Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cooling arrow Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574
Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cooling
Written by David Ramsey   
Wednesday, 16 February 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574
Closer Look: Thermaltake Jing
Thermaltake Jing Details
Heatsink Test Methodology
Testing and Results
CPU Cooler Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Closer Look: Thermaltake Jing

The Jing's box is pretty standard: a nice photo of the cooler on the front, technical specifications on the sides and back. The front of the box notes that the cooler is allegedly capable of dissipating up to 200 watts of heat. This sounds like a lot (and it is, really), but an overclocked Core i7-950 can easily pull this much power.

thermaltake_jing_box.jpg

Inside the box are the cooler and its accessory pack. The latter is unusual in that it's a contoured foam box with each piece placed neatly in a labeled cutout, rather than simply a plastic bag full of loose parts. The plastic universal backplate which normally sits just under the lid of this box has been removed to show the other parts.

thermaltake_jing_accessories_2.jpg

The cooler itself is a fairly common design: a stack of fins, pierced by heat pipes, with two fans in a push-pull arrangement. The fans themselves are an unusual open-frame design unique to this cooler. Each fan is rated at 42CFM.

thermaltake_jing_2.jpg

The fans snap onto plastic frames which are themselves removable, but the clip mechanism won't work with standard 120mm fans because the rim of the plastic frame of most fans is too thick to fit under the snap. This could be corrected with a file or Dremel tool, of course, but does make replacing or upgrading the fans difficult. The fan mounting frames have vibration-damping elastomer pads for the fans to rest on.

thermaltake_jing_fan_attach.jpg

The nickel-plated copper base is flat and has a mirror finish.

thermaltake_jing_base.jpg

In the next section I'll take a closer look at the Jing and its mounting mechanism.



 

Comments 

 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Doug 2011-02-16 23:12
A very nice looking fan, although I would rather have seen a bright red, blue, yellow than a pale green. For its performance and non standard fan mount, I would have rated it a 3. Totally unacceptable to produce total junk like this.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Joe 2011-02-17 07:46
I have to agree with Doug, this product is unacceptable. I am going to look elsewhere for my cpu cooling.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Olin Coles 2011-02-17 07:50
But you still love US, right? Don't kill the messenger.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Doug 2011-02-17 16:01
Of course. If you didn't review dogs, how would we know what NOT to buy?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574dlb 2011-02-17 19:24
I'm not trying to knock your results, but I have seen this same cooler many, MANY times elsewhere and the result were VERY different from yours. I know the temps will depend on the CPU used, the fans used, ambient temp, and so on, but the Jing almost ALWAYS was within 5c of the TR VenomousX. Honestly, I have never seen the Jing do this poorly in a review. However, BMR is putting the Jing against some pretty serious competition, and the BMR environment and platform is most likely VERY different from other reviewers', but 10c degree difference is quite large, considering the previous differences between the VenomousX and Jing (that I've seen) were rarely more that 5c. Again- I'm not saying that BMR made a mistake, I guess I'm wondering why BMRs results are SO different from almost every other Jing review that I've read since it hit the market 8+ months ago.....

Thanks!

(IMO, BMR is one of the most thorough review sites on the web - you guys always go 'above and beyond' with your testing and really examine very product completely; that's why your results seem odd with this review)
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574David Ramsey 2011-02-18 08:59
As you'll note in my Final Thoughts section, I also expected the Jing to do better than it did, even with its very quiet, low-speed fans. But extreme conditions will exaggerate the differences between heat sinks: a 5 degree difference between two heat sinks at a 10% overclock at stock voltage can be much larger with a higher overclock at increased voltage. The ability to handle such conditions is the reason to pay $60+ for an aftermarket cooler, and that's where the Jing's price puts it. Considered independently of its price, it's not a bad cooler (with the stock Intel heat sink, CPU temperatures in this test exceeded 100 degrees Celsius in less than 25 seconds).
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574dlb 2011-02-17 19:30
Oh - I have to agree - the color scheme on this cooler is REALLY bad! If you don't have a windowed case, then it's a non-issue... otherwise - YIKES!

(I couldn't edit my previous comment so I had to add a 2nd :P )
\
Report Comment
 
 
# Fitting picturesAnders 2011-02-17 23:27
I really wish you guys always showed a picture of the cooler mounted on the motherboard like you did on the Zalman CNPS9900 MAX review, where we could see the clearing between the RAM and cooler.

Any chance you could add that as it is a determining factor.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Fitting picturesOlin Coles 2011-02-18 07:17
Motherboards are not all the same, and don't have identical measurements from CPU to DIMM slots. What looks like good clearance on one motherboard may be worse with another.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Bunzing 2011-02-18 03:26
Man, imagine this in black instead of the grey and it would look verry nice. The green also isn't toxicgreen enough.

Imagine a case in the same colors! That would just be painfull.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter