Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2000MHz DDR3 Memory Kit
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2000MHz DDR3 Memory Kit E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Steven Iglesias-Hearst   
Wednesday, 24 November 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2000MHz DDR3 Memory Kit
G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB Kit Specifications
Closer Look: G.Skill Ripjaws Memory
SPD and Overclocking Results
RAM Testing and Results
Benchmark Test Results
Application Test Results
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 Final Thoughts
G.Skill Ripjaws Memory Conclusion

Testing & Results

Testing Methodology: DDR3

At Benchmark Reviews we need to test memory without adding any other factors to the results. While testing stock speeds is usually easy, it only gets more difficult when we want to add overclocked results. We need to make some changes to the BIOS values and test each configuration to ensure maximum stability. First, I set the values on the BIOS and run Memtest to check if the kit is stable or not. I tried as much as possible to keep the CPU as close to its stock speed as possible so it does not factor in any of the tests.

Finally, Benchmark Reviews decides which frequencies are going to be shown in the graphics in order to leave the CPU factor outside of the equation. This way you'll probably see small differences between memory frequencies, latencies and voltage reflected on our charts without the CPU interfering in the results. Benchmark Reviews will use the following tests suites and applications:

  • AIDA 64 Extreme Edition
  • Passmark Memory Test v7.0 x64
  • SiSoft Sandra Lite 2010
  • Cinebench R11.5 OpenGL Test
  • Call of Duty: MW2 - "The Gulag" Intro
  • 7-Zip x64 Benchmark
  • Retouch Artists Adobe Photoshop CS4 Test

GSkill_RipJaws_2000MHz_CL9_8GB_Pair.jpg

Test System

  • Motherboard: ECS P55H-AK (Intel P55)
  • Processor: Intel Core i5 760
  • Video: PNY 9800GT 512MB
  • Disk Drive: 160GB Seagate Constellation SATA 7200rpm 32MB cache
  • Enclosure: Thermaltake Armor A90
  • PSU: Corsair HX750W Modular
  • Monitor: HKC 2219A 22" Widescreen
  • Operating System: Windows 7 ultimate x64

For testing purposes we shall use the following settings while benching the G.Skill Ripjaws 2000MHz 8GB kit:

  • DDR3 1333MHz CL7-7-7-20 1T @ 1.50v
  • DDR3 1600MHz CL8-8-8-24 1T @ 1.50v
  • DDR3 2000MHz CL9-10-9-28 1T @ 1.55v
  • DDR3 2118MHz CL9-9-9-24 1T @ 1.60v



 

Comments 

 
# good brandRealNeil 2010-12-01 06:05
I have 12 2GB sticks of RipJaws memory @1600 speeds and all of it works well in three systems, at it's rated speeds without any tweaks or problems. The Intel XMP profile worked on all three systems without problems. I had some problems getting my Hyper-X RAM to work the same way. Now they're selling sets of two 2GB sticks dirt cheap on NewEgg.
It's a good time to buy.

Thanks for another good look at a product.
Report Comment
 
 
# 9.0 Value?Swiffer 2010-12-02 05:54
I fail to see how this $209 product is a good value for the money based on the results you've posted. An 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333 G.SKILL Ripjaws kit is currently selling on Newegg for $109.99. Unless this DDR3 2000 kit is nearly twice as fast as the DDR3 1333 kit, I don't feel that the conclusion about the value of this product necessarily follows the results of the real world tests.

Also, there is a no baseline comparison to a control, or regular DDR3 1333 9-9-9-24, kit.

This product would be a good value if the product allowed one to push their system beyond the level of performance that one could achieve by spending that money elsewhere, such as a faster CPU or a more robust cooling solution.

That being said, I am an advocate of G.SKILL memory and I appreciate the time you've spent benching and sharing the results of your findings with others.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: 9.0 Value?Steven Iglesias-Hearst 2010-12-02 12:06
Value is based on similar spec' kit prices. I also factor in the low voltage aspect.
It's hard to show the true performance enhancement of a high speed RAM kit while keeping the CPU at its stock speed, the higher spped of your RAM gives you freedom to overclock your CPU without worrying about RAM instability. You will see a much better performance increase as you increase your CPU speed.

Also if you check NewEgg.com again you will see that this kit is now $189.99 and in stock. At time of writing the review it was $209.99 and out of stock.

Regards and thanks for the comments
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter