Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Storage arrow Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSD
Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSD E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Storage
Written by Austin Downing - Edited by Allison Downing and Olin Coles   
Wednesday, 30 June 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSD
Features and Specifications
Closer Look: Corsair Reactor R60
JMF612 Detailed Features
SSD Testing Methodology
AS-SSD Benchmark
ATTO Benchmark
CrystalDiskMark 3.0 Benchmark
EVEREST Disk Benchmark
IOmeter Benchmark
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

AS-SSD Benchmark

Alex Schepeljanski of Alex Intelligent Software develops the free AS SSD Benchmark utility for testing storage devices. The AS SSD Benchmark tests sequential read and write speeds, input/output operational performance, and response times. Because this software receives frequent updates, Benchmark Reviews recommends that you compare results only within the same version family.

When you look at the performance from a purely sequential point of view, the Corsair Reactor R60 performs admirably for the price you pay - 225.46MB/s read speed and 106.53MB/s sequential write speed. Sadly, once you start looking at 4k and 4k 64 thread, these numbers diminish greatly.

Corsair-R60_AS-SSD-Benchmark.png

Compared with the results of other drives, you start to see the importance that a controller can have on a system. The Corsair Reactor uses the JMF612 controller and, although leaps and bounds better then traditional storage, is still at the bottom of the list when it comes to 64-thread 4k IOPS.

AS-SSD-Benchmark_Results.png

Drive Hardware Tested

The following storage hardware has been used in our benchmark performance testing, and may be included in portions of this article:



 

Comments 

 
# RE: Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSDServando Silva 2010-06-30 20:46
Hi Austin, good review. Unluckily for Corsair, I never consider their SSDs as a good option because their drives don't match the price and/or performance of the competition.
On the Cons you mentioned low 4k speed, and I think for whoever wants to buy a SSD for OS, 4k read/write performance is the key to achieve better speeds.
At the value, you gave a 6.0, but in the conclusions it says it has a pretty good entry cost. Shouldn't the BIOS and performance issues affect directly on the performance and functionality scores? Or why did you put a 6 on value?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSDAustin Downing 2010-06-30 21:20
I took into consider the issues in almost all of the points. I feel that as customers buy this drive for storage of OS and most likely important files (although you should always have a backup) that the value of the drive is greatly diminished if it cannot do that function regardless of speed.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSDtuleggi 2010-07-01 00:55
Hello, nice review as usual!
May I recommend you also test both the OCZ Vertex LE (Limited Edition) and the Vertex 2 ?
thanks
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSDOlin Coles 2010-07-02 06:29
This was Austin's project, but I am presently testing the 120GB OCZ Vertex 2 SSD.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: RE: Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSDtuleggi 2010-07-04 12:56
Fantastic!
if it is not asking too much could you also test in parallel the Vertex LE (Limited Edition)?
This because there are many confusion around the web and although they seems to perform similar it would be nice for the customer to understand which one of these two is the fastest!
I trust Benchmarkreviews!!
thanks!
Report Comment
 
 
# Controller Raid ?!?!Federico La Morgia 2010-07-01 01:02
But some of you know good Raid controller optimized for SSD and Trim commands similar to the SSD or not to spoil them in time??
Report Comment
 
 
# Jim SJ Simmons 2010-07-01 05:17
Hmmm.. The purpose of a disk drive is to reliably store and retrieve data. If it corrupts data, it fails on its fundamental purpose. WHo cares about performance at that point. I'd have had a difficult time giving the drive a score any higher than a 1 unless the eval unit was defective out of the box.
Report Comment
 
 
# Ehm...Chris B. 2010-07-01 09:06
Page 10 of 11 needs some serious editing... :(

Also.... a hard drive that corrupts your data? How does that deserve a 7? Did you contact Corsair about that? What did they say?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE:EhmAustin Downing 2010-07-01 11:00
I did and it was replaced, my secondary drive as of now has not had the errors, but only time will tell if this drive also has problems. I feel that give a drive a completely terrible rating based on one personally experience is bad, but that the issues should be known and taken into consideration. I plan to keep updates going if further problems are found but for now this drive seems to be doing well, although I continue to have occasional BIOS problems.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Corsair Reactor R60 JMicron JMF612 SSDOliver H. 2010-10-02 01:10
7 Points - A bad joke.

The Corsair Reactor R60 SSD is definitely unable to work in a professional environment. I had one and only got problems with the non-detection by BIOS after reboot bug. After readings this article, i know that i had the data destruction, too. I didn´t recognized it, i always thought the errors i got were Windows or Software bugs. An ureliable hard drive is a piece of very expensive junk.

A rating of 0-1 would be adequate, until Corsair admits the bugs and fix them with a firmware update or callback of the defective drives.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter