Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cases arrow Antec One Hundred Mid-Tower Case
Antec One Hundred Mid-Tower Case E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cases
Written by Marc Fruchtman - Edited by Olin Coles   
Sunday, 24 April 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Antec One Hundred Mid-Tower Case
Features and Specifications
Closer Look: Exterior
Detailed Exterior Features
Closer Look: Interior
Detailed Interior Features
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Antec One Hundred Features*

  • Bottom-mounted power supply isolates heat and noise

  • Perforated Front Bezel for maximum air flow and dust filtration

  • Includes standard case lock slot for integrated anti-theft protection

  • CPU cut-out allows for easy installation of CPU coolers

  • Cable management compartment organizes cables discretely

  • Convenient top accessory tray

  • Cable management ties keep your case organized

  • 10 drive bays

    • 6 x internal 3.5" HDDs

    • 3 x external 5.25" HDDs

    • 1 x internal bottom-mounted 2.5" SSD drive

  • 8 expansion slots for plenty of flexibility

  • Cooling system

    • 1 x top special 140 mm TwoCool fan

    • 1 x rear 120 mm TwoCool fan

    • 2 x front 120 mm fans for HDDs (optional)

    • 1 x side 120 mm fan for graphics cards (optional)

  • Front ports

    • 4 x USB 2.0

    • Audio (AC'97 and HDA compatible) In and Out

  • Washable air filter for quick, easy cleaning

  • Motherboards: Mini-ITX, microATX, Standard ATX

  • Power supply not included

  • Certifications

    • RoHS

  • Warranty: Antec Quality 3 Year Limited Warranty (Covers Parts and Labor)

*Features and certification per Antec product literature.

Antec One Hundred Specifications*

Case Type

Gaming Mid Tower

Color

Black

Dimensions

480 mm (H) x 198 mm (W) x 477 mm (D)

18.9” (H) x 7.8” (W) x 18.8” (D)

Weight

15.1 lbs / 6.9 kg

Cooling

1 x top 140 mm TwoCool fan

1 x rear 120 mm TwoCool fan

2 x front 120 mm fans for HDDs (optional)

1 x side 120 mm fan for graphics cards (optional)

Drives Bays

10 Drive Bays:

6x internal 3.5”

3x external 5.25”

1x internal bottom-mounted 2.5” (for SSD)

Expansion Slots

8

Motherboard Size

Mini-ITX, microATX, Standard ATX

Front I/O Panel

4x USB 2.0

AC'97 / HD Audio IN and Out

*Features and certification per Antec product literature.

120 mm x 25mm TwoCool Fan Specifications (Operating voltage 10.8 – 13.2 Volts)*

RPM

Amps

Watts

Airflow

Static Pressure

Acoustic Noise

1500
(High)

0.30A
(Max)

3.6W

1.4 m3/min
(51.2 CFM)

1.2 mm-H2O
(0.05 inch-H2O)

27.9 dBA

900
(Low)

0.18A
(Max)

2.2W

0.85 m3/min**
(30.1 CFM)

0.5 mm-H2O
(0.02 inch-H2O)

16.9 dBA

*Features and certification per Antec product literature.
**corrected from value in manual.

140 mm x 25 mm TwoCool Fan Specifications (Operating voltage 10.8 – 13.2 Volts)*

RPM

Amps

Watts

Airflow

Static Pressure

Acoustic Noise

1200
(High)

0.30A
(Max)

3.6W

1.7 m3/min
(58.9 CFM)

0.8 mm-H2O
(0.05 inch-H2O)

26.0 dBA

800
(Low)

0.2A
(Max)

2.4W

0.95 m3/min
(33.6 CFM)

0.3 mm-H2O
(0.01 inch-H2O)

21.8 dBA

*Features and certification per Antec product literature.



 

Comments 

 
# A surprising almostEd 2011-04-25 11:18
Nice review.

I'm not a fan of Antec tombs, but this one is pretty good except for one fatal flaw. I like the provision for two front fans. I love the oversize cpu window in the mb tray. The screw positions for the SSD is useless of course: SSD's attach very nicely with Velcro. No need for hardware.

Fatal flaw: like Lian Li, these guys are in love with rear position fans on top. Really, when you have a top intake in the forward position you see a 3-5c temp drop: cool air from the outside is better for a cpu heatsink than warm air from your case. So when the manufacturer provides only one fan position the system builder loses all flexibility.

I rate this case a "don't buy" despite its other nice features.
Report Comment
 
 
# I fail to see the problems.Olle P 2011-04-25 23:55
"SSD's attach very nicely with Velcro."
So how do you screw the Velcro onto the SSDs? (Glueing is of course not an option!)

"Fatal flaw: ... these guys are in love with rear position fans on top. Really, when you have a top intake in the forward position you see a 3-5c temp drop: cool air from the outside is better for a cpu heatsink..."
So you don't care about the temperatures at the graphics card?
With this case there's also a simple fix:
1. Add a cardboard divider horizontally above the graphics card to create two thermal zones.
2. Remove the top fan and cover that opening. (Now we have air moving horizontally through the top half of the case to cool down the CPU.)
3. Add a front intake fan or two, to add cooling for the graphics card and HDDs.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Antec One Hundred Mid-Tower CaseMACK 2011-04-26 14:32
Ed, re:"rear position fans on top"

I think its an exaggeration to call this "fatal." Actually, I am not sure I can even say this is detrimental. But that involves this next statement:

Re: "when you have a top intake in the forward position you see a 3-5c temp drop: cool air from the outside is better for a cpu heatsink..."

Not sure what you mean by "forward position", can you give an example, of a case that has such a fan mounting in the forward position... as I am picturing this would be where most cases place the CD / DVD drives.

Also, please remember that Antec does not actually have a top "Intake", it has a top exhaust.
Report Comment
 
 
# At the back, really...Pigbristle 2011-05-04 03:53
Fan control at the back? For the people who review these cases it's not a problem, they normally have it on top of a desk with 360 access.

but many like myself have there PC underneath desks, which makes it rather awkward for getting to these fan controller switches.

Would it really add that much more in cost to run a couple of wires across the right side of the case to the front?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: At the back, really...MACK 2011-05-04 12:28
You know, that is a good point, these days, there's almost no reason to force everything to the back since they can put USB, e-SATA, Mic etc to the front. It makes more sense to put that little switch at the front of the case. Thanks for the suggestion.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Antec One Hundred Mid-Tower CaseComputer Ed 2011-05-04 04:57
For the money this case is hard to beat. The top tray is a god send since it can make the case work for more than holding your computer at the desk. My USB drives, and phone can always be found in the tray. Plus the slight angle of the front bevel for access to the front connections is nice. Makes it easy to get them right every time.

As for the complaintsd on the fans, in my own testing with stock cooling and then adding the two front fans I found the case cooled really well. I was able to push an overclock of a i5 2400 to 3.8 ghz and not move above 45C and my GTX 460 never gets above 60C at MAX load. If those are "FATAL" numbers then I know a lot of dead PCs.

Personally I found the case to be a great buy for the money. I love the fact they made the front panel cables long enough to easily route behind and cabale management as a whole is good for this price range.
Report Comment
 
 
# good enoughrealneil 2011-05-04 06:26
It looks to me as if the airflow is good enough in this case. I like it, and it shows that $50 cases can be functional and still look good.

My last $50 dollar case was the CoolerMaster 430-Elite Black, and while it's not one of their HAF (high air flow) cases, it's provided fans and the places that you can add more fans to, make it a great choice. I left both of my 120MM fan spaces on the top rear empty, they just were not needed. You can mount four 120MM fans and a 140MM as well if you need to. It has a bottom vent for the PSU and another bottom vent for another fan.

All in all this Antec case will do the job and it looks good. I'm not sure about no PSU bottom vent, they should change the design to include that.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Antec One Hundred Mid-Tower Casekokoy 2011-05-04 21:36
no psu intake at the bottom? FAIL
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter