Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Network arrow TRENDnet TPL-303E2K 200Mbps Powerline Adapter
TRENDnet TPL-303E2K 200Mbps Powerline Adapter E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Network
Written by Colin Armstrong - Edited by Olin Coles   
Sunday, 15 August 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
TRENDnet TPL-303E2K 200Mbps Powerline Adapter
Closer Look: Powerline AV Adapter Kit
Powerline AV Adapter Kit Software Features
NAS Testing Methodology
Powerline Adapter Test Results
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Closer Look: Powerline AV Adapter Kit

Included in the kit is two identical adapters; one for plugging into your modem and the other for your computer. Also included in the package is an installation guide, a CD-ROM containing the same guide and the software, as well as two Cat 5 ethernet cables.

TRENDnet 200Mbps Powerline AV Adapter Kit

The front of the adapter features three LED indicators: power status, the connection to your powerline, and the connection to your ethernet cable. Above these indicators is a "Sync" button, which resets the current network connection.

TRENDnet 200Mbps Powerline AV Adapter Kit

The back of the Powerline Adapter hosts a standard Type A AC power plug, which is able to plug into any power outlet.

TRENDnet 200Mbps Powerline AV Adapter Kit

On the right side of each adapter is a reset button, which simply causes a reboot to occur.

TRENDnet 200Mbps Powerline AV Adapter Kit



 

Comments 

 
# Most impressive speedK Gregory 2010-08-15 12:49
Great review and testing methods. I really like the powerline product in every way. It can serve as an option for granting access to isolated areas or places that are difficult to wire.

I'm curious if 'conditioned' power would increase the throughput. Such as a basic line conditioner (Tripp Lite, Belkin, etc.) on both outlets and then the powerline product is connected to the line conditioner. Any interest in this setup and test for better throughput?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Most impressive speedOlin Coles 2010-08-15 13:27
Power line conditioning is not something that occurs throught the entire circuit, only to devices behind the conditioned endpoint (UPS, etc).
Report Comment
 
 
# Correct, wasn't implying otherwiseK Gregory 2010-08-16 08:14
There simply must be associative performance with a product like the Trendnet PowerLine product and fluctuations on a circuit in many homes as your review touches on a bit. Thus the curiosity I have for some voltage regulation\power conditioning at the TX and RX points that may reflect better throughput and reliability. I can't comprehend that there wouldn't be any change if the noise is reduced or eliminated, and the many overvolts,undervolts and the like are addressed by a voltage regulator\power conditioner. Am I correct that you believe otherwise?
Report Comment
 
 
# Very InterestingJohn Darcy 2010-08-16 10:25
I was very interested by this article. I had heard about the technology but never seen a review or known of its use anywhere by anyone, or even discussed as an alternative to wireless impaired areas. I was happily elucidated this morning by this review.
As you pointed out, this can be a great addition to home and small business networking; the speed it what caught my attention.
I will be looking for this and might even give it a try early next year. I use wireless on a couple of my computers because i didnt want to drill through walls for the cat5 or cat 6 ethernet connections.
I enjoyed being enlightened and having my curiosity peeked as well by this review.
Report Comment
 
 
# 200 Mbps or 100 MbpsDigital.Ark 2010-09-30 09:43
What I don't get, is why this thing would be advertised as capable of up to 200 Mbps under ideal wiring conditions over short distances, but only supports up to 100 Mbps on it's Ethernet port. Wouldn't you need Gigabit Ethernet to support up to 200 Mbps?

Presumably, this thing is only capable of up to 100 Mbps theoretically, because of the bottleneck at the Ethernet port.

Am I missing something? Because the box clearly says 200 Mbps powerline, and 100 Mbps Ethernet on the specifications list.
Report Comment
 
 
# 100 Mbps Full duplexFinal Frontier 2010-10-06 03:06
Ever thought about full duplex on Fastethernet ? The marketing department makes it 2 x 100 Mbps = 200Mbps
Report Comment
 
 
# Great Alternative to WirelessKevin T 2011-05-19 13:49
Great review and testing method. This was exactly the information I was looking for before deciding to set up my network. Sounds like a great alternative to wireless although the speeds cannot compare to traditional ethernet.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter