensive discussion on the matter at vip asus forum. Even inconclusive, the current Sabertooth board has compatibility issue with many models of power supply. Thus after into sleep mode, the system can no longer wake up.

I just wonder that if you have the time and resources to try Sabertooth + i7-2600k with different PSUs to see if the bug exists on your board. FYI, I have 10 fans in total, 5 case fans, 2 cpu fans, 2 vga fans, and 1 assistant fan. If I move the power source of all five case fans and one cpu fan to a seperate power supply, the wakeup works, but not stable. If pc sleeps too long (few hours), it won't wakeup.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF MotherboardServando SIlva 2011-05-14 19:11
Are you Overclocking your CPU adding voltage or enabling LLC?
I've heard those options prevent system from recovering after sleep.
Report Comment
 
 
# Sleep issueHank Tolman 2011-05-12 12:53
Oliver,

Unfortunately, I don't have the time or PSUs to try the different combinations. Also, I don't use the sleep function. Ever. So I haven't experienced this problem. That being said, I will certainly look into the issue and even try it out. If I find out anything that helps I will post back here.

Thanks!

Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF MotherboardOliver 2011-05-15 11:40
Thank you anyway, Hank. I probably asked the question at the wrong place. Only because the problem is so intriguing that I have been addicted to it. Whoever is interested in the thread "Problems waking up from sleep mode" at #vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx?board_id=1&model=Sabertooth P67&SLanguage=en-us, is welcome to share your thoughts there.
Report Comment
 
 
# The thermal armor is a good ideaArbie 2011-05-17 09:01
The thermal armor is actually a good idea - but it obviously should be used with an exhaust fan, not an intake fan! Then the shroud would channel relatively cool air from the board edges in over the low-power components, and dump that into the hotter air around the CPU and graphics board. That's probably how moshpit is using it (see earlier post here). Unfortunately, few people ever address this point so we see lots of remarks about how "the armor just makes things worse". C'mon guys... a little thought here would help.

It's too bad that Asus doesn't provide the needed fan and instructions. In another forum they indicated that they don't include the fan since they they can't warrant electromechanical stuff for as long as the mobo itself. But without the fan exhausting air, the armor makes no sense.

I also fault Asus support for not knowing or explaining how the armor is designed to be used. Blowing hot air down into it would clearly be ridiculous. I'm sure that whoever championed the armor idea back in the design groups is chagrined at how it has worked out when finally named, logo'd, stickered, sold, and supported.
Report Comment
 
 
# nevervolker pittlik 2011-07-31 04:51
the biggest peace of # i've ever bought in my life,throw it away or try to find someone who's dump enough to buy it!!6 month without a driver who support a sli for gtx460 !!!!since last week !!!newest nvidia driver and surprise SLI is detected wooooh!!!try to enable it... APPCRASH!!!so for me there is no longer asus!!!!! i'll buy me a board who's working any board is better then ASUS SABERTOOTH P 67 for sure
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: neverDavid Ramsey 2011-07-31 07:02
Or you could, you know, actually do a little research before you buy. Not all P67 motherboards support SLI...for example, the ASUS P8P67 and Sabertooth don't, but the P8P67 Pro does. Admittedly most manufacturers don't make this distinction as clearly as they should, but there's never going to be SLI support for your board.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: neverBo 2011-09-26 04:17
Maybe I got this wrong but it looks to me as sabertooth supports SLI:
Multi-GPU Support: Supports NVIDIAŽ Quad-GPU SLI? Technology

##asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1155/SABERTOOTH_P67/#specifications
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: neverGrep 2011-10-20 17:03
I got this board and I am running dual Evga 570GTx hd video cards in SLi and it works just fine, using bios revision 1606, its a P8P67 Sabertooth Rev 3.1
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS Sabertooth P67 B3 TUF MotherboardGrep 2011-10-20 16:55
Running p867 rev 3.1 sabertooth and also running dual evga 570gtxhd video boards in sli mode and it works just fine.
on the Assist fan, its location is poor, it tends to block the top pci-e slot. Asus recomends a 50mmx50mmx10mm fan for this assist slot, a fan of that size is nearly useless, and is very noisy, if you get a 15mm thick fan or a 20mm thick fan it will be much better and quieter. the problem is this, the screws are two short for the 20mm fan, so you will need longer screws, Asus does not identify the thread pitch so you don't know what size screws to buy, The ability to control the assist fan speed is limited, and not mentioned in the manual at all.
The manual sucks big time, the pictures and line drawings are so small you can not even read it without a powerful magnafier. It leaves out critical info.The fan connector picture identify the pins with different anacronyms and does not explain what those mean. The 3 pin fan is id as gnd, 12v, and rotation, (define rotation), the 4 pin fan headers are id as gnd, cpu fan pwr, cpu fan in, cpu fan pwm, (define, fan pwr, and cpu fan in) well as I said the manual sucks.
There is a Green 20 pin connector thats supposed to provided for the front usb 3.0 ports, this cable is not provided, and I have no Idea where to get it, Asus doesn't seem to know. The Asus user forum is not monitored relying on mystified users to supply all help to users. Scan this forum to see a real review of this product. Severe Bios issues, Severe temp issues, Wake on lan issues, RMA issues. BBB has given Asus an F rating for failure to respond to complaints. I own one, I would not recommend this company or product. When the forum is filled with questions about overclocking, things are good, when its filled by complaints of RMA and feature that don't work, things are bad, don't accept my word for it, read the forums for yourself
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter