Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Notebook | Compact arrow Zalman ZM-NC3000U Notebook Cooler
Zalman ZM-NC3000U Notebook Cooler E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Notebook | Compact PC
Written by Steven Iglesias-Hearst   
Thursday, 15 July 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
Zalman ZM-NC3000U Notebook Cooler
Closer Look: Zalman ZM-NC3000U
Zalman ZM-NC3000U Detailed Features
Testing and Results
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Zalman ZM-NC3000U Notebook Cooler Review

Zalman is once again in the spotlight here at Benchmark reviews, returning today with the ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler. Regular visitors may remember the ZM-NC2500 Plus notebook cooler from Zalman was reviewed here not to long ago. While the function is the same, the design is very different. The Zalman ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler sports a big 220mm centre mounted fan and has a sand blasted, anodized aluminium vented surface surrounded by a glossy black outer bezel, which makes for a very nice look indeed. We aim to see in this review if this design difference will offer any more performance over its younger brother.

Before you jump to the results page, please take some time to get a good look at the Zalman ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler and learn its features and specifications.

Zalman_ZM-NC3000U_Notebook_Cooler_Intro_600.jpg

The speed of the 220mm fan housed within the Zalman ZM-NC3000U notebook cooler can be adjusted to suit your needs and the vented area covers nearly 60% of the top surface. Read on to find out more.

Zalman Cooler Features

  • 220mm cooling fan for maximum cooling performance, in silent operation (17-23.5dBA)
  • 3 port USB 2.0 hub
  • Auxiliary power support (DC in, 5V. Adaptor not included)
  • Maximum cooling of notebook base with 1300 vent holes
  • Compatible with notebooks up to 17" widescreen
  • Adjustable fan speed
  • Non-slip rubber grip
  • Sleek design incorporating aluminium panels
  • Ergonomic design for minimum user fatigue
  • Adjustable height with the use of a riser for user convenience

ZM-NC3000U Specifications

COOLER
Dimensions 365(L) x 400(W) x 60(H) mm
Weight 1.2kg
Base Material Aluminium, Plastic
Input Voltage 5v (USB Powered)
Color Black
FAN
Size/Type 220mm Axial Fan
Quantity 1
Bearing Type Sleeve Bearing
RPM Range 620~720rpm ± 10 %
Noise level Range 17~23.5dBA ± 10 %
COMPONENTS
Included Y-Type USB power/data cable
User manual
Optional ZM-NC3000U Power Adaptor
(Sold seperately)

About Zalman Tech Co., Ltd.

Zalman tech co., Ltd. was founded in 1999 and introduced to the computer industry the concept of "Noiseless computing." In a world filled with noisy computers, "silent" cooling solutions were sought everywhere and contributed to Zalman's rapid growth into the world's leader of high performance, ultra quiet PC cooling solutions.

Zalman continues to lead in the industry through decisive R&D investments, peerless craftsmanship, intensive global marketing and generous customer support.

Business diversification with innovation such as 2D/3D Convertible LCD Monitors, Heatpipe Cooled Power Supplies, Notebook Coolers, Surround Sound and Dual Stereo Headphones and FPS GUNTMGaming Interface holds true to Zalman's promise to provide "Cool Innovations".



 

Comments 

 
# General ClassificationFederico La Morgia 2010-07-20 23:27
not that you could place these products into one overall ranking so that at a stroke one can see what the product cools more a notebook?
Report Comment
 
 
# Thanks!Coli 2010-07-22 03:57
This is exactly what I needed!

I just ordered this and can't wait to get it :-)

Thank you so much for this very useful test, guys.
Report Comment
 
 
# Great reviewAl 2010-10-09 00:12
Very nice reviews of both Zalman's last NB coolers. I was really looking forward those two models, but didn't made my choice. As I'm also considering performance rather than noise nuisance, I will get the NC-3000 to remplace my NC-2000 :)
Thank you!
Report Comment
 
 
# Only bad thing...Anders 2010-11-16 07:12
Had mine for 2 weeks now. The only bad thing is that there is no "plate/surface" on the underbelly. By that I mean they should of made the surface rap around the whole product so you can have it on your lap, on even use it while in bed and not worry about blocking the fan.

So what I did, I bought a thin plexiglass plate and glued it underneath. So now I can use it on my lap, or while in bed under my cover and still use it and not blocking the fan!

Sure there are laptop cools that are built like I am asking, but they all have 2-3 small fans and thus resulting in high noise. Zalman is the only one I have found that uses one large fan!
Report Comment
 
 
# Sweet!rhon 2011-01-17 08:25
A very professional review. I really apreciate the face that considerable amount of homework was done to arrive at a conclusion instead of just drawing an inference based on hear say.

I just placed my order on Amazon. Before clickin 'Buy', I did some background reading myself and saw/read many reviews. This by far is the most comprehensive and detailed review.

Excellent review. Thank you!

Can't wait for mine to arrive :)
Report Comment
 
 
# AdviceNick 2011-01-19 10:48
Thanks for this excellent review. Only downside is that they used a 15.X" notebook rather than a 17" notebook. I'd say that iy should have been included because as a 17" notebook owner, this is really the only Zalman notebook cooler I can use (being 40cm wide, exactly the same as my notebook width).

Most 17" notebook users won't see as spectacular results as this review since the air is focused entirely on the centre of the notebook and there's a good chance that (like me) the intake fan(s) under the notebook are located towards the far sides next to or near a exhaust on the side/back of the notebook.

If anyone with a 17" notebook is in a similar situation I'd advise positioning the notebook so the rubber feet of the notebook sit on top of the rubber ridges on the surface of the cooler. The extra clearance should help the air being blown up to reach the intake fans more effectively (assuming they aren't right on top of the 220mm fan like the review notebook probably was).

Thanks again for this review, as Rhon said, it's a very professional article aside from the lack of 17" notebook as a comparison. My NC3000U should be arriving tomorrow so hopefully my theory to increase air flow to intake fans will bear fruit :)
Report Comment
 
 
# Zalman NC3000U = wonderfulValentin N 2011-05-17 10:05
This baby is the best you can get on the market with excellent cooling. It cools my hp pavilion tx2690eo. the temps were before 93-100 and it's 87-95. now I am also able to touch the under side of the laptop, the vga ports is now touchable.

I have tried others but nothing beats Zalaman when it comes to laptop cooling (cpu cooling, maybe; I don't own any cpu cooler from zalman). I wish the fan had higher rpm (you hardly hear it at full power) such as 1200rpm or so. I don't mind noise but that's me ^^

Zalman is a must even if it's more expensive.

Regards,
Valentin N
Report Comment
 
 
# Increased noise level within one month of operationQwerty 2013-08-24 03:33
The cooler was perfectly silent in the beginning, but after some operation time the fan apparently started to touch some fixed part. Disassembling, spraying some WD-40 lubricant, and temporary putting a thin paper between fan and the rest in order to realign the fan helped to reduce the noise level to its initial state.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter