Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Accessories arrow Herman Miller Embody Chair Review
Herman Miller Embody Chair Review E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Accessories
Written by Olin Coles   
Wednesday, 14 July 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
Herman Miller Embody Chair Review
Features and Specifications
Herman Miller Embody Options
Closer Look: Embody Chair
Embody Chair Detailed Features
Embody Chair Adjustments
Testing The Embody Chair
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Smart Furniture Herman Miller Embody Chair

Herman Miller Embody Options

Herman Miller Embody chair cloth textiles utilize spacer-and-knit constructions used in athletic footwear and geo-textiles. These materials are meant to enhance Embody, not simply cover up the chair. Contemporary colors paired with either of two frame colors and three base colors help to simplify choice and appeal to universal tastes.

Herman Miller offers the Embody chair in one of two different material styles: Rhythm (standard) or Balance (premium). Herman Miller Rhythm material is 100% polyester, and is familiar to other product lines. Balance is 100% polyester knit, created especially for the Embody Chair. Loft, or thickness, gives it a cushy feel. Air and light pass through it more easily, providing maximum cushion and breathability. As a note, Balance White material is not covered by warranty against discoloration. The Embody chair is available in one of fifteen standard material colors:

Herman-Miller-Embody-Balance-Material.jpg

Herman Miller Embody Rhythm Standard Material

  • Rhythm Poppy
  • Rhythm Pumpkin
  • Rhythm Kiwi Green
  • Rhythm Green Apple
  • Rhythm Peacock
  • Rhythm Iris
  • Rhythm Twilight
  • Rhythm Berry Blue
  • Rhythm Black
  • Rhythm Mink
  • Rhythm Khaki
  • Rhythm Bayou
  • Rhythm Charcoal
  • Rhythm Molasses
  • Rhythm Mulberry
  • For an added premium (usually $200 more), the following thirteen Embody material colors are also available:

    Herman-Miller-Embody-Rhythm-Material.jpg

    Herman Miller Embody Balance Premium Material

  • Balance Carbon
  • Balance Tomato
  • Balance Mango
  • Balance Papaya
  • Balance Chartreuse
  • Balance Green Apple
  • Balance Iris
  • Balance Berry Blue
  • Balance Blue Moon
  • Balance Black
  • Balance Khaki
  • Balance Blue Grey
  • Balance White
  • The Herman Miller Embody chair can be custom-configured with either black 'Graphite' or white plastic upper frame. Light colored materials receive an opaque plastic 'Pixel matrix' backing (illustrated below) and dark materials use a black plastic backing, regardless of frame color selection.

    For an additional fee (usually $100), fully-adjustable arm supports are available in a matching upper frame color. Most people rest their arms on the desktop surface, which makes this upgrade unnecessary.

    Herman-Miller-Embody-Chair-Back-Corner-Black.jpg

    Embody Chair with Graphite Frame and Base

    After the upper chair has been configured, the lower portion is customized to feed individual needs. Herman Miller offers the Embody chair with three different trim and base options: solid polished Aluminum (silver color), Titanium (light grey color), or Graphite (black color). All Embody chairs utilize a polished cast-aluminum seat frame. The Graphite base unit is available as an option whenever the upper portion is also configured with Graphite. While the Aluminum and Titanium base units are metal, the Graphite base is plastic. Some outlets charge an additional $200 for the polished aluminum base, while many offer it for free.

    Herman-Miller-Embody-Chair-Clear-Casters.jpg

    Embody Chair with Polished Aluminum Base and Translucent Casters

    Embody can be configured with four different roller caster options: carpet casters, carpet or hard floor casters, carpet or hard floor braking casters (immobile chair when unseated), and premium translucent casters. Not all outlets offer the translucent caster option, while some offer it for free and others charge a $50 premium.

    Smart Furniture Herman Miller Embody Chair



     

    Comments 

     
    # RE: Herman Miller Embody ChairSteven Iglesias-Hearst 2010-07-14 09:00
    Ha Ha I have never felt so uncomfortable whilst reading an article, your words were so descriptive that I felt every bad point of my chair. I will never be able to look at my chair in the same way again. :(
    Report Comment
     
     
    # RE: Herman Miller Embody Chair ReviewAdam 2010-07-15 02:56
    I honestly wish I could justify (and afford) spending £800 on a chair, it looks that comfortable.
    But in the end of the day it's just a chair, albeit a very nice one and so spending that kind of money on one would be nuts.
    Report Comment
     
     
    # 800 is nothingbereal 2010-07-23 19:39
    so you spend countless $$$ on tech that gets thrown away and every day your back goes to #... i have an aeron and I am about to buy another one or this one and bring it into work... other chairs are a joke
    Report Comment
     
     
    # Graphic DesignerCourtney 2012-01-31 16:18
    The purpose of the chair is not to be expensive and look good, but it is about the ergonomics. It's what the chair does for you that you don't notice. People for the most part, unless for artistic purposes, design office furniture to keep your body at it's most natural and comfortable state. Thats why they have created different options on how to adjust the chair so you sit properly. They also have a wide variety of "accessories" that can make your job more comfortable as well such as foot rests and keyboard trays. From an outsider who happen to get a job to work for a furniture company, it always amazes me how much one typically doesn't know about what they use just about everyday.
    Report Comment
     
     
    # RE: Herman Miller Embody Chair ReviewServando Silva 2010-07-18 19:16
    I feel sad after reading this. I payed $20 for my chair and it's the best in the house (others cost $10-$15). I can't really afford more than $200 for a chair, not now...
    Report Comment
     
     
    # LOLErik 2010-07-18 20:42
    I thought you guys were joking about reviewing a chair, but if I had it I would review it too. Not sure why you would want a chair without armrests though!

    -Sent from my non-Herman Miller chair
    Report Comment
     
     
    # RE: LOLServando Silva 2010-07-18 20:48
    Erik, this isn't a "common" chair. Its somehow GEEKY look makes it perfect for a review. About the arm-rests, I thought the same until I had my first chair with arm-rests. Then I had to go back since my elbows were crying and they (the arm-rests) topped with my keyboard.
    Report Comment
     
     
    # RE: Herman Miller Embody Chair ReviewJason 2010-07-18 22:59
    Thanks for all your time and effort in putting together this review! Ever since I started IT consulting 20+ years ago, I have considered my chair as crucial as having the fastest PC components, especially since I also work "half-time"! :-)

    The Embody looks great. I'm ordering one today.
    Report Comment
     
     
    # Back PainDaniel 2010-07-22 10:27
    My back has never hurt so bad while reading an article in my life. Awesome review, keep up the good work.
    Report Comment
     
     
    # great 1 year experience so farSomebody 2010-07-26 18:01
    I bought an Embody chair about a year ago and it has been a great experience so far. It seemed like a big splurge when I bought it, but it has been totally worth it for ergonomics and comfort; I expect it will last many years. The novel design combines the best features of sling and cushion seats.
    Report Comment
     
     
    # The older you get...James 2010-07-28 13:07
    Interesting article on an under-covered subject. As you get older, or injured, these kind of products do make sense. 20 years in the military had exposed me to a few very good products though most were sub-par for similar prices. A crummy seat paid for with my tax dollars that wore out in two years for 375 is infuriating. When I had a good chair I was far more productive. You do get what you pay for. Wish I had the money, I just have to get up and walk around every hour or so to work the pain out...
    Report Comment
     
     
    # Sr Ergonomic ConsultantJane Sleeth 2010-08-09 12:22
    We are commencing a full trial of this chair in our offices as we have the full spectrum of anthropometrics. We will report back to you but so far so good with the chair - our biggest difficulty lies in finding chairs where the armrests will move inwards enough in width to fit our small 5th percentile female end users. Jane Sleeth #optimalperformance.ca
    Report Comment
     
     
    # MaterialRhythm 2010-10-12 14:44
    Isn't the balance material similar to what's on the Aeron? I think the difference is more aesthetic than anything else. I don't think your ass will feel an extra tenth of a millimeter of padding.
    Report Comment
     
     
    # RE: Herman Miller Embody Chair Reviewlivinlyf5 2013-04-14 23:52
    I bought the aeron recently and it's amazing how resilient it is. It can really handle any amount of abuse I throw at it. It really is worth the investment. I never have any back pains.
    Report Comment
     

    Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

    Search Benchmark Reviews
    QNAP Network Storage Servers

    Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter