Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2000MHz DDR3 Memory Kit
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2000MHz DDR3 Memory Kit E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Steven Iglesias-Hearst   
Wednesday, 24 November 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 2000MHz DDR3 Memory Kit
G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB Kit Specifications
Closer Look: G.Skill Ripjaws Memory
SPD and Overclocking Results
RAM Testing and Results
Benchmark Test Results
Application Test Results
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 Final Thoughts
G.Skill Ripjaws Memory Conclusion

SPD and Overclocking Results

Now we have had a good look at the kit itself let's go now to the configuration. Looking at the SPD table below you know you have some tweaking on your hands, but at the same time you know it won't be hard to set up that 2000MHz speed.

GSkill_RipJaws_2000MHz_CL9_8GB_SPD.jpg

1066MHz is there, 1333MHz is kind of there but where is 1600MHz?? and why do we have 1218MHz?? These were a few things that went through my mind while I was looking at the SPD table for the first time. We live in a world full of convenience and at many points we come to expect certain things to be set up or ready to go as they are. Don't get me wrong though, I love to tweak and play with settings, but there are certain types of people that want everything on a plate and for them this SPD may be considered somewhat incomplete. At least the rated speed and timings are selectable via the XMP profile.

GSkill_RipJaws_2000MHz_CL9_8GB_134x21.jpg

Disregarding the SPD table our first stop is at DDR3 1333MHz (1340MHz to be precise) with CL7-7-7-20 timings and 1T Command Rate @ 1.5v. At this speed the CPU is running at 2.81GHz (134x21). This is fairly decent but nothing to boast to your friends about so let's push it more.

GSkill_RipJaws_2000MHz_CL9_8GB_160x17.jpg

Next stop is DDR3 1600MHz with CL8-8-8-24 timings and a 1T command rate @ 1.5v, the CPU is running at 2.72GHz (160x17) a step up on the multiplier would have put the CPU speed at 2.88GHz and may have given an overinflated reading during the benchmarks. Still, 1600MHz at these timings isn't all bad but 1600MHz is becoming old hat so we shall keep on tweaking and see what we can get.

GSkill_RipJaws_2000MHz_CL9_8GB_200x14.jpg

Here we are at rated speed, 2000MHz is not difficult with this kit as all you have to do is select the embedded XMP. There is a downside to this though, and that is having your other OC settings messed up. If you have the option to save your OC profile then do so before you select the XMP and then note down the settings after selecting the XMP, you can then revert to your saved profile and manually input the settings. This way you won't lose any CPU OC you might have in place etc. To confirm the above graphic, here we have DDR3 2000MHz CL9-10-9-28 1T @ 1.55v, at this setting the CPU is running at 2.8GHz (200x14).

GSkill_RipJaws_2000MHz_CL9_8GB_212x13.jpg

Now we push beyond those rated settings and into somewhat unknown territory, as you can see above I have the Ripjaws 2000MHz kit running at 2118MHz. This overclock was BCLK limited by my Core i5 760's IMC as it only allows a max 2:10 RAM multiplier. I managed to boot at 213 BCLK but it was too unstable to bench with, I then rewound to the above settings and was stable for all of our benchmark tests.

In the end I had to make do with a BCLK of 212 (DDR3 2118MHz) for the overclocked settings. At this speed my CPU is running at 2.75GHz (212x13). Increasing CPU multiplier by one would mean the test results may be over inflated as the CPU would be running at 2.96GHz. We investigate the effect this has in our final two application benchmarks.



 

Comments 

 
# good brandRealNeil 2010-12-01 06:05
I have 12 2GB sticks of RipJaws memory @1600 speeds and all of it works well in three systems, at it's rated speeds without any tweaks or problems. The Intel XMP profile worked on all three systems without problems. I had some problems getting my Hyper-X RAM to work the same way. Now they're selling sets of two 2GB sticks dirt cheap on NewEgg.
It's a good time to buy.

Thanks for another good look at a product.
Report Comment
 
 
# 9.0 Value?Swiffer 2010-12-02 05:54
I fail to see how this $209 product is a good value for the money based on the results you've posted. An 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333 G.SKILL Ripjaws kit is currently selling on Newegg for $109.99. Unless this DDR3 2000 kit is nearly twice as fast as the DDR3 1333 kit, I don't feel that the conclusion about the value of this product necessarily follows the results of the real world tests.

Also, there is a no baseline comparison to a control, or regular DDR3 1333 9-9-9-24, kit.

This product would be a good value if the product allowed one to push their system beyond the level of performance that one could achieve by spending that money elsewhere, such as a faster CPU or a more robust cooling solution.

That being said, I am an advocate of G.SKILL memory and I appreciate the time you've spent benching and sharing the results of your findings with others.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: 9.0 Value?Steven Iglesias-Hearst 2010-12-02 12:06
Value is based on similar spec' kit prices. I also factor in the low voltage aspect.
It's hard to show the true performance enhancement of a high speed RAM kit while keeping the CPU at its stock speed, the higher spped of your RAM gives you freedom to overclock your CPU without worrying about RAM instability. You will see a much better performance increase as you increase your CPU speed.

Also if you check NewEgg.com again you will see that this kit is now $189.99 and in stock. At time of writing the review it was $209.99 and out of stock.

Regards and thanks for the comments
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter