Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Processors arrow AMD Trinity APU A10-5800K & A8-5600K Preview
AMD Trinity APU A10-5800K & A8-5600K Preview E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Processors
Written by Hank Tolman   
Wednesday, 26 September 2012
Table of Contents: Page Index
AMD Trinity APU A10-5800K & A8-5600K Preview
Closer Look: A10-5800K
Video Game Benchmarks
AMD A85X Platform
Preview Conclusion

Video Game Benchmarks

For the full spectrum of gaming benchmarks and the full array of other CPU tests, you'll have to wait for the full articles on the A10-5800K and the A8-5600K. I've been benchmarking non-stop for the last two days to bring you what I have now, though. So enjoy what I've gotten so far.

Each benchmark test program begins after a system restart, and the very first result for every test will be ignored since it often only caches the test. This process proves extremely important in many gaming benchmarks, as the first run serves to cache maps allowing subsequent tests to perform much better than the first. Each test is completed five times, with the average results displayed in our article.

Resident Evil 5 Benchmark Results

To check out the performance against the i3-2100, I had to bust out an old DX10 gaming benchmark to use. I like Resident Evil 5 because it is still a pretty demanding game.

Built upon an advanced version of Capcom's proprietary MT Framework game engine to deliver DirectX-10 graphic detail, Resident Evil 5 offers gamers non-stop action similar to Devil May Cry 4, Lost Planet, and Dead Rising. The MT Framework is an exclusive seventh generation game engine built to be used with games developed for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360, and PC ports. MT stands for "Multi-Thread", "Meta Tools" and "Multi-Target". Games using the MT Framework are originally developed on the PC and then ported to the other two console platforms.

On the PC version of Resident Evil 5, both DirectX 9 and DirectX-10 modes are available for Microsoft Windows XP and Vista Operating Systems. Microsoft Windows 7 will play Resident Evil with backwards compatible Direct3D APIs. Resident Evil 5 is branded with the NVIDIA The Way It's Meant to be Played (TWIMTBP) logo, and receives NVIDIA GeForce 3D Vision functionality enhancements.

NVIDIA and Capcom offer the Resident Evil 5 benchmark demo for free download from their website, and Benchmark Reviews encourages visitors to compare their own results to ours. Benchmark Reviews uses the DirectX-10 version of the test at 1280x1024 resolution. Low quality settings are configured, with no MSAA post processing effects. Test scenes from Area #3 and Area #4 require the most graphics processing power, and the results are collected for the chart illustrated below.

AMD_Trinity_Preview_RE5.png

Lost Planet 2 DX11 Benchmark Results

A decade has passed since the first game, and the face of E.D.N. III has changed dramatically. Terra forming efforts have been successful and the ice has begun to melt, giving way to lush tropical jungles and harsh unforgiving deserts. Players will enter this new environment and follow the exploits of their own customized snow pirate on their quest to seize control of the changing planet.

  • 4-player co-op action: Team up to battle the giant Akrid in explosive 4 player co-operative play. Teamwork is the player's key to victory as the team is dependent on each to succeed and survive.
  • Single-player game evolves based on players decisions and actions
  • Deep level of character customization: Players will have hundreds of different ways to customize their look to truly help them define their character on the battlefield both on- and offline. Certain weapons can also be customized to suit individual player style.
  • Beautiful massive environments: Capcom's advanced graphics engine, MT Framework 2.0, will bring the game to life with the next step in 3D fidelity and performance.
  • Massive scale of enemies: Players skill on the battlefield and work as a team will be tested like never before against the giant Akrid. Players will utilize teamwork tactics, new weapons and a variety of vital suits (VS) to fight these larger-than-life bosses.
  • Rewards System- Players will receive rewards for assisting teammates and contributing to the team's success
  • Multiplayer modes and online ranking system
  • Exciting new VS features- Based on fan feedback, the team has implemented an unbelievable variety of Vital Suits and new ways to combat VS overall. The new VS sytem will have a powerful impact on the way the player takes to the war zone in Lost Planet 2

AMD_Trinity_Preview_LP2.png

Diablo III Gaming Benchmark

Diablo III is the long awaited sequel to the best selling Diablo series from Blizzard. Diablo III uses a custom graphics engine based off the Starcraft II engine. Built to allow for the maximum number of potential players, Diablo III uses DirectX 9c. It is perfect for our tests here because it is a game that is well suited to low powered graphics solutions. A relatively inexpensive video card can easily play Diablo III on the highest settings.

AMD_Trinity_Preview_DiabloIII.png



 

Comments 

 
# You can do betterJeff Frizzell 2012-09-27 00:13
Comparing the TOP Trinity graphics parts against the HD 2000 - the slowest Intel graphics from the previous generation... really? Why not compare versus Core i3-3225 which will come much closer on graphics performane at similar price point, direct socket upgrade from your current i3-2100 and with excellent power consumption for low noise for an HTPC usage...
Report Comment
 
 
# Did you read the text?Hank Tolman 2012-09-27 07:49
I know a lot of people just look at the charts, but did I mention I had less than two days to get this together? I also don't have an i3-3225 on hand to compare. In the full reviews, they will be compared to an i3-3220. This is just a preview.
Report Comment
 
 
# Hd2500 vs hd4000Jeff Frizzell 2012-09-27 19:12
The core i3-3220 has the hd2500 graphics, the lower of the two Ivybridge variants. Please include at least one system with hd4000 to make a fair comparison for people who care about the
Integrated graphics. Thanks!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: You can do betterRoland 2012-09-27 08:57
They also thru the 5770 in there for comparison and we all know that's no slouch..
Report Comment
 
 
# Here the review yoo wantJanochan 2012-09-29 06:16
uk.hardware.info/reviews/3188/amd-a10-5800k--a8-5600k-review-part-one-trinity-for-desktops

The A10-5800k's IGP beats Intel core i7-3770k's IGP
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: AMD Trinity APU A10-5800K & A8-5600K PreviewAli 2012-09-27 05:38
Can you pls compare 5800 & 5600 series with GTX640 & GTX630 and it would be nice to see GTA 4 in benchmarks list :) Thanks,
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: AMD Trinity APU A10-5800K & A8-5600K PreviewHank Tolman 2012-09-27 08:12
Hi Ali,
I can do a GT 630 for sure. Unfortunately, I don't have a GT 640. As for GTA 4, I haven't used it before, but I'll see what I can do.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: AMD Trinity APU A10-5800K & A8-5600K PreviewAli 2012-09-27 05:45
Please also reconsider lost planet 2 benchmark. Are you sure that at 1280*1024 resolution with high graphics settings and with 4x MSAA 7660D was giving 33 FPS? :|
This sort of performance is exceptional and I doubt it :|
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: AMD Trinity APU A10-5800K & A8-5600K PreviewHank Tolman 2012-09-27 07:53
Actually, at 1280x1024 the 7660D did get 33 FPS average. That being said, the minimum frame rates still make it unplayable, even at 1280x1024. Also, keep in mind that I used the LP2 benchmark tool. Those results could differ significantly in actual gameplay.
Report Comment
 
 
# HUH ?abu 2012-09-27 06:43
This smell payd material....The comparisons aren t even and do not make sense marketwise.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: HUH ?Hank Tolman 2012-09-27 08:09
Payd, huh? That would be nice. I'll bet AMD pays a lot of reviewers to complain about their lack of backwards compatibility and late market entries. I'll have to get in on that. Next round is on me guys.
Report Comment
 
 
# crossfireAde 2012-09-27 07:04
Since it will undoubtedly not be fast enough for playing relatively modern games on 1920x1080 I would like to see some crossfire results with the 6000 and 7000 discrete cards.

The idea being that both ivy and trinity are good enough for desktop work, but the selling point of trinity would be if you could cheaply turn it into a gaming machine as well.

Also please do some comparisons at different ram speeds, as they could significantly affect the outcome of the benchmarks. (or the effectiveness of the integrated graphics.)

Thanks.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: crossfireHank Tolman 2012-09-27 08:06
Ade,
I'll definitely run CrossFire tests to find out how easily these could be used for gaming. Since the motherboard I got to test with supports Virtu MVP, I'll even try pairing it with some NVIDIA products. As for RAM speeds, I'll test them, but I wouldn't anticipate more than a couple of frame rates difference in games.
Report Comment
 
 
# ThanksAde 2012-09-27 11:44
For all your feedback. Awesome!
Report Comment
 
 
# crossfiregodrilla 2012-09-27 07:41
yes please do some Apu in crossfire with highest Compatible Gpu In crossfire to see where next gen of consoles are going to be in terms of performance
Report Comment
 
 
# APUs are OKRealNeil 2012-09-27 10:25
I have an APU A8-3850 CPU with an ASUS F1A75-V-Pro and a XFX Radeon HD-6670 in hybrid crossfire.

Gaming performance is now pretty decent with the inclusion of the Hybrid Crossfire capabilities. Overall system performance is good. Gaming is acceptable too.

These new better, faster variants are a welcome step up as I see it. I heard a rumor that the new platform's Hybrid Crossfire will be possible with faster, 7000 series Radeon cards
Report Comment
 
 
# Great!iFLAME 2012-09-27 12:12
Fine effort Hank. I see an integrated part running circles around discrete graphics solutions in these benchmarks and think about those days I wasted trying dx 9 tittles on Intel extreme graphics - IGP gaming has truly come a long way! Considering even Intel's IvyBridge has graphics capable of running Skyrim @low/medium, I envy today's youngsters.

At this rate, I might be able to do away with the graphics card sooner than I thought ;)
Report Comment
 
 
# hmmmmm.....dlb 2012-09-27 19:19
To be honest, I did not every comment, but many seem to be either complaints that the review wasn't "fair" or it didn't "test with my game/ benchmark of preference" or people were making requests for testing and benchmarks that that suited their needs..... well, TOO BAD!!! I've been following BMR for quite some time, and they do not take payola, the report the facts as they find 'em regardless of who does the review or testing, and from what I've seen (and from what I would personally do) BMR does not take requests from people saying "hey, I liked this, but can test 'GPU/APU/CPU model X against GPU/APU/CPU model Y just for me? I know you may not have everything on hand, but I don't care, get it and do it just for ME". OK - rant is over. I found this preview interesting and informative; the APUs are a 'somewhat' new and evolving technology, and any new info is OK with me. Well done BMR!!!
Report Comment
 
 
# oooopsdlb 2012-09-27 19:25
I have some typos above . . . . there should be a "read" between the word "not" and the word "every" . . . . I typed "that" twice in a row . . . there's a "the" where I forgot the "y" and it should read "they" right before the word "report" . . . . and I I left out the word "you" between the word "but" and the word "can" . . . OOOOPS . . . one should not rant after 5 bottles of Sierra Nevada Pale Ale.
Report Comment
 
 
# I dunno, you did pretty good...Bruce 2012-09-27 19:35
I wouldn't have been able to hit the keyboard with individual fingers after 5 bottles of ale... LOL
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: oooopsiFLAME 2012-09-28 11:16
even with the influence of Ale, your post makes sense :)Calling someone unfair and bias for not sharing the same views and angles as you do goes in line with the narrow mind set and arrogance prevalent in many sites and forums, which by the way is very unfortunate! People tend to forget that reviewers don't have to publish stuffs to their likings as long as they remain genuine and relevant. I follow BMR not because they share my personal views and opinions about hardware, but for facts and results based on real-time tests conducted by real people!

But I don't see anything wrong in people requesting certain pieces of hardware/benchmarks to be included in future testings. They're simply interested in seeing how these new APUs measure up under certain conditions and set-ups. Permutation and assumption are a big part of benchmarking, nothing wrong in that.

I understand reviewers were constrained from sharing all the data as this wasn't a full blown review. Even then Hank did a great job of highlighting useful bits in this preview. I'll be looking forward to the part-II.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: AMD Trinity APU A10-5800K & A8-5600K PreviewKenneth Almquist 2012-09-30 23:07
"Ivy Bridge is backwards compatible."

Well, sort of. I own an Intel DB65AL motherboard, which only supports Sandy Bridge. So I can't upgrade to Ivy Bridge without buying a new motherboard.
Report Comment
 
 
# AMD APU A10 benchmarking notes.Reuben Gathright 2012-10-01 12:44
Please make sure you run a few tests on your new AMD APU's with the DDR3 memory speed itself overclocked as far as it will possibly go on the FM2 motherboard.

Here are the results of my own tests, I am very curious to find out if AMD disabled this feature on the new Socket FM2.
#epinions.com/content_590336528004
Report Comment
 
 
# Mr.Jay 2013-03-10 20:40
I bought an A10-5800k APU with ASUS FM2 motherboard with GPU Boost, I can play Call of duty MW3 in 1920x1200, 2x Anti-Alias and open all effects, very smoothly, I think it's better 3870 and close to 4870 card, but when I use Unigine Valley and Unigine 4,0 benchmark to test it in same resolution, 2x, extreme effect it only get around 10 fps, so suggest use the game u want play to test, don't only see benchmark
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter