Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Cooling arrow Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574
Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Cooling
Written by David Ramsey   
Wednesday, 16 February 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574
Closer Look: Thermaltake Jing
Thermaltake Jing Details
Heatsink Test Methodology
Testing and Results
CPU Cooler Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler Review

With cars, a frequent trade-off buyers must consider is performance versus mileage. All other things being equal, higher performance cars generally use more fuel than lower-performance cars. There are ways to work around this: for example, reducing a vehicle's weight will improve both performance and mileage. CPU coolers make similar trade-offs: better performance is often accompanied by more noise, and the workaround is to make the cooler larger, since more metal dissipates more heat with a slower, quieter airflow. Thermaltake's new Jing CPU cooler attempts to hit the sweet spot of the performance/noise compromise, and Benchmark Reviews pits it against a collection of high-end air coolers and water coolers to see how it compares.

Since all retail CPUs are boxed with perfectly good coolers (which are pretty quiet), the main reason to buy an aftermarket cooler is its performance when your processor is overclocked. (There might be some who buy coolers based on the aesthetics of their appearance through a windowed CPU case, but we'll assume they're in the minority.) But while performance is certainly the main criterion, other factors must be taken into consideration as well, such as noise, size, and price. The ideal cooler keeps your processor at or near ambient temperature, is silent, free, and unfortunately doesn't exist. Manufacturers vary the performance, noise, size, and cost factors of their products to address different segments of the market.

thermaltake_jing_34.jpg

Thermaltake makes dozens of CPU coolers— there are thirteen separate models for Socket 1366 alone, of which the Jing is the most expensive at an MSRP of $69.99. Thermaltake bills the Jing as having "Optimized performance cooling and ultra-silent design", claims which I'll put to the test with an overclocked and overvolted Intel Core i7-950 CPU.

Manufacturer: Thermaltake, Inc.
Product Name: Jing
Model Number: CLP0574
Price As Tested: $64.99 at Newegg

Full Disclosure:The product sample used in this article has been provided by Thermaltake.

Thermaltake Jing Specifications

Heatsink Dimension

131(L) x 123(W) x 162(H) mm
(with 2 Fans)

Heatsink Material Aluminum Fins
Aluminum & Copper Base
Heatpipe 6mm (x5)
Fan Dimension 120(L) x 120(H) x 25(W) mm
Fan Speed 800 ~ 1,300 RPM
Bearing Type ----
Noise Level 16 dBA @ 800 RPM
Max. Air Flow 42 CFM
Max. Air Pressure Air Intake = 0.85 mmH2O
Air Exhaust = 1.43 mmH2O
LED Fan ----
Power Connector 3 Pin
Rated Voltage 12 V
Started Voltage 6 V
Rated Current 0.2 A
Power Input 2.4 W
MTBF 50,000 Hrs @ 40?
Weight 920 g (with 2 Fans)



 

Comments 

 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Doug 2011-02-16 23:12
A very nice looking fan, although I would rather have seen a bright red, blue, yellow than a pale green. For its performance and non standard fan mount, I would have rated it a 3. Totally unacceptable to produce total junk like this.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Joe 2011-02-17 07:46
I have to agree with Doug, this product is unacceptable. I am going to look elsewhere for my cpu cooling.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Olin Coles 2011-02-17 07:50
But you still love US, right? Don't kill the messenger.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Doug 2011-02-17 16:01
Of course. If you didn't review dogs, how would we know what NOT to buy?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574dlb 2011-02-17 19:24
I'm not trying to knock your results, but I have seen this same cooler many, MANY times elsewhere and the result were VERY different from yours. I know the temps will depend on the CPU used, the fans used, ambient temp, and so on, but the Jing almost ALWAYS was within 5c of the TR VenomousX. Honestly, I have never seen the Jing do this poorly in a review. However, BMR is putting the Jing against some pretty serious competition, and the BMR environment and platform is most likely VERY different from other reviewers', but 10c degree difference is quite large, considering the previous differences between the VenomousX and Jing (that I've seen) were rarely more that 5c. Again- I'm not saying that BMR made a mistake, I guess I'm wondering why BMRs results are SO different from almost every other Jing review that I've read since it hit the market 8+ months ago.....

Thanks!

(IMO, BMR is one of the most thorough review sites on the web - you guys always go 'above and beyond' with your testing and really examine very product completely; that's why your results seem odd with this review)
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574David Ramsey 2011-02-18 08:59
As you'll note in my Final Thoughts section, I also expected the Jing to do better than it did, even with its very quiet, low-speed fans. But extreme conditions will exaggerate the differences between heat sinks: a 5 degree difference between two heat sinks at a 10% overclock at stock voltage can be much larger with a higher overclock at increased voltage. The ability to handle such conditions is the reason to pay $60+ for an aftermarket cooler, and that's where the Jing's price puts it. Considered independently of its price, it's not a bad cooler (with the stock Intel heat sink, CPU temperatures in this test exceeded 100 degrees Celsius in less than 25 seconds).
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574dlb 2011-02-17 19:30
Oh - I have to agree - the color scheme on this cooler is REALLY bad! If you don't have a windowed case, then it's a non-issue... otherwise - YIKES!

(I couldn't edit my previous comment so I had to add a 2nd :P )
\
Report Comment
 
 
# Fitting picturesAnders 2011-02-17 23:27
I really wish you guys always showed a picture of the cooler mounted on the motherboard like you did on the Zalman CNPS9900 MAX review, where we could see the clearing between the RAM and cooler.

Any chance you could add that as it is a determining factor.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Fitting picturesOlin Coles 2011-02-18 07:17
Motherboards are not all the same, and don't have identical measurements from CPU to DIMM slots. What looks like good clearance on one motherboard may be worse with another.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thermaltake Jing CPU Cooler CLP0574Bunzing 2011-02-18 03:26
Man, imagine this in black instead of the grey and it would look verry nice. The green also isn't toxicgreen enough.

Imagine a case in the same colors! That would just be painfull.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter