Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Memory arrow G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7D
G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7D E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Memory
Written by Servando Silva   
Monday, 10 May 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7D
G.Skill ECO F3 10666CL7D Specifications
Closer Look: G.Skill ECO DDR3
G.Skill ECO SPD
RAM Testing Methodology
Benchmark Tests Results
Application Performance Results
Overclocking and Power Consumption
Final Thoughts and Conclusion

Closer Look: G.Skill ECO F3 10666CL7D

Leaving aside the simple blisters included in (almost) all memory kits, the G.Skill ECO F3 10666CL7D DIMMs offer great aesthetics. While the PCB is kept in green color, they added a silver heatsink with the brand´s logo and some flamed-shaped figures on it.

GSkill_ECO_Presentation.jpg

The heatsinks are everything but big. G.Skill kept a very sleek and slim design which ensures you won´t have problems with bigger heatsinks for other motherboard components. They barely increase the size of the DIMM and will also help you protect the memory from ESDs. Based in our tests, this kit is one of the coldest Benchmark Reviews has ever tried.

GSkill_ECO_Logoview.jpg

The sticker shows the memory model and the voltage used. Don´t ever remove those stickers if you want to keep your lifetime warranty safe.

GSkill_ECO_Sticker.jpg

G.Skill heatsinks are glued to the Integrated Circuits of the memory. This (sadly) means that we aren´t able to remove them easily to check the brand behind those low voltage chips. If we wanted to take them away, we would have to heat them enough and then, separate that little clip at the top of the heatsink.

GSkill_ECO_Heatsink.jpg

Many high-performance memory kits for Core i5 platforms are Elpida based. While it seems G.Skill is shipping different ICs for this model we are not sure how will it OC. They could be Elpida BBSE (low-voltage binned, of course), 1.35v Samsung rated ICs, or who knows, maybe even a Micron based chip. Benchmark Reviews will ignore the fact of the unknown IC and test how well can it scale at stock voltages and up to 1.65v not to pass Intel´s limits.



 

Comments 

 
# Excellent Review!Justin MacQueen 2010-05-09 23:02
Hi Servando, an excellent review! I have been running two of these kits (8GB total) in my rig for some time, on an ASRock P55M-Pro mATX board with an i7 860. Right from the get-go they booted at correct timings and correct voltage. I'm very happy with them myself. Your overclocking results are interesting, I'm going to go and try your 1600MHz settings right now and see whether two kits are stable at these timings or not. Looking forward to seeing how you get on with an i7! Also for reference, my sticks use the Elpida BBSE you mentioned. Thanks again!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Excellent Review!Servando Silva 2010-05-10 17:44
Thanks Justin,
Since you have some Elpida BBSE you should go and try rising up the tRCD as I did. I really loved the 1600MHz 6-7-6 configuration. Just to let you know, I´ve got a i5 750 paired with the P55 ASUS Maximus III Formula, and I´ll update my results as soon as I´ve a time (probably on the forum thread, but I´ll link it here). Right now, they´re working at 1.3v with stock settings without problems, but I wasn´t able to boot at 1.25v.
Report Comment
 
 
# Commendations again on a review well done!K Gregory 2010-05-10 12:10
Sharp review again here at Benchmark Reviews. I came across a review of the Kingston Hyper X Low Voltage product and I was very impressed. I think the G.Skill Eco has the better pricing vs the Kingston Hyper X 1333 kit($14 between the products)and slightly better timings. -Great that you added those superior timings in your testing that were achievable at such a low voltage!
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Commendations again on a review well done!Servando Silva 2010-05-10 17:41
Hi Gregory!
I´ve seen the Kingston Lo-Vo Edition and I think this kit is better. G.Skill memory will probably overclock better and they cost less as you´ve said. Kingston in the other hand, has a kit that can work with 1.25v but at expense of higher latencies.
Report Comment
 
 
# Thank you for this great review.B Hin 2010-05-13 11:36
I have been using the same memory for a while now. Using your results, I have tried to find the lowest voltage at which I could run it.
At 1.28V with the settings 7-8-7-21 1t at 1333MHz the memory passes several hours of stress testing. (I didn't test any longer, it didn't fail)

I didn't manage to get it stable at a lower voltage, however the system did boot on 1.26V.
Tested on an ASUS P7H55D-M EVO - motherboard, with a core i3 530 running at default clock.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Thank you for this great review.Servando Silva 2010-05-13 13:43
I did the same low voltage tests on the Maximus III Formula. This kit in particular works at 1.3v (set on BIOS) or 1.27v (measured with multimeter).
As you said, anything lower than that won´t be stable or barely boot windows. BTW, I used 7-7-7 timings.
Report Comment
 
 
# Additional findingsB Hin 2010-05-15 14:51
Aside from the normally clocked settings, I also have a profile at which the i3 530 is overclocked to 4400 MHz. The idea being that one push of the powerbutton turns a very economical computer into something a bit more powerfull. (Although at the current version of the asus software for this motherboard the profile switching feature doesn't seem to work yet, unfortunately.)
Report Comment
 
 
# Additional findingsB Hin 2010-05-15 14:52
For the overclocked profile I decided to find the tighest settings at the highest memory frequency possible. Which is 1600 for this processor. (with the help of the motherboard, normally it is 1333)
I turned up the frequency to 1600, and the voltage to 1.56V to find the tightest settings. I could only get it to work at 7-8-7-21 1T Which at first disappointed me a little.
I then slowly decreased the voltage to find the minimum at this setting. Now this part really surprised me: the memory remained stable (even after several hours of stress testing) at only 1.34V
What is really amazing about that is that it is still below the voltage setting of the XMP for 1333MHz.
So in recap,
min (core i3 @2.9MHz): 1333 MHz @ 7-8-7-21 1t -->1.28V
max (core i3 @4.4Mhz): 1600 MHZ @ 7-8-7-21 1t --> 1.34V
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Additional findingsServando Silva 2010-05-15 15:35
Well, that is really weird. For 1.28v, have you tried 7-7-7-21 1T?
And what´s the best you can do (MHz) at 6-7-6-21 1T? I can´t think your memory does the same at 1.35v than at 1.55v. There should be some kind of limitation. It could be your MB (not probable), your memory (it might be), or a bad CPU for Mem scaling.
I still haven´t tried max freq scaling with this motherboard since work is drowning me but I bet it will do better than the Mini-ITX I used for the review (it better do it).
Take care.
Report Comment
 
 
# reB Hin 2010-05-17 10:35
Thanks for pointing out that something must be limiting the voltage scaling, I will look deeper into it when I have the time. I did indeed find that the memory remains stable at 7-7-7-21 1T @ 1.28V.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7DServando Silva 2010-05-18 20:07
I just want to add. I did tests on the Maximus III Formula, and other than discovering this kit works perfectly at 1.3v, I couldn´t achieve better OC results, neither better timings. It seems this is the MHz wall of this kit. The 1600MHz kit, should do a little bit more.
I also discovered 1600MHz 6-7-6-21 1T needs only 1.4v (multimeter) and not 1.5v. But the Mini-ITX used didn´t let me test that. This is still a great kit.
Take Care.
Report Comment
 
 
# XMP on H55H-IDean 2010-08-27 22:28
Based on your review I bought the H55H-I MB and gskill eco. Only problem I have is I cant get the MB down to 1.35V. Can you tell me where th XMP setting is in BIOS. Many thanks.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: XMP on H55H-IOlin Coles 2010-08-27 22:31
Dean, this setting is usually in the memory configuration of the BIOS, under advanced settings. Your manual should be able to help.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: G.Skill ECO 4GB DDR3 Memory Kit F310666CL7DRuzveh 2010-08-31 19:26
Hey guys just a simple suggestion in each of your reviews posted on the website. Whenever you mention the price on the conclusion page please mentioned date on which the test was posted. Because i dont knw when the test was done for which the price is $xxx. Hence i cant not judge properly whether its a good value buy or not worth.
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter