Archive Home arrow Reviews: arrow Video Cards arrow ATI Radeon HD 5830 DirectX-11 Video Card
ATI Radeon HD 5830 DirectX-11 Video Card E-mail
Reviews - Featured Reviews: Video Cards
Written by Bruce Normann   
Thursday, 25 February 2010
Table of Contents: Page Index
ATI Radeon HD 5830 DirectX-11 Video Card
ATI Radeon HD5830 Features
ATI Radeon HD5830 Specifications
Closer Look: ATI Radeon HD 5830
Looking Ahead: AIBs
Video Card Testing Methodology
3DMark Vantage Benchmarks
Crysis Benchmark Results
Devil May Cry 4 Benchmark
Far Cry 2 Benchmarks
Resident Evil 5 Benchmarks
Unigine - Heaven Benchmarks
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat Benchmarks
ATI Radeon HD5830 Temperature
VGA Power Consumption
Radeon HD5830 Final Thoughts
ATI Radeon HD5830 Conclusion

ATI Radeon HD 5830 Video Card Review

Ever since the introduction of the ATI Radeon HD5770, PC gamers and enthusiasts have been looking at the wide gap between the HD5770 and the HD5850 and knew that it would only be a matter of time before ATI plugged the hole in their product line. ATI is taking a slightly different approach with the Radeon HD5830 video card; selling only the ASIC chips to their Add-In-Board (AIB) partners. In this article Benchmark Reviews is going to demonstrate a prototype ATI Radeon HD 5830 video card, and our benchmark tests are going to put an end to the rumors about the specifications and graphical performance of this highly anticipated GPU.

ATI_Radeon_HD5830_Video_Card_Glam_600.jpg

The Radeon HD 5830 is not a 'reference card' as we know it, because that concept is not being used this time around. We have to wait for the AIB partners to start shipping their own board designs to see what will actually be available in the marketplace. No more slapping a label on a complete card that you buy from ATI's captive supplier... For now though, we have a quick and easy way to assess the performance of the ATI Radeon HD5830 chip, lovingly wrapped in an HD5870 package. Yes, a 5870 package; I'll explain later why this is necessary.

Please follow along as we give you a sneak preview of things to come from some of ATI's AIB Partners.

About the company: ATIati_premium_graphics_logo_200.png

Over the course of AMD's four decades in business, silicon and software have become the steel and plastic of the worldwide digital economy. Technology companies have become global pacesetters, making technical advances at a prodigious rate - always driving the industry to deliver more and more, faster and faster.

However, "technology for technology's sake" is not the way we do business at AMD. Our history is marked by a commitment to innovation that's truly useful for customers - putting the real needs of people ahead of technical one-upmanship. AMD founder Jerry Sanders has always maintained that "customers should come first, at every stage of a company's activities." We believe our company history bears that out.



 

Comments 

 
# Total FAIL of EPIC proportionSiliconDoc 2010-03-03 19:30
Ok, enough of the smoothing over and red rooster fantasizing. After carefully reviewing the review, the overpriced and unavailable 5830 "keeps with" the GTX260, NOT THE GTX285.
---
Oh gawd, the fanboyism from reviewers (excusable to a degree because of card tester givie me one for free review reverso rate pressure) let alone the pock marked apocalypse of the raging reds is almost unbearable.
--
THIS CARD IS COMPETING WITH THE GTX260, AND SINCE IT CANNOT BE OVERCLOCKED WORTH A DING DANG, THE GTX260 BEATS IT PERIOD!
---
Ok, now back to the red ragers fanboy fantasies that crank the red rooster cards a full card tier or two above where they actually are when comparing them to Nvidia. Carry on red raging ravers.
Report Comment
 
 
# The only EPIC FAIL is your comment...Olin Coles 2010-03-04 14:20
Not sure which review you 'carefully read', but it wasn't this one. The GTX260 performs WAY below the 5830... and doesn't even compare in DX11 games. All you had to do is look at the results. Not sure who at NVIDIA signs your paycheck, but you're the one that's clearly biased.
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: The only EPIC FAIL is your comment...Scaramunga 2010-03-26 03:31
You should read on past the crysis benchmark.. it didnt perform well in far cry 2 or devil may cry 4
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: RE: The only EPIC FAIL is your comment...gamechld 2010-03-26 14:46
Actually, the 5830 beats the GTX260 by a fair margin in the Devil May Cry 4 test, I think you might have been looking at the wrong colors. You are correct though regarding the Far Cry 2 test.
Report Comment
 
 
# goatgoatonastick 2010-04-19 12:14
what does it matter in dx11 tests? most people will buy cards for dx10 games....
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: Total FAIL of EPIC proportionBruce Normann 2010-03-10 15:38
Despite reports to the contrary, from people you think would know better, the HD5830 was available from Newegg in two flavors on Launch Day. I don't know why you would use the term "unavailable" to describe this product.
Report Comment
 
 
# @ Silicondoc , sorry sir but YOU ARE A TOTAL FAIL OF EPIC PROPORTIONRudi 2010-06-03 04:20
Im pretty sure you the epic fail cause in crysis this card beat the GTX 260 by about 6-8 fps and compared to the GTX 260 the ATI 5830 is real bang for your buck , $300 AUD with DX11 and Eyefinty unlike the GTX 260 ,$ AUD , DX10... cant even play crysis at a decent FPS , my 9500gt plays it at 15+ FPS..4 less than the GTX 260

So tell me , whos being a fan boy? , you or the truthfull reviewer
Report Comment
 
 
# ROFLMAOSiliconDoc 2010-06-04 10:08
Fan boy, you mention crysis, 4 games reviewed for both cards, and the two cards traded those 4.
YOU are the insane fanboy fool, not I.
The card competes with the 260 as I said, P E R I O D.
It doesn't compete with the 285, P E R I O D.
Six fps, or six percent, at 60-70 frames per sec, means very little without minimum numbers, and the GTX260 wins in that, especially with the 8x and 16x the reviewer kindly included.
( almost every other review site will only include 0xAA and 4xAA since the ati cards take a HUGE hit compared to the nvidia cards when AA is cranked up - same with Tesselation now).
So, I am still absolutely correct, PERIOD.
I'm sure the blathering, raging red rooster fanboy in you allowed you to only look at one game review, drool into your tinfoil hat cup (after it fell off your gyrating epileptic gourd), and screech "my 9500gt!" - oh man - WHAT A FREAKIN FAN BOY! HAHAHAHAH YER 9500GT ! HAHAHAHAHA
Report Comment
 
 
# WTF?myself 2010-06-06 01:28
Dude you sound like a wierdo, P E R I O D!
Report Comment
 
 
# Lol he isRudi 2010-06-06 04:06
yepers he is , the GX 260 is a good card no doubt , but the 5830 still beats it no matter what you say
Report Comment
 
 
# Cyber BullyOlin Coles 2010-06-21 21:49
SiliconDoc:
After several complaints of your bahavior, you are banned.

SiliconDoc

67.175.194.49 Atlanta, Georgia, USA
98.214.9.49 Rockford, Illinois, USA
Report Comment
 
 
# RE: ATI Radeon HD 5830 DirectX-11 Video CardYUYUY 2011-03-23 17:25
entigny,replica watch Sault Ste Marie,replica watches Peterborough Lethbridge, Kawartha Lakes, Newmarket Sarnia, Brossard, Prince George Chilliwack, Maple Ridge, SaintGlashutte watches John,Drummondville,M oncton, Saint-Jérôme,Norfolk County,New Westminster,StAlbert ,Caledon,Medicine Hat,Halton Hills,North Bay,Milton, Port Coquitlam, Shawinigan Saint Hyacinthe Wood Buffalo
Report Comment
 

Comments have been disabled by the administrator.

Search Benchmark Reviews
QNAP Network Storage Servers

Follow Benchmark Reviews on FacebookReceive Tweets from Benchmark Reviews on Twitter