Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video Card
ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video Card E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Olin Coles   
Monday, 21 June 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video Card
Features and Specifications
NVIDIA GF100 GPU Fermi Architecture
Closer Look: ASUS GeForce GTX-465
Video Card Testing Methodology
DX10: 3DMark Vantage
DX10: Crysis Warhead
DX10: Far Cry 2
DX10: Resident Evil 5
DX11: Aliens vs Predator
DX11: Battlefield Bad Company 2
DX11: BattleForge
DX11: Metro 2033
DX11: Unigine Heaven 2.1
NVIDIA APEX PhysX Enhancements
NVIDIA 3D-Vision Effects
GeForce GTX465 Temperatures
VGA Power Consumption
ASUS SmartDoctor and GamerOSD
Editors Opinion: Fermi GF100
ASUS ENGTX465 Conclusion

VGA Testing Methodology

The Microsoft DirectX-11 graphics API is native to the Microsoft Windows 7 Operating System, and will be the primary O/S for our test platform. DX11 is also available as a Microsoft Update for the Windows Vista O/S, so our test results apply to both versions of the Operating System. The majority of benchmark tests used in this article are comparative to DX11 performance, however some high-demand DX10 tests have also been included.

According to the Steam Hardware Survey published for the month ending May 2010, the most popular gaming resolution is 1280x1024 (17-19" standard LCD monitors). However, because this 1.31MP resolution is considered 'low' by most standards, our benchmark performance tests concentrate on higher-demand resolutions: 1.76MP 1680x1050 (22-24" widescreen LCD) and 2.30MP 1920x1200 (24-28" widescreen LCD monitors). These resolutions are more likely to be used by high-end graphics solutions, such as those tested in this article.

GPU-Z_ASUS-ENGTX265.pngIn each benchmark test there is one 'cache run' that is conducted, followed by five recorded test runs. Results are collected at each setting with the highest and lowest results discarded. The remaining three results are averaged, and displayed in the performance charts on the following pages.

A combination of synthetic and video game benchmark tests have been used in this article to illustrate relative performance among graphics solutions. Our benchmark frame rate results are not intended to represent real-world graphics performance, as this experience would change based on supporting hardware and the perception of individuals playing the video game.

DX11 Cost to Performance Ratio

For this article Benchmark Reviews has included cost per FPS for graphics performance results. Only the least expensive product price is calculated, and does not consider tax, freight, promotional offers, or rebates into the cost. All prices reflect product series components, and do not represent any specific manufacturer, model, or brand. These retail prices for each product were obtained from NewEgg.com on 22-June-2010:

  • $150 Radeon HD 5770
  • $250 GeForce GTX 465 (see all prices)
  • $305 Radeon HD 5850
  • $330 GeForce GTX 470
  • $390 Radeon HD 5870

Intel X58-Express Test System

DirectX-10 Benchmark Applications

  • 3DMark Vantage v1.02 (Extreme Quality, 8x Multisample Anti-Aliasing, 16x Anisotropic Filtering, 1:2 Scale)
  • Crysis Warhead v1.1 with HOC Benchmark (DX10, Very High Quality, 4x Anti-Aliasing, 16x Anisotropic Filtering, Airfield Demo)
  • Far Cry 2 v1.02 (DX10, Very High Performance, Ultra-High Quality, 8x Anti-Aliasing, HDR + Bloom)
  • Resident Evil 5 Benchmark (DX10, Super-High Quality, 8x MSAA)

DirectX-11 Benchmark Applications

  • Aliens vs Predator (Very High Quality, 4x AA, 16x AF, SSAO, Tessellation, Advanced Shadows)
  • BattleField: Bad Company 2 (High Quality, HBAO, 8x Anti-Aliasing, 16x Anisotropic Filtering, Single-Player Intro Scene)
  • BattleForge v1.2 (Very High Quality, 8x Anti-Aliasing, Auto Multi-Thread)
  • Metro 2033 (Very-High Quality, DirectX-11, AAA, 16x AF, Scene 1 Intro)
  • Unigine Heaven Benchmark 2.0 (DX11, Normal Tessellation, 16x AF, 4x AA)

Video Card Test Products

Graphics Card GeForce 9800 GTX+ Radeon HD4890 GeForce GTX285 Radeon HD5770 GeForce GTX465 Radeon HD5850 GeForce GTX470 Radeon HD5870
GPU Cores 128 800 240 800 352 1440 448 1600
Core Clock (MHz) 740 850 670 850 608 725 608 850
Shader Clock (MHz) 1836 N/A 1550 N/A 1215 N/A 1215 N/A
Memory Clock (MHz) 1100 975 1300 1200 802 1000 837 1200
Memory Amount 512 MB GDDR3 1024 MB GDDR5 1024MB GDDR3 1024MB GDDR5 1024MB GDDR5 1024MB GDDR5 1280MB GDDR5 1024MB GDDR5
Memory Interface 256-bit 256-bit 512-bit 128-bit 256-bit 256-bit 320-bit 256-bit
  • NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ / GTS 250 (740 MHz GPU/1836 MHz Shader/1100 MHz vRAM - Forceware 257.21)
  • ATI Radeon HD 4890 Reference Design (850 MHz GPU/975 MHz vRAM - ATI Catalyst Driver 10.6)
  • ASUS GeForce GTX 285 ENGTX285 TOP (670 MHz GPU/1550 MHz Shader/1330 MHz vRAM - Forceware 257.21)
  • ATI Radeon HD 5770 Reference Design (850 MHz GPU/1200 MHz vRAM - ATI Catalyst Driver 10.6)
  • ASUS GeForce GTX 465 (608 MHz GPU/1215 MHz Shader/802 MHz vRAM - Forceware 257.21)
  • ATI Radeon HD 5850 Reference Design (725 MHz GPU/1000MHz vRAM - ATI Catalyst Driver 10.6)
  • ZOTAC GeForce GTX 470 ZT-40201-10P (608 MHz GPU/1215 MHz Shader/837 MHz vRAM - Forceware 257.21)
  • ATI Radeon HD 5870 Reference Design (850 MHz GPU/1200MHz vRAM - ATI Catalyst Driver 10.6)



 

Comments 

 
# Little mistake...BETA911 2010-06-21 23:33
At Battleforge, how can a none DX11 card (9800GTX+) be in the charts when DX11 is tested? Same with the HD490.
Then, the HD5770 is not 256-bit but 128-bit!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Little mistake...Olin Coles 2010-06-22 06:07
Thanks for finding that typo - it's been fixed. I'll update the chart, too, since those products shouldn't be included. Even though the game allows them to benchmark with the same settings, they're not compliant and likely ignore the DX11 extensions.
Report Comment
 
 
# A Strange review pt1The Crouch 2010-06-22 11:50
I'm really sorry, but this review does not make much sense to me. Not compared to other reviews mind you, but in itself!

I count 5 clear wins for the 5850, 3 for the 465 and one wash (Resident evil 5). From the 465's point of view, thats a staggering 67% more wins for the 5850!!
Report Comment
 
 
# A Strange review pt2The Crouch 2010-06-22 11:52
When it comes to the value numbers you provide I count 5 wins for the 5850 and 4 for the 465 (RE5 is clearly a 465 win).

And by the way, I don't count the two parts of 3D vantage as separate tests.

So not only is the 5850 the faster card with over half the tests won, more importantly, it also offers the most bang for your buck! All according to your own figures!

At least to me, this would count as a clear win for the 5850, but that is hardly what I see in the summary.

Also worth mentioning i think: Having been on Newegg on a few occasions, $305 seemed a bit steep for a 5850, and for aspiring customers for a graphics card, I can tell a 5850 can be found for $285. Only $5 more expensive than the price for the 465 you are quoting, and with that small difference I think the value numbers throughout the test would look a bit different.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: A Strange review pt2Olin Coles 2010-06-22 16:03
Based on NewEgg prices today, nearly every single Radeon HD 5850 is priced above $305 with an average price of $325 (I did the math). Conversely, several models of the GTX-465 sells for as little as $250, with an average price of $260. That makes the Radeon HD 5850 22~25% more expensive... but does it perform 22~25% better? No, it doesn't. It doesn't even perform better than the GTX-465 all of the time; only 'some' of the time... slightly more than half (as you point out). So should a card that costs $55-75 more than GTX-465 be considered the best value when it doesn't even offer a relative boost to performance? I don't think so.
You should also check your math on the cost per FPS, because the GTX-465 beats the Radeon 5850 in nearly all of them.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thank you !SiliconDoc 2010-06-27 17:10
I came here to see just how much red raging rooster ATI bias was here on the gtx465.
I thank you and congratulate you for your response to the commenter.
I sit here absolutely STUNNED. I can't believe that somebody didn't just "take it" and nearly agree with the ati fan fraud.
THANK YOU SO MUCH.
My faith in humanity has been renewed.
Believe me, I really, really appreciate it.
Sincerely sick of the rampant red bias,
SiliconDoc
Report Comment
 
 
# Is a 1~2 FPS lead really a win?Olin Coles 2010-06-22 17:54
Is a 1~2 FPS lead really a win? You might see it that way, but I don't. Especially when the Radeon HD 5850 costs $55 more.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video CardStephen E 2010-06-22 16:48
About the VGA Power Comparison that you did, can you provide a sample calculation on how you came up with your data?

Did you just report the AC Power differnence between no graphic card in the system and with the Graphics card installed? Did you try to take into account the PSU efficiency?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video CardOlin Coles 2010-06-22 16:53
From the power consumption section: "A baseline test is taken without a video card installed inside our test computer system, which is allowed to boot into Windows-7 and rest idle at the login screen before power consumption is recorded. Once the baseline reading has been taken, the graphics card is installed and the system is again booted into Windows and left idle at the login screen. Our final loaded power consumption reading is taken with the video card running a stress test using FurMark. Below is a chart with the isolated video card power consumption (not system total) displayed in Watts for each specified test product."

Power supply efficiency is not taken into consideration for any of our reported results. Only the motherboard, processor, memory, SSD, and video card are drawing power. The math is simply idle/load result minus baseline.
Report Comment
 
 
# Weird...xtremesv 2010-06-22 18:04
Why do reviewers still benchmark FarCry 2? Is it a requirement recommended (imposed) by Nvidia?

And I don't get your pricing figures. I found a 5850 for $285 and another for $305 in Newegg... the ones you mention beyond $325 include special cooling designs.
Report Comment
 
 
# nooneoverclockyourkeyboard 2012-02-11 03:10
hey do you know that i got my zotac gtx 465 at just 7250 which is $147.17(converted to USD) and the 5850 costs 14950 which is $303.48.At this price i can sli a gtx 465 and when you sli a gtx 465 against a 5850 clearly 465's the winner.I dunno why the prices aren't coming down for the 5850.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter