Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cooling arrow Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574
Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cooling
Written by David Ramsey   
Wednesday, 16 February 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574
Closer Look: Thermaltake Jing
Thermaltake Jing Details
Heatsink Test Methodology
Testing and Results
CPU Cooler Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Thermaltake Jing Details

With its fans and fan brackets removed, we can see the 41 aluminum fins more clearly. Five heat pipes loop through the nickel-plated copper base and up either side of the heat sink. Although the design of the fins is slightly different, the overall appearance is very similar to Thermaltake's own Frio cooler.

thermaltake_jing_no_fans.jpg

The Jing's two 42CFM fans are configured in a push-pull arrangement. This design— a relatively narrow heat sink with fans on either side— is becoming more common. It's a good compromise between airflow, cooling, and something that will fit in the majority of computer cases.

thermaltake_jing_side.jpg

The Jing's unusual open-frame fans are not PWM; they use standard 3-pin connectors, and each one has a spliced-on control knob that can be used to manually vary the speed of the fan between 800 and 1,300RPM. If you unplug the knob, the fans run at their minimum speed. Thermaltake doesn't supply a "Y" power cable, so you'll need two motherboard connectors (or a Molex to 3-pin adapter) to power both fans. This is the same mechanism used on the Thermaltake Frio cooler we reviewed previously.

thermaltake_jing_fan_2.jpg

The mounting system comprises a plastic "universal" backplate that supports Intel Sockets 775, 1155, 1156, and 1366 as well as AMD sockets AM2, AM2+, and AM3. Screws inserted through the back are secured by black plastic screw-down retainers (on the left in this image), which support the metal mounting brackets for the heat sink (on the right in this image).

thermaltake_jing_mounts.jpg

Mounting brackets with captive, spring loaded screws attach to the heat sink base and secure the heat sink to the motherboard brackets.

thermaltake_jing_mounts_2.jpg

Now that the heat sink's installed, it's time to test it.



 

Comments 

 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Doug 2011-02-16 23:12
A very nice looking fan, although I would rather have seen a bright red, blue, yellow than a pale green. For its performance and non standard fan mount, I would have rated it a 3. Totally unacceptable to produce total junk like this.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Joe 2011-02-17 07:46
I have to agree with Doug, this product is unacceptable. I am going to look elsewhere for my cpu cooling.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Olin Coles 2011-02-17 07:50
But you still love US, right? Don't kill the messenger.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Doug 2011-02-17 16:01
Of course. If you didn't review dogs, how would we know what NOT to buy?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574dlb 2011-02-17 19:24
I'm not trying to knock your results, but I have seen this same cooler many, MANY times elsewhere and the result were VERY different from yours. I know the temps will depend on the CPU used, the fans used, ambient temp, and so on, but the Jing almost ALWAYS was within 5c of the TR VenomousX. Honestly, I have never seen the Jing do this poorly in a review. However, BMR is putting the Jing against some pretty serious competition, and the BMR environment and platform is most likely VERY different from other reviewers', but 10c degree difference is quite large, considering the previous differences between the VenomousX and Jing (that I've seen) were rarely more that 5c. Again- I'm not saying that BMR made a mistake, I guess I'm wondering why BMRs results are SO different from almost every other Jing review that I've read since it hit the market 8+ months ago.....

Thanks!

(IMO, BMR is one of the most thorough review sites on the web - you guys always go 'above and beyond' with your testing and really examine very product completely; that's why your results seem odd with this review)
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574David Ramsey 2011-02-18 08:59
As you'll note in my Final Thoughts section, I also expected the Jing to do better than it did, even with its very quiet, low-speed fans. But extreme conditions will exaggerate the differences between heat sinks: a 5 degree difference between two heat sinks at a 10% overclock at stock voltage can be much larger with a higher overclock at increased voltage. The ability to handle such conditions is the reason to pay $60+ for an aftermarket cooler, and that's where the Jing's price puts it. Considered independently of its price, it's not a bad cooler (with the stock Intel heat sink, CPU temperatures in this test exceeded 100 degrees Celsius in less than 25 seconds).
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574dlb 2011-02-17 19:30
Oh - I have to agree - the color scheme on this cooler is REALLY bad! If you don't have a windowed case, then it's a non-issue... otherwise - YIKES!

(I couldn't edit my previous comment so I had to add a 2nd :P )
\
Report Comment
 
 
# Fitting picturesAnders 2011-02-17 23:27
I really wish you guys always showed a picture of the cooler mounted on the motherboard like you did on the Zalman CNPS9900 MAX review, where we could see the clearing between the RAM and cooler.

Any chance you could add that as it is a determining factor.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Fitting picturesOlin Coles 2011-02-18 07:17
Motherboards are not all the same, and don't have identical measurements from CPU to DIMM slots. What looks like good clearance on one motherboard may be worse with another.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Bunzing 2011-02-18 03:26
Man, imagine this in black instead of the grey and it would look verry nice. The green also isn't toxicgreen enough.

Imagine a case in the same colors! That would just be painfull.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter