Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow ASUS GeForce GT 430 Fermi GF108 Video Card
ASUS GeForce GT 430 Fermi GF108 Video Card E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Hank Tolman   
Monday, 11 October 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
ASUS GeForce GT 430 Fermi GF108 Video Card
ASUS ENGT430 Features
NVIDIA GF108 Specifications
Video Card Testing Methodology
DX10: 3DMark Vantage
DX10: Left 4 Dead 2
DX10: Street Fighter IV
DX10: Far Cry 2
DX10: Resident Evil 5
DX11: Aliens vs Predator
DX11: Battlefield Bad Company 2
DX11: Lost Planet 2
DX11: Unigine Heaven 2.2
ASUS ENGT430 Final Thoughts
ASUS ENGT430 GeForce GT 430 Conclusion

ASUS ENGT430 GeForce GT 430 Conclusion

IMPORTANT: Although the rating and final score mentioned in this conclusion are made to be as objective as possible, please be advised that every author perceives these factors differently at various points in time. While we each do our best to ensure that all aspects of the product are considered, there are often times unforeseen market conditions and manufacturer changes which occur after publication that could render our rating obsolete. Please do not base any purchase solely on our conclusion, as it represents our product rating specifically for the product tested which may differ from future versions. Benchmark Reviews begins our conclusion with a short summary for each of the areas that we rate.

Asus_ENGT430_Box.jpg

Most mainstream gamers are using the resolutions of 1280x1024 or 1680x1050. Most ASUS ENGT430 users will not be. Not for games anyway. The ASUS ENGT430 best performs at the low intensity resolution of 1024x768 when it comes to games. Higher resolutions are possible, but at the expense of good quality and higher settings. As far as mainstream gaming performance, the ASUS ENGT430 performed almost exactly where NVIDIA said it would. It will play the games at low resolution and with some features enabled. Our gaming benchmarks prove, however, that the ASUS ENGT430 could perform very well as a media GPU. The ASUS ENGT430 will have no problems streaming high quality movies, pictures, and videos and it also enables 3D media viewing. The ASUS ENGT430, being a GF100 series product, also supports DirectX 11, although not very well when it comes to video games. Other DX11 content will be easily playable, however.

ASUS sticks pretty closely to the reference design with their version of the GT430. The heatsink on the ENGT430 is slightly smaller and has the now familiar ASUS flare to it. The low profile ASUS ENGT430 looks like it would be right at home in a media PC. With the low temperatures and power consumption of its predecessors, the small heatsink and fan combo won't be an issue for keeping the ENGT430 cool and it besides heat, it looks pretty cool too.

That brings us to the actual construction of the ASUS ENGT430. In this regard, the ENGT430 again matches pretty closely the reference design. There are three I/O ports on the back, VGA, DVI, and HDMI. There isn't a power connector, and one isn't necessary. As I mentioned before, the relatively small cooling devices are plenty for the needs of the card. The ASUS ENGT430 looks like it keeps up the ASUS standard, there are no noticeable defects or misaligned capacitors. Overall, the ENGT430 is well-constructed and suited for the purposes of a GT 430 series card.

As far as media streaming, DX11 compatibility, and pre-rendered 3D media is concerned, the ASUS ENGT430 packs a lot of punch. It brings 3D to the entry level user and allows for mainstream gaming as well. In the gaming arena, the ASUS ENGT430 didn't surprise us like the GTX 460 and GTS 450 cards did. The ENGT430 performed right where it was supposed to, and not really higher than that. Seeing that the ASUS ENGT430 does exactly what it is supposed to, we have to judge it accordingly. It should receive good marks. I can't, however, give the ENGT430 the highest marks in functionality because I would have liked to see it do better in gaming.

The ASUS ASUS ENGT430/DI/1GD3(LP) is sold for $79.99 at NewEgg, representing an entry-level price for this video card. Compared to integrated graphics solutions, it will provide a significant increase in performance. The ENGT430 fits right into its price point and appeals greatly to PC users that view a lot of media from their computers and want to expand into 3D and DX11 media. The ASUS ENGT430 doesn't hold much value for a PC gamer or a graphics artist, but at the same time, that's not the market targeted by the GF108. The true value of the ASUS ENGT430 is in the ability not just to supply DX11 compliance, because that can be found in a lot of places now, but to truly revolutionize the media PC segment by implementing the 3D experience.

I said it before, and I'll end it with here. To put it bluntly, if you want to experience 3D media on your PC and don't care too much about games, the ASUS ENGT430 will be great for you. If you want to play games, get a better video card.

Pros:Quality Recognition: Benchmark Reviews Silver Tachometer Award

+ DirectX-11 Compatible
+ 3D Vision / 3D Media Capable
+ Can Play Mainstream Games
+ Low Profile Video Card
+ Great Media Center GPU
+ Full-size HDMI 1.3 Output

Cons:

- Games have to be "dialed-down" to playable settings

Ratings:

  • Performance: 8.25
  • Appearance: 9.50
  • Construction: 9.00
  • Functionality: 8.50
  • Value: 9.00

Final Score: 8.85 out of 10.

Quality Recognition: Benchmark Reviews Silver Tachometer Award.

Questions? Comments? Benchmark Reviews really wants your feedback. We invite you to leave your remarks in our Discussion Forum.


Related Articles:


 

Comments 

 
# huh?Dave 2010-10-11 14:02
"NVIDIA released the GTX480 video card, they reclaimed the top performance position"

How do you figure? The 5970 can't be touched in benchmark tests. Price aside, the 5970 is the beast to beat.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: huh?Olin Coles 2010-10-11 14:08
The author is probably speaking figuratively, as in NVIDIA has reclaimed the title of producing the best GPU... which they did when GF100 launched. It wasn't by much, but it was certainly enough to see a difference.
Report Comment
 
 
# re: huh?warthorn 2010-10-11 14:11
GTX 480 has a more powerful GPU core and is the most powerful single-GPU on the market. Additionally, if talking about "ultimate" current performance, GTX 480 Quad-SLI usually beats HD 5970 CFX (4GPU vs 4GPU).
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS GeForce GT 430 Fermi GF108 Video CardXeann 2010-10-11 17:37
i apprecciate all the bennchmarks expose here. Definitly, gives me a clear example in where the GT 430 can do a good job. but I think it would be a fairer comparison with a GT 240, Radeon HD 5600 for example.

Anyway, thanks for this benchmark
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS GeForce GT 430 Fermi GF108 Video CardRealNeil 2010-10-11 18:02
5 minutes after I pulled the trigger on this card at newegg, I got the email about this review.
Good to see that it will work for what I want it to.
Report Comment
 
 
# GTX480 vs 5970Hank 2010-10-11 19:24
As was stated by the other posts, I was referring to the performance of the GPU, I should have been more specific.
Report Comment
 
 
# Image quality?Sweatshopking 2010-10-12 03:57
after reading the anandtech review of this card, I have a few concerns. One is the fact that a 5600 series costs less, and performs better. It will also be silent, which this card isnt. As well, according to anand, this card has inferior image quality. Knowing that a more affordable card performs better, and looks better, how can you recommend this card?
Report Comment
 
 
# WellBez 2010-10-21 01:31
Anand was testing the Nvidia reference card, so when it comes to noise at least, you can't compare with the ASUS card.
Report Comment
 
 
# RecommendationHank 2010-10-13 15:27
Because this card supports Physx and, more importantly, 3D media playback. I recommended it for a media environment. Show me a Radeon that can do that. I think the Radeon is much better if you want to play games, and I said so.
Report Comment
 
 
# Any???Sweatshopking 2010-10-14 05:17
Please see
##xbitlabs.com/news/video/display/20100324235120_ATI_Radeon_Finall y_Supports_Stereosco pic_3D_Output.html

any dx 11 card will support 3d on a 120hz monitor, since 10.3 drivers. yes, it's less functional, but it works.
Report Comment
 
 
# OkHank 2010-10-14 06:26
And PhysX?

So basically, what you are telling me is that, since you can get 3D with less functionality on any other card, and who cares about PhysX, I shouldn't recommend this card for HTPC use?

Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# well the second parts true...Sweatshopking 2010-10-14 06:36
I would say, that functional isn't the best word. It IS functional, and it's not proprietary, so you can use a variety of software. Check out bit cauldron for some sweet products. I'm not a fan boy either way. I like both companies, my concern is to recommend a card that underperforms a card 1 year old, delivers poor image quality, at a higher cost. Also, You're not going to be running any physx on this card, so it's moot.

That being said, it's your site, do as you want. If you think it's worth it, fine, give'r. But to me, it seems like a lackluster product. Slower, hotter, louder, poorer image quality, and requires proprietary 3d, and more expensive. Recommend away.
Report Comment
 
 
# Bottom LineHank 2010-10-14 06:40
The bottom line here is, I recommend this card for HTPC or media PC use. I clearly stated so in the article. That's my opinion. You obviously have a different opinion. You can go out an buy a proprietary HDTV, hope it works with the proprietary set of glasses and IR receiver you get somewhere else, and buy some proprietary software that might work with your TV and glasses, all so you can buck the recommendation of a GT430 card that plays 3D media.

One last thing, the ENGT430 that I tested was silent. It also doesn't require a PSU input as the 5670 does. Sounds good for a media PC to me.

Hank
Report Comment
 
 
# Whoa Brother,Sweatshopking 2010-10-14 06:50
First of all, The one you have pictured Is NOT silent, it clearly has a fan, however quite. it is not passively cooled.
Second, I'm not disputing that it might be ok for HTPC, just that it's not the best.
third, NVIDIA HAS PROPRIETARY GLASSES AND REQUIRES A KIT. IT'S NOT OPEN, and the drivers are not reviewable by other manufacturers. Amd does not, and is not. They use the VESA standard, and will work with ALMOST ALL glasses and tv's, vs nvidia, who only works with nvidia glasses, and requires the nvidia kit.
I'm not sure why you got so worked up, i realize this site has been getting a lot of flack recently over some of the nvidia reviews, and that might be part of the reason. I do appreciate the fact that you reply to my concerns. I realize as well, that this isn't my site, and come to enjoy it, at no cost to myself.

i would like to thank you for the effort to review, benchmark, and discuss this card and this article.

thanks

Josh
Report Comment
 
 
# No problems hereHank 2010-10-14 09:31
I'm sorry if I seemed worked up. I don't think that this card is better than a 5670, but I do think it would be better for a media PC. I could only find one 5670 that doesn't have a fan, I assumed you meant just silent to the reviewer's ears. You are right, it is not passively cooled.
The difference that I have found between the NVIDIA and ATI 3D is this: You will have to find a TV that is supported by the NVIDIA hardware, but it's just that. With ATI, you have to make sure the glasses are supported, you have to get 3rd party drivers for the glasses, and you have to make sure the TV is supported. The article that you linked specifies that as well. In fact, the link it had for DDD showing what TVs it works with is down and iZ3d only works with its own monitor. So it seems easier to me to buy the NVIDIA kit, then just worry about the TV. Anyway, like I said, you are entitled to your opinion and we certainly appreciate you commenting here. It's good to have contrasting viewpoints.
Report Comment
 
 
# It's all good!Sweatshopking 2010-10-14 09:49
Thanks, I appreciate the candid response.

I've heard that ATI's implementation was becoming significantly streamlined in compared to nvidia's. It's interesting to hear that might not be the case. Let me know how it's hanging Hank, i'll continue to follow your articles.
Report Comment
 
 
# AMD and 3DOlin Coles 2010-10-14 09:56
Just for reference, AMD/ATI does not have a dedicated 3D solution. There are 3rd party kits that work with Radeon video cards, but they work equally well with GeForce products, too. Alternatively, 3D Vision offers expanded special effects through coordinated development.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter