Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Motherboards arrow Intel DP67BG P67-Express Motherboard
Intel DP67BG P67-Express Motherboard E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Motherboards
Written by David Ramsey   
Sunday, 02 January 2011
Table of Contents: Page Index
Intel DP67BG P67-Express Motherboard
The Intel P67 Express Chipset
Features and Specifications
Closer Look: Intel DP67BG
Intel Burrage Detailed Features
Intel P67 Motherboard BIOS
Motherboard Testing Methodology
AIDA64 Extreme Edition Tests
PCMark Vantage Tests
CINEBENCH R11.5 Benchmarks
CPU-Dependent 3D Gaming
PassMark PerformanceTest
Media Encoding Benchmarks
SPECviewperf 11 Tests
SPECapc Lightwave
Overclocking
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

SPECviewperf 11 tests

The Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation is "...a non-profit corporation formed to establish, maintain and endorse a standardized set of relevant benchmarks that can be applied to the newest generation of high-performance computers." Their free SPECviewperf benchmark incorporates code and tests contributed by several other companies and is designed to stress computers in a reproducible way. SPECviewperf 11 was released in June 2010 and incorporates an expanded range of capabilities and tests. Note that results from previous versions of SPECviewperf cannot be compared with results from the latest version, as even benchmarks with the same name have been updated with new code and models.

SPECviewperf comprises test code from several vendors of professional graphics modelling, rendering, and visualization software. Most of the tests emphasize the CPU over the graphics card, and have between 5 and 13 sub-sections. For this review I ran the Lightwave, Maya, and Seimens Teamcenter Visualization tests. Results are reported as abstract scores, with higher being better.

Lightwave

The lightwave-01 viewset was created from traces of the graphics workloads generated by the SPECapc for Lightwave 9.6 benchmark.

The models for this viewset range in size from 2.5 to 6 million vertices, with heavy use of vertex buffer objects (VBOs) mixed with immediate mode. GLSL shaders are used throughout the tests. Applications represented by the viewset include 3D character animation, architectural review, and industrial design.

Maya

The maya-03 viewset was created from traces of the graphics workload generated by the SPECapc for Maya 2009 benchmark. The models used in the tests range in size from 6 to 66 million vertices, and are tested with and without vertex and fragment shaders.

State changes such as those executed by the application— including matrix, material, light and line-stipple changes— are included throughout the rendering of the models. All state changes are derived from a trace of the running application.

Siemens Teamcenter Visualization Mockup

The tcvis-02 viewset is based on traces of the Siemens Teamcenter Visualization Mockup application (also known as VisMockup) used for visual simulation. Models range from 10 to 22 million vertices and incorporate vertex arrays and fixed-function lighting.

State changes such as those executed by the application— including matrix, material, light and line-stipple changes— are included throughout the rendering of the model. All state changes are derived from a trace of the running application.

SPECviewperf.png

The SPECviewperf suite is a good example of a real-world test of applications that would normally be the province of a high-end workstation: the individual tests comprise code and models from real applications, running scripts that do real work. The Intel CPUs dominate the Lightwave and TCVIS tests, but it's the Maya test that's the real surprise: in previous testing, AMD processors have done better than Intel processors in the Maya test, with the AMD 1100T beating even the Core i7-980X Extreme Edition CPU, and we can see echoes of that here with the i7-950's lower score compared to the 1100T. But the P67/Sandy Bridge systems are much faster than anything else. This is another example where the 2600K scores are better than the 980x scores...in fact, they're about twice the score of the 980X in this same test.



 

Comments 

 
# Nice reviewAngelo 2011-01-13 21:35
A nice effort by Intel. I will be considering this board once the BIOS matures and higher overclocks can be achieved....
Report Comment
 
 
# Intel DP67BG layoutgangsta072 2011-04-09 08:12
The board has a great layout , on of the best of all p55 / p67 Boards
BUT for this one i suggest a tower WITHOUT a side window ; unless you
want to get eye cancer from looking at that thing...
Report Comment
 
 
# EPIC BOARD!Blake 2011-08-11 18:51
looks amazing unbelievable performance for the price!

I got mine for 179.99 at micro center with a core i5 2500k overclocked to 4.7 with the corsair h60!

GREAT BOARD!
Report Comment
 
 
# Good ReviewALFn8tr 2011-12-04 20:52
Hopin for the best with this board, just ordered it and a i7 2700k from Intel RetailEdge for only $238, for board and cpu :)
Fingers crossed
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Good ReviewDavid Ramsey 2011-12-04 20:57
Nice price for those in the industry...
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Intel DP67BG P67-Express MotherboardAbhimonnu Biswas 2012-05-23 00:25
21/5/2012 i purchase thise board its amazing but i did not assemble yet
because i has to to purchase cabinate,ram,cpu,gra phics card,harddisk e.t.c i can't wait to complete my computer to assemble i heard that the skull glow i want to purchase two nvidia gtx 570 graphics card to connect sli bridge but my dad gonna kill me for high budget i hope single will work for me i want to mount crosair cpu cooler but my dad shouting on me you know tha matter of money i wish you guys can get
i'm really a game lover that nividia gtx 570 is awsome
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter