Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7D
G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7D E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Servando Silva   
Monday, 10 May 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7D
G.Skill ECO F3 10666CL7D Specifications
Closer Look: G.Skill ECO DDR3
G.Skill ECO SPD
RAM Testing Methodology
Benchmark Tests Results
Application Performance Results
Overclocking and Power Consumption
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

G.Skill ECO DDR3 Final Thoughts

I really don´t have a lot to say here. This kit has impressed me in many aspects and I think it´s worth getting it. The reasons are simple: the memory is made by G.Skill and it has a great reputation behind. You also receive a nice, sleek looking heatsink which works great specially since the memory works at low voltages, and finally, the ECO F3 10666CL7D overclocks very well and will outperform many kits rated at the same price point. The G.Skill ECOs fit on low-end machines like the HTPC tested today, but also represent a great choice for enthusiast and overclockers. As if that wasn´t all, you will save some watts with a less stressed PC (using low voltages) and you have lifetime warranty with G.Skill, which also has a great support team on their forums to answer every question you have. I really can´t ask for anything else. This kit just rocks! I ´m very tempted to try it on a high-end P55 motherboard and pair it with a Lynnfield processor to check if the MHz barrier was related to the motherboard and not RAM, so expect a little update on the forum soon!

GSkill_ECO_Conclusions.jpg

Let´s summarize all the results and head to the conclusions of this article.

G.Skill 10666CL7D Conclusion

G.Skill F3 10666CL7D performance is impressive. I was very happy with the results obtained at different configurations and the low temperatures at the time of testing them. Perhaps, the only problem I would see here is that your motherboard needs to work with low voltages if you want to take advantage of your new acquisition, but as all DDR3 motherboards will at least work with 1.5v, you can always use 1600MHz 6-7-6 or similar configurations without heating the memory or consuming that much power.

The appearance is simple, but elegant. You won´t have tall heatsinks and LEDs on your RAM but they won´t pass unnoticed either. Use them on a HTPC and no one will even notice them, but you will know you have some good RAM there, and that should be enough for you considering you didn´t pay that much for them. On the other side, heatsinks will help avoid damage to the memory since they just reinforce the construction.

While all tests show that high frequencies or low latencies won´t give you a big boost on your daily tasks, functionality is still there. The G.Skill ECOs offer very low latencies with decent frequencies, and despite the fact that many brands offer similar specs, the vast majority won´t offer low voltages as G.Skill does. You will shave some watts and keep better temps on your setup with this memory.

I´ve been mentioning the great value this memory has but I haven´t mentioned the real price of this kit. As for April 2010, this kit retails at $119.99 at NewEgg, which is a very good price for its value. You won´t find many similar memory on this price range, I promise.

My recommendation is: either you have a high-end PC or a low-end HTPC, take this kit which will offer low power consumption and temps. It overclocks really well with relatively low voltages and it definitively won´t disappoint you in any way. You´ll be safe with G.Skill´s lifetime warranty too. Let´s finish this article with the Pros and Cons of the product.

Pros:Benchmark Reviews Golden Tachometer Award

+ Great value for the price ($119 USD)
+ Low voltage memory means lower temps, lower power consumption and better overclocking
+ Built for 1.35v, but will also work at 1.5v (SPD) or higher voltages if needed
+ G.Skill Lifetime Warranty
+ Nice, sleek design won´t hurt heatsinks compatibility
+ Great Overclocking capabilities with low voltages and low latencies
+ High availability

Cons:

- Some motherboards won´t support lower than 1.5v voltages even with XMP support
- H55/H57 motherboard support isn´t validated by G.Skill

Ratings:

  • Performance: 9.50
  • Appearance: 9.00
  • Construction: 9.50
  • Functionality: 9.00
  • Value: 9.50

Final Score: 9.3 out of 10.

Excellence Achievement: Benchmark Reviews Golden Tachometer Award.

Questions? Comments? Benchmark Reviews really wants your feedback. We invite you to leave your remarks in our Discussion Forum.


Related Articles:


 

Comments 

 
# Excellent Review!Justin MacQueen 2010-05-09 23:02
Hi Servando, an excellent review! I have been running two of these kits (8GB total) in my rig for some time, on an ASRock P55M-Pro mATX board with an i7 860. Right from the get-go they booted at correct timings and correct voltage. I'm very happy with them myself. Your overclocking results are interesting, I'm going to go and try your 1600MHz settings right now and see whether two kits are stable at these timings or not. Looking forward to seeing how you get on with an i7! Also for reference, my sticks use the Elpida BBSE you mentioned. Thanks again!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Excellent Review!Servando Silva 2010-05-10 17:44
Thanks Justin,
Since you have some Elpida BBSE you should go and try rising up the tRCD as I did. I really loved the 1600MHz 6-7-6 configuration. Just to let you know, I´ve got a i5 750 paired with the P55 ASUS Maximus III Formula, and I´ll update my results as soon as I´ve a time (probably on the forum thread, but I´ll link it here). Right now, they´re working at 1.3v with stock settings without problems, but I wasn´t able to boot at 1.25v.
Report Comment
 
 
# Commendations again on a review well done!K Gregory 2010-05-10 12:10
Sharp review again here at Benchmark Reviews. I came across a review of the Kingston Hyper X Low Voltage product and I was very impressed. I think the G.Skill Eco has the better pricing vs the Kingston Hyper X 1333 kit($14 between the products)and slightly better timings. -Great that you added those superior timings in your testing that were achievable at such a low voltage!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Commendations again on a review well done!Servando Silva 2010-05-10 17:41
Hi Gregory!
I´ve seen the Kingston Lo-Vo Edition and I think this kit is better. G.Skill memory will probably overclock better and they cost less as you´ve said. Kingston in the other hand, has a kit that can work with 1.25v but at expense of higher latencies.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thank you for this great review.B Hin 2010-05-13 11:36
I have been using the same memory for a while now. Using your results, I have tried to find the lowest voltage at which I could run it.
At 1.28V with the settings 7-8-7-21 1t at 1333MHz the memory passes several hours of stress testing. (I didn't test any longer, it didn't fail)

I didn't manage to get it stable at a lower voltage, however the system did boot on 1.26V.
Tested on an ASUS P7H55D-M EVO - motherboard, with a core i3 530 running at default clock.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thank you for this great review.Servando Silva 2010-05-13 13:43
I did the same low voltage tests on the Maximus III Formula. This kit in particular works at 1.3v (set on BIOS) or 1.27v (measured with multimeter).
As you said, anything lower than that won´t be stable or barely boot windows. BTW, I used 7-7-7 timings.
Report Comment
 
 
# Additional findingsB Hin 2010-05-15 14:51
Aside from the normally clocked settings, I also have a profile at which the i3 530 is overclocked to 4400 MHz. The idea being that one push of the powerbutton turns a very economical computer into something a bit more powerfull. (Although at the current version of the asus software for this motherboard the profile switching feature doesn't seem to work yet, unfortunately.)
Report Comment
 
 
# Additional findingsB Hin 2010-05-15 14:52
For the overclocked profile I decided to find the tighest settings at the highest memory frequency possible. Which is 1600 for this processor. (with the help of the motherboard, normally it is 1333)
I turned up the frequency to 1600, and the voltage to 1.56V to find the tightest settings. I could only get it to work at 7-8-7-21 1T Which at first disappointed me a little.
I then slowly decreased the voltage to find the minimum at this setting. Now this part really surprised me: the memory remained stable (even after several hours of stress testing) at only 1.34V
What is really amazing about that is that it is still below the voltage setting of the XMP for 1333MHz.
So in recap,
min (core i3 @2.9MHz): 1333 MHz @ 7-8-7-21 1t -->1.28V
max (core i3 @4.4Mhz): 1600 MHZ @ 7-8-7-21 1t --> 1.34V
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Additional findingsServando Silva 2010-05-15 15:35
Well, that is really weird. For 1.28v, have you tried 7-7-7-21 1T?
And what´s the best you can do (MHz) at 6-7-6-21 1T? I can´t think your memory does the same at 1.35v than at 1.55v. There should be some kind of limitation. It could be your MB (not probable), your memory (it might be), or a bad CPU for Mem scaling.
I still haven´t tried max freq scaling with this motherboard since work is drowning me but I bet it will do better than the Mini-ITX I used for the review (it better do it).
Take care.
Report Comment
 
 
# reB Hin 2010-05-17 10:35
Thanks for pointing out that something must be limiting the voltage scaling, I will look deeper into it when I have the time. I did indeed find that the memory remains stable at 7-7-7-21 1T @ 1.28V.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7DServando Silva 2010-05-18 20:07
I just want to add. I did tests on the Maximus III Formula, and other than discovering this kit works perfectly at 1.3v, I couldn´t achieve better OC results, neither better timings. It seems this is the MHz wall of this kit. The 1600MHz kit, should do a little bit more.
I also discovered 1600MHz 6-7-6-21 1T needs only 1.4v (multimeter) and not 1.5v. But the Mini-ITX used didn´t let me test that. This is still a great kit.
Take Care.
Report Comment
 
 
# XMP on H55H-IDean 2010-08-27 22:28
Based on your review I bought the H55H-I MB and gskill eco. Only problem I have is I cant get the MB down to 1.35V. Can you tell me where th XMP setting is in BIOS. Many thanks.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: XMP on H55H-IOlin Coles 2010-08-27 22:31
Dean, this setting is usually in the memory configuration of the BIOS, under advanced settings. Your manual should be able to help.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7DRuzveh 2010-08-31 19:26
Hey guys just a simple suggestion in each of your reviews posted on the website. Whenever you mention the price on the conclusion page please mentioned date on which the test was posted. Because i dont knw when the test was done for which the price is $xxx. Hence i cant not judge properly whether its a good value buy or not worth.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter