Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Notebook | Compact arrow Zalman ZM-NC3000U Notebook Cooler
Zalman ZM-NC3000U Notebook Cooler E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Notebook | Compact PC
Written by Steven Iglesias-Hearst   
Thursday, 15 July 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
Zalman ZM-NC3000U Notebook Cooler
Closer Look: Zalman ZM-NC3000U
Zalman ZM-NC3000U Detailed Features
Testing and Results
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Zalman ZM-NC3000U Detailed Features

A more detailed look here at the Zalman ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler now, there are a total of 1300 ventilation holes covering a little under 60% of the top surface area. Being made of aluminium the vented area is quite strong, there is a little bit of flex if you push down hard enough but the fan stops it going too far and it springs back to it's original position. There are two anti-slip rubber grips towards the back corners and a full length strip towards the front that prevent your laptop from sliding off the cooler.

Zalman_ZM-NC3000U_Notebook_Cooler_Top.jpg

Flipped over the Zalman ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler you can see a different plastic has been used for construction, good call in my opinion as this is a rarely seen side and as such does not need any such aesthetics. There are two feet at the back that allow you to gain a little more height for your convenience, they also have anti-slip rubber attached and a further two rubber grips can be seen towards the front.

Zalman_ZM-NC3000U_Notebook_Cooler_Bottom.jpg

As previously mentioned the Zalman ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler has a big 220mm fan installed, it is a nice black transparent design. The speed range on this fan is 620~720 rpm @ 17~23.5 dBA respectively, this is a very quiet fan even on its max speed setting.

Zalman_ZM-NC3000U_Notebook_Cooler_Fan.jpg

Looking at the rear I/O panel now, from left to right are; Power on/off button, Fan speed control wheel, Mini USB power connector, 3x USB 2.0 ports, and an auxiliary 5v DC input for when attached devices need more power.

Zalman_ZM-NC3000U_Notebook_Cooler_Rear_Panel.jpg

Included with the Zalman ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler is the Y-type USB power/data lead. The mini USB end plugs into the back of the cooler and the other two regular size USB plugs connect to your laptops USB ports.

Zalman_ZM-NC3000U_Notebook_Cooler_Y_USB_Lead.jpg

This concludes the Functions and features part of the review, in the next section we will test the Zalman ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler and put it through it's paces to see how well it performs.



 

Comments 

 
# General ClassificationFederico La Morgia 2010-07-20 23:27
not that you could place these products into one overall ranking so that at a stroke one can see what the product cools more a notebook?
Report Comment
 
 
# Thanks!Coli 2010-07-22 03:57
This is exactly what I needed!

I just ordered this and can't wait to get it :-)

Thank you so much for this very useful test, guys.
Report Comment
 
 
# Great reviewAl 2010-10-09 00:12
Very nice reviews of both Zalman's last NB coolers. I was really looking forward those two models, but didn't made my choice. As I'm also considering performance rather than noise nuisance, I will get the NC-3000 to remplace my NC-2000 :)
Thank you!
Report Comment
 
 
# Only bad thing...Anders 2010-11-16 07:12
Had mine for 2 weeks now. The only bad thing is that there is no "plate/surface" on the underbelly. By that I mean they should of made the surface rap around the whole product so you can have it on your lap, on even use it while in bed and not worry about blocking the fan.

So what I did, I bought a thin plexiglass plate and glued it underneath. So now I can use it on my lap, or while in bed under my cover and still use it and not blocking the fan!

Sure there are laptop cools that are built like I am asking, but they all have 2-3 small fans and thus resulting in high noise. Zalman is the only one I have found that uses one large fan!
Report Comment
 
 
# Sweet!rhon 2011-01-17 08:25
A very professional review. I really apreciate the face that considerable amount of homework was done to arrive at a conclusion instead of just drawing an inference based on hear say.

I just placed my order on Amazon. Before clickin 'Buy', I did some background reading myself and saw/read many reviews. This by far is the most comprehensive and detailed review.

Excellent review. Thank you!

Can't wait for mine to arrive :)
Report Comment
 
 
# AdviceNick 2011-01-19 10:48
Thanks for this excellent review. Only downside is that they used a 15.X" notebook rather than a 17" notebook. I'd say that iy should have been included because as a 17" notebook owner, this is really the only Zalman notebook cooler I can use (being 40cm wide, exactly the same as my notebook width).

Most 17" notebook users won't see as spectacular results as this review since the air is focused entirely on the centre of the notebook and there's a good chance that (like me) the intake fan(s) under the notebook are located towards the far sides next to or near a exhaust on the side/back of the notebook.

If anyone with a 17" notebook is in a similar situation I'd advise positioning the notebook so the rubber feet of the notebook sit on top of the rubber ridges on the surface of the cooler. The extra clearance should help the air being blown up to reach the intake fans more effectively (assuming they aren't right on top of the 220mm fan like the review notebook probably was).

Thanks again for this review, as Rhon said, it's a very professional article aside from the lack of 17" notebook as a comparison. My NC3000U should be arriving tomorrow so hopefully my theory to increase air flow to intake fans will bear fruit :)
Report Comment
 
 
# Zalman NC3000U = wonderfulValentin N 2011-05-17 10:05
This baby is the best you can get on the market with excellent cooling. It cools my hp pavilion tx2690eo. the temps were before 93-100 and it's 87-95. now I am also able to touch the under side of the laptop, the vga ports is now touchable.

I have tried others but nothing beats Zalaman when it comes to laptop cooling (cpu cooling, maybe; I don't own any cpu cooler from zalman). I wish the fan had higher rpm (you hardly hear it at full power) such as 1200rpm or so. I don't mind noise but that's me ^^

Zalman is a must even if it's more expensive.

Regards,
Valentin N
Report Comment
 
 
# Increased noise level within one month of operationQwerty 2013-08-24 03:33
The cooler was perfectly silent in the beginning, but after some operation time the fan apparently started to touch some fixed part. Disassembling, spraying some WD-40 lubricant, and temporary putting a thin paper between fan and the rest in order to realign the fan helped to reduce the noise level to its initial state.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter