Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow Diamond All-In-Wonder HD Premium AIW5000
Diamond All-In-Wonder HD Premium AIW5000 E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Dan Ferguson   
Sunday, 27 February 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Diamond All-In-Wonder HD Premium AIW5000
Features and Specifications
Closer Look: Diamond HD5570
Closer Look: Diamond HD750
Diamond AIW5000 Software
Multimedia Testing Methodology
Tuner Performance
3DMark Vantage GPU Tests
Devil May Cry 4 Benchmark
Unigine Heaven Benchmarks
Diamond HD5570 Temperatures
Diamond AIW5000 Power Consumption
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Diamond HD5570 Features

  • Engine clock speed: 650 MHz
  • Processing power (single precision): 520 GigaFLOPS
  • Polygon throughput: 650M polygons/sec
  • Data fetch rate (32-bit): 52 billion fetches/sec
  • Texel fill rate (bilinear filtered): 13 Gigatexels/sec
  • Pixel fill rate: 5.2 Gigapixels/sec
  • Anti-aliased pixel fill rate: 20.8 Gigasamples/sec
  • Memory clock speed: 1600 MHz
  • Memory data rate: 1.8 Gbps
  • Memory bandwidth: 25.6 GB/sec
  • Maximum board power: 45 Watts
  • Idle board power: 10 Watts

Diamond HD5570 Specifications

Performance
GPU:
5570
ASIC Core:
RV830PRO
Core Clock:
650 MHz
BUS:
PCI Express X16
Ports:
Dual-Link DVI,HDMI,VGA
Cooling:
Passive - FanHeatSink
MFG Process:
40 nm
Transistor Count:
627 million
Stream Processors
400
Power Consumption: 39 Watts
Memory
Memory Clock:
1600 MHz
Memory Configuration:
64M x 16
Memory Type:
GDDR3
Memory Bandwidth:
25.6 GB/sec
Memory Size:
1024 MB
Memory Interface:
128-bit
RAMDAC: 400
Video Details
CrossFire: CrossFire X
Direct-X: 8.0,9.0,10.0-10.1,11.0
Open-GL: OpenGL 3.2
Max Resolution Analog : 2048 x 1536
Max Resolution Digital : 2560 x 1600
HDR F.Point Rendering : 128
HDR Integer : 16-bit integer or floating point
Standard Slot Solution : SINGLE
Anti Aliasing Modes : Up to 24x multi-sample and super-sample anti-aliasing modes
Antisotropic Modes : 16x angle independent anisotropic texture filtering
Texture Support : HDR texture compression
Display Support:

HDTV
HDMI 1.3 / HDMI Ready
Integrated HDMI 1.3 output with Deep Color, xvYCC

Physical Specs
Form Factor (Profile):
Standard Profile Full-Height
Product Dimension:
6.8 x 4.4 x 0.6 inches
Package Dimension:
(H) 9.4 x (W) x 6.3 (D) 4.25 inches
Product Weight:
0.5 Lbs
Weight with Content:
3.5 Lbs

Diamond HD750 Features

  • Supports worldwide broadcast signals.
  • Watch, pause and record live TV.
  • Watch your favorite TV programming when it's convenient for you
  • Enjoy the latest Blu-ray movies and other HD content with a dedicated hardware video decoder.
  • Analog video capture with AVIVO.
  • Convert videos to popular formats.
  • Export video to portable devices.
  • Edit compatible videos.
  • Burn videos to DVD or VCD.
  • Intelligent Image Enhancement
  • TVW 750 Media Center Remote Control
  • TVW 750 Antenna

Diamond HD750 Specifications

Video Details
Digital Signal Support:
ATSC, DVB-T, ClearQAM, FM Radio
Analog Signal Support:
PAL, SECAM, NTSC
Compatible Video Types:
H.264, AVI, MPEG, DivX, WMV, MPEG4 and more
Physical Specifications
Video Ports:
Digital Coaxial x 1
AV Dongle x 1
Remote Control Receiver x1
Form Factor (Profile):
Standard Profile Full-Height
Product Dimension:
3.5 x 2.7 x 0.7 inches
Product Weight: 0.1 Lbs

System Requirements:

Operating System:
WIN 7 32 , WIN 7 64
WINVISTA32 , WINVISTA64
WINXP , WINXP64
MCE
System CPU: Pentium Intel Duo, AMD X64 or higher
CPU Speed:
2.4 GHz or higher CPU
System Memory:
1024 MB
Software:

Direct X 9 or above
Microsoft Media Player 9.0 or above

Power Supply:
400 Watt
Hard Disk Space:
480MB available hard disk space
CD DVD:
YES
BUS: PCI Express x16 plus one PCI Express x1
Available Slots:
DOUBLE
Chassis: ATX
Monitor: Digital flat-panel (DFP) displays
or DVI-I Compatilbe
or digital CRT display
or High-resolution VGA monitor
DVD playback requires DVD drive. Blu-Ray playback requires Blu-Ray drive.



 

Comments 

 
# I don't think Diamond thought this through...aussiebear 2011-03-01 05:33
Good article.

Its just too bad that the Radeon HD 5570 part is going to be made a bit pointless as AMD's A-series (Llano) arrives sometime in June or so. It's GPU-based IGP is spec like a 5570, but from the charts I've seen; it performs a tad higher than a 5550 because of the shared memory bandwidth with the x86 cores.

The other part is with Diamond itself. They didn't make an effort on a solution that is thoughtful for the role that it was intended. It feels like they wanted to save as little money spent as possible.

They would be better off with a Mini-ITX mobo based on the Socket FM1 for A-series (Llano) Fusion APU and a digital/analog tuner integrated onto the motherboard.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: I don't think Diamond thought this through...Olin Coles 2011-03-01 07:15
Hardware is never 'made pointless' because a newer generation is coming. 60Hz HDTV's are still being sold and used, even though 120Hz became the standard and 240/480Hz versions are available. The same is true for video cards: what one person uses for Crysis 2 another person may only need for WoW.
Report Comment
 
 
# All-In-WonderMaster Zoen 2011-03-04 04:53
You know, this is really odd. I was going through my parts closet last week to get a jump on spring cleaning, and came across my old AIW 1900. As I held it, thinking of all the fun transferring and encoding I had done when I received it nearly 4 years ago, I thought, "Huh, I haven't heard of a new All-In-Wonder card in a while. I wonder if they still make them?"
Suddenly, here it is! Providence! Coincidence? Who cares?! It's All-In-Wonder!
Report Comment
 
 
# retireeOrville 2011-03-04 05:38
Dan,

So, why didn't Diamond put two receivers on the tiny card and add the minimal circuits to multiplex? Why didn't they go with a USB receiver that met the WMC spec? We all need one more remote don't we? Why do they push another god damned fan on HTPCs. Can't they passively cool their 5570. If not, why not a passively cooled 5550.

The single thing I like about this product is the possible way better signal sensitivity. Please write more about that aspect, not gaming.

Orville
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: retireeDan Ferguson 2011-03-04 12:01
Orville,

thank you for your opinion. It sounds to me like you are calling for Diamond (and others) to expand their vision of a product and consider how it will most likely be deployed. I agree on your points on desired features. I don't need another remote.

This emphasizes my feeling that All-In-Wonder is best for a new or first-time builder and multitasker. If you already know your way around an HTPC and its peripherals then you'll probably want more features than an 'all in one', 'out-of-the-box' setup.

We try to balance our reviews around both the pros and cons of every product, highlighting areas of both that will most likely be of interest to our readers. What specifically do you like to know about signal integrity? Station capture is something to which everyone can relate.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: retireeOrville 2011-03-05 07:09
Dan,
I have a small home theater system that I use for watching live TV, playing movies from my NAS and surfing the Internet. My system consists of a home assembled PC, a 7.1 channel Sony AV receiver, a 5.1 Channel JBL speaker system, a Sharp 46” HDTV set and a homemade TV antenna perched on my second story roof.
The HTPC includes a Core i3 530 CPU on an MSI HD57M-ED65 motherboard with 2x2GB 1.35 volt DDR3-1333 memory. Drive C: is an Intel 80GB SSD. Drive D: is a WD 500GB 2½” HDD. The PC also includes a Blu-ray combo ODD. My graphics card is a Radeon HD 5450 with 512MG GDDR3. My tuner is a Hauppauge WinTV-2250 TV receiver card that is based on the NXP SAA7164E chip made on older 90nm lithography and released way back in 2006. My HTPC runs Windows 7 Home Premium. I use HDMI 1.3 to connect the HTPC to the AV receiver and the AV receiver on to the TV Set. The only functions of the AV receiver are to siphon off the audio stream and drive the 5.1 speaker system and multiplex the video stream on to the HDTV set.
I chose the Radeon HD 5450 made by PowerColor because I thought it would do the job and because it was passively cooled. So far it seems to be working OK.
The HTPC burns about 65 Watts, at the wall, when it is active no matter what I ask it to do. When it is hibernated it burns less than 1 Watt, near as my WattsUp? Pro can measure. The whole home entertainment system burns 300 Watts, at the wall, active and 130 Watts, at the wall, when the HTPC is hibernated.
I dislike very much having to use a goddamned keyboard to operate the home entertainment system, but since I want access to files on other PCs and NASs connected to my copper network using the Windows drive mapping method, and those files are password protected, I am forced to use password protection on the HTPC to get automatic connection to shares. Therefore, I hibernate the HTPC instead of shut it down because from hibernation it will resume to the desktop without requiring a keyboard logon.
My home theater has two glaring weaknesses. The first is Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium as it relates to home entertainment. It is pure #, in my opinion. The second is the lack of sensitivity of the Hauppauge WinTV-2250 TV receiver. I live near the epicenter of Houston, TX. There, the blessed NXP SAA7164E chip does not do a decent job of picking up even the major TV channels. It really sucks.
I tried out Dish Network last year, but their fraudulent over-billing practice led me to send their receiver back after three months of double billing. I didn't find out about the class-action lawsuit against them until after it was already settled. Anyway, I'm making do with my homemade OTA antenna and I read every article like yours with interest. If you have any suggestions relating to better TV reception I would welcome them.
Thanks again for your article on the Diamond AIW5000,
Orville
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: retireeDan Ferguson 2011-03-07 00:45
I find two resources helpful for improving my signal with ANY setup: rabbitears.info and TSReader. This combo allows me to know the technical data for each station and measure the performance for very small changes in my setup (orientation). I especially like TSReader for antenna tweaking, which could be useful in getting SNR for you homemade antenna. Best of luck.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter