Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video Card
ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video Card E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Olin Coles   
Monday, 21 June 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video Card
Features and Specifications
NVIDIA GF100 GPU Fermi Architecture
Closer Look: ASUS GeForce GTX-465
Video Card Testing Methodology
DX10: 3DMark Vantage
DX10: Crysis Warhead
DX10: Far Cry 2
DX10: Resident Evil 5
DX11: Aliens vs Predator
DX11: Battlefield Bad Company 2
DX11: BattleForge
DX11: Metro 2033
DX11: Unigine Heaven 2.1
NVIDIA APEX PhysX Enhancements
NVIDIA 3D-Vision Effects
GeForce GTX465 Temperatures
VGA Power Consumption
ASUS SmartDoctor and GamerOSD
Editors Opinion: Fermi GF100
ASUS ENGTX465 Conclusion

NVIDIA 3D-Vision Effects

Readers familiar with Benchmark Reviews have undoubtedly heard of NVIDIA GeForce 3D Vision technology; if not from our review of the product, then for the Editor's Choice Award it's earned or the many times I've personally mentioned it in out articles. Put simply: it changes the game. 2010 has been a break-out year for 3D technology, and PC video games are leading the way. Mafia II is expands on the three-dimensional effects, and improves the 3D-Vision experience with out-of-screen effects. For readers unfamiliar with the technology, 3D-Vision is a feature only available to NVIDIA GeForce video cards.

Mafia2_3d-Vision_Characters.jpg

The first thing gamers should be aware of is the performance penalty for using 3D-Vision with a high-demand game like Mafia II. Using a GeForce GTX 480 video card for reference, currently the most powerful single-GPU graphics solution available, we experienced frame rate speeds up to 33 FPS with all settings configured to their highest and APEX PhysX set to high. However, when 3D Vision is enabled the video frame rate usually decrease by about 50%. This is no longer the hardfast rule, thanks to '3D Vision Ready' game titles that offer performance optimizations. Mafia II proved that the 3D Vision performance penalty can be as little as 30% with a single GeForce GTX 480 video card, or a mere 11% in SLI configuration. NVIDIA Forceware drivers will guide players to make custom-recommended adjustments specifically for each game they play, but PhysX and anti-aliasing will still reduce frame rate performance.

Mafia2_3d-Vision_Tire_Door.jpg

Of course, the out-of-screen effects are worth every dollar you spend on graphics hardware. In the image above, an explosion sends the car's wheel and door flying into the players face, followed by metal debris and sparks. When you're playing, this certainly helps to catch your attention... and when the objects become bullets passing by you, the added depth of field helps assist in player awareness.

Mafia2_3d-Vision_Debris.jpg

Combined with APEX PhysX technology, NVIDIA's 3D-Vision brings destructible walls to life. As enemies shoot at the brick column, dirt and dust fly past the player forcing stones to tumble out towards you. Again, the added depth of field can help players pinpoint the origin of enemy threat, and improve response time without sustaining 'confusion damage'.

Mafia2_3d-Vision_Smoke_Plumes.jpg

NVIDIA APEX Turbulence, a new PhysX feature, already adds an impressive level of realism to games (such as with Mafia II pictured in this section). Watching plumes of smoke and flames spill out towards your camera angle helps put you right into the thick of action.

Mafia2_3d-Vision_Out-of-Screen.jpg

NVIDIA 3D-Vision/3D-Vision Surround is the perfect addition to APEX PhysX technology, and capable video games will prove that these features reproduce lifelike scenery and destruction when they're used together. Glowing embers and fiery shards shooting past you seem very real when 3D-Vision pairs itself APEX PhysX technology, and there's finally a good reason to overpower the PCs graphics system.



 

Comments 

 
# Little mistake...BETA911 2010-06-21 23:33
At Battleforge, how can a none DX11 card (9800GTX+) be in the charts when DX11 is tested? Same with the HD490.
Then, the HD5770 is not 256-bit but 128-bit!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Little mistake...Olin Coles 2010-06-22 06:07
Thanks for finding that typo - it's been fixed. I'll update the chart, too, since those products shouldn't be included. Even though the game allows them to benchmark with the same settings, they're not compliant and likely ignore the DX11 extensions.
Report Comment
 
 
# A Strange review pt1The Crouch 2010-06-22 11:50
I'm really sorry, but this review does not make much sense to me. Not compared to other reviews mind you, but in itself!

I count 5 clear wins for the 5850, 3 for the 465 and one wash (Resident evil 5). From the 465's point of view, thats a staggering 67% more wins for the 5850!!
Report Comment
 
 
# A Strange review pt2The Crouch 2010-06-22 11:52
When it comes to the value numbers you provide I count 5 wins for the 5850 and 4 for the 465 (RE5 is clearly a 465 win).

And by the way, I don't count the two parts of 3D vantage as separate tests.

So not only is the 5850 the faster card with over half the tests won, more importantly, it also offers the most bang for your buck! All according to your own figures!

At least to me, this would count as a clear win for the 5850, but that is hardly what I see in the summary.

Also worth mentioning i think: Having been on Newegg on a few occasions, $305 seemed a bit steep for a 5850, and for aspiring customers for a graphics card, I can tell a 5850 can be found for $285. Only $5 more expensive than the price for the 465 you are quoting, and with that small difference I think the value numbers throughout the test would look a bit different.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: A Strange review pt2Olin Coles 2010-06-22 16:03
Based on NewEgg prices today, nearly every single Radeon HD 5850 is priced above $305 with an average price of $325 (I did the math). Conversely, several models of the GTX-465 sells for as little as $250, with an average price of $260. That makes the Radeon HD 5850 22~25% more expensive... but does it perform 22~25% better? No, it doesn't. It doesn't even perform better than the GTX-465 all of the time; only 'some' of the time... slightly more than half (as you point out). So should a card that costs $55-75 more than GTX-465 be considered the best value when it doesn't even offer a relative boost to performance? I don't think so.
You should also check your math on the cost per FPS, because the GTX-465 beats the Radeon 5850 in nearly all of them.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thank you !SiliconDoc 2010-06-27 17:10
I came here to see just how much red raging rooster ATI bias was here on the gtx465.
I thank you and congratulate you for your response to the commenter.
I sit here absolutely STUNNED. I can't believe that somebody didn't just "take it" and nearly agree with the ati fan fraud.
THANK YOU SO MUCH.
My faith in humanity has been renewed.
Believe me, I really, really appreciate it.
Sincerely sick of the rampant red bias,
SiliconDoc
Report Comment
 
 
# Is a 1~2 FPS lead really a win?Olin Coles 2010-06-22 17:54
Is a 1~2 FPS lead really a win? You might see it that way, but I don't. Especially when the Radeon HD 5850 costs $55 more.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video CardStephen E 2010-06-22 16:48
About the VGA Power Comparison that you did, can you provide a sample calculation on how you came up with your data?

Did you just report the AC Power differnence between no graphic card in the system and with the Graphics card installed? Did you try to take into account the PSU efficiency?
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: ASUS GeForce GTX-465 Video CardOlin Coles 2010-06-22 16:53
From the power consumption section: "A baseline test is taken without a video card installed inside our test computer system, which is allowed to boot into Windows-7 and rest idle at the login screen before power consumption is recorded. Once the baseline reading has been taken, the graphics card is installed and the system is again booted into Windows and left idle at the login screen. Our final loaded power consumption reading is taken with the video card running a stress test using FurMark. Below is a chart with the isolated video card power consumption (not system total) displayed in Watts for each specified test product."

Power supply efficiency is not taken into consideration for any of our reported results. Only the motherboard, processor, memory, SSD, and video card are drawing power. The math is simply idle/load result minus baseline.
Report Comment
 
 
# Weird...xtremesv 2010-06-22 18:04
Why do reviewers still benchmark FarCry 2? Is it a requirement recommended (imposed) by Nvidia?

And I don't get your pricing figures. I found a 5850 for $285 and another for $305 in Newegg... the ones you mention beyond $325 include special cooling designs.
Report Comment
 
 
# nooneoverclockyourkeyboard 2012-02-11 03:10
hey do you know that i got my zotac gtx 465 at just 7250 which is $147.17(converted to USD) and the 5850 costs 14950 which is $303.48.At this price i can sli a gtx 465 and when you sli a gtx 465 against a 5850 clearly 465's the winner.I dunno why the prices aren't coming down for the 5850.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter